EMERGENCY Hard Drive Repair

V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

NOTE: DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME.

I'm a professional.

A little while ago, I noticed a faint clicking noise happening in my tower box next to me here on this desk. UH-OH, I thought. I had just recently done drive testing and all four of my mechanical drives came through the tests with flying colors.

Hmm...

I fdisk'd to find that my sdb drive (rsnyc backup mirror) was not showing up. That's interesting. I rebooted and booted to Porteus to use the Disk Health utility on there. Cannot find Disk!

I rebooted again, but this time, I WHACKED the side of the case rather hard. It booted up normally and sdb is present and accounted for. A test with the disk utility shows no issues with the drive. I guess the drive head arm was just stuck or something. You can't WHACK solid state drives to fix 'em. HA-HA-HA! :hysterical:

• Haha 1

Great you fixed it professionally! Percussive maintenance FTW. 😉

Apparently putting them in the freezer for a while can help sometimes.

Gotta say I never had to whack any SSDs. I've only ever bought 3 and the oldest one, 12 years and counting, still works fine.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

9 hours ago, sunrat said:

Great you fixed it professionally! Percussive maintenance FTW. 😉

Apparently putting them in the freezer for a while can help sometimes.

Gotta say I never had to whack any SSDs. I've only ever bought 3 and the oldest one, 12 years and counting, still works fine.

Can not track down when I bought my first ssd. Bought my nvme in 2015 and it is still running just fine and dandy though.Mind you my Samsung F3 hdd's which are older are still running ok too. 😎

• Agree 1

V.T. Eric Layton