Installed Suse and downloaded Firefox

daveydoom

Hi all, first post here :D . I'm a newbie to Linux and I just installed Suse and downloaded Firefox. Now, the problem is I can't find the Firefox icon anywhere so all I can use to surf is Konqueror. Can someone please tell me how to access Firefox? Thanks, Dave

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ross549

• daveydoom

• nlinecomputers

• Bruno

Top Posters In This Topic

I downloaded it to my home directory and then installed it. It worked fine and I was using it online, but when I closed it I couldn't find it again. I assumed there would have been an icon somewhere but nope.Any ideas?

when i type in "firefox" i get "command not found"Sorry about this..other than playing with Knoppix this is my first time fiddling with Linux. I appreciate the help.Shouldn't there be an icon on my screen somewhere since I already installed it and was surfing with it?

Ok..... we get to do this the hard way. :)We are going to run a series of commands to try and find firefox.....first you need to type in su into the konsole window so we can login as root. You will need to enter your password. If all goes well, your prompt should chage, indicating that you are root. The prompt should also end in "#" and not "$".Next we are goin to update the local (filesystem) database. You need to be root to do this (which is why we did the su). Type updatedb and press enter. The computer should think for a while, and then put you back at the command prompt.Finally, we will use the database to try to locate firefox. Type "locate firefox" (minus the quotes), and paste the result up here.

su worked (prompt ended in #) but "updatedb" (without quotes) returned "command not found". I also tried "locate firefox" and got "command not found" also.

Hmm.... I remember this being a problem in one of my SuSE installs. Go into YaST and install the package "slocate." That should allow us to use locate. :D