iMac with Ventura. How and what to back up ??

abarbarian

Suggestions please folks.

Do I need to make a clone ?

Can I make incremental file and folder backups of user stuff ?

Is there a way to just update newer files and folders once a master copy has been made ?

Has to be simple to use as it is for my sister. No terminal stuff just simple gui programs. Free if possible.

Thanks in advance.  😎

On 12/20/2023 at 12:03 PM, striker said:

Yeah thanks for the link. I had seen that before. Trouble with Timeshift is it recommends a ssd/hhd double the size of your install  for use.

I was looking for anyones real time experiences of backups on a Mac. I have never used one before and the mac is at my sisters 100 miles away.

Done quite a bit of reading around the subject and it looks like you do not need to make a clone of the installed os only of the user files and folders. It is all a tad confusing. 🫣

My personal real time experience: I'm still on Catalina and can't update the machine anymore by normal means. There are other ways I know of but that's not your question. Over the years I did complete reinstalls from Time Machine aka put the complete system back to a known state by date, but also put back some important files only from Time Machine. That always worked bullet proof ok. But with the newer systems I don't have any personal experience. Time Machine normally runs every 24 hours one time and backs up the changed files automatically to a connected USB drive. My self don't do that, I just use one backup a week and that's it. So I'm not cloning anything at all with the help of other programs (like one used to do with Windows machines). Time Machine has been more than enough and always worked like a charm up to and including Catalina.

On 12/22/2023 at 11:51 AM, striker said: