Say What?

raymac46

I have been wearing a hearing aid in my left ear for 19 years and both ears for the last 7. My current ones are out of warranty and not worth fixing. I had an audio test that confirmed my hearing has gone further downhill so I need a new set of ear helpers. All it takes is money folks.

There is corporate concentration going on in the hearing aid clinic space. My former family owned clinic is now part of a large chain owned by a major manufacturer. They only sell their in house brand now but fortunately it is a good one that is often recommended for my particular problem.

Right now I am having trouble hearing the TV or computer audio, plus my wife and grandkids. I get a 30 day trial for free with the new hearing aids and I'm hopeful of some improvement. My fitting is scheduled for mid August. I guess we'll see.

• +1 1

V.T. Eric Layton

I lost about 75-80% of my hearing in my right ear at a young age (16-17 or so) due to numerous ear infections as a kid... hopping around from pool to pool in the neighborhood back then. My ear actually functions 100%, but my ear drum is nothing but scar tissue. I was told a few years back that an out-patient laser surgery where they take a slice of skin off your ass and make you a new eardrum is "just" $3000-$4000 to have done. Unfortunately, my county-provided indigent healthcare considers this an "elective" surgery and not necessary for my health.

It's going to be one of the first things I have done when I hit that lottery jackpot, though. I'd love to hear true stereo again one day without having to turn the right channel up to twice the volume as the left one. Of course, my "partial" hearing loss (mostly on the high freq end) comes in handy when I don't want to listen to women jabbering on. I just make sure they stay on my right side and then nod occasionally and say "uh-huh" or "hmmm...". Works like a champ! ;)

• Haha 1