UPGRADE: ericsbane06 to Slackware64 15.0

V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

Well, the time has come folks. I haven't been sleeping well this past two nights. I've napped twice today to make up for last night's lack of sleep. That means, I'll probably be up all night tonight just because of the excellent naps I've had today. If I'm going to be up all night, I may as well be doing something constructive.

Tonight's project will be an "in situ" upgrade of ericesbane06's recent fresh install of Slackware64 14.2 to the most recent release version Slackware64 15.0. You less experienced kids should not attempt this at home. I'm an old Slacker veteran. I've done this before a few times. Should be fun. Uh-huh.

I have already backed up the important stuff like /home/<user> and /etc. I actually have a full rsync backup of the current working operating system (14.2) that will be getting the upgrade. The worst that can happen is that I nuke the entire set up and have to start from scratch (fresh install of 15.0). I've been there, done that few times in the last 18 years, too.

So, fair warning... if you don't see/hear from me in the next couple days, you'll know my system is hosed and I'm resting before attempting a fresh start. If all does go well, then I'll probably be back online posting about it before tomorrow morning. Alrighty, then... fingers/toes crossed, lock & load, pucker up that anus... We're goin' in...

What could possibly go wrong?

BQODcIW.jpg

Godzilla from Spectres (1977) - Blue Oyster Cult

• Like 1
  • +1 1

abarbarian
10 hours ago, securitybreach said:

BTW....finally!

I'll only believe it is real when Eric posts a inxi screenshot of the new install. 🫣

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

V.T. Eric Layton

OK, then...

This morning I:

- upgraded the kernel to 5.15.145 (security upgrade).
- took care of all my /etc/*.new files
- removed old/obsolete baloney from the system
- updated via slackpkg (not kernel - did that manually)