You know you are in a small town when...

ross549

I picked up the local weekly town newspaper today and read the following two front page news stories:

• Omro driver facing fourth DWI charge
  • Elementary school puts on large Christmas show.

The newspaper was 8 pages long. The second section is a regional newspaper with news from about 8 different towns. The most info I ever got from this newspaper was the local school sports info.Seriously folks, I am not making this up. :) :) :)

Guest Paracelsus

Sounds a lot like The Wise County Messenger...The County Newspaper for Wise County, Texas. I work in the County Seat of Decatur...Pop. 3400. And it's the largest town in the County :) :) :)

• 5 months later...

I graduated in a class of 25. We were the large class as the class above and below had 12..... Tri-County no less! The newspaper came out weekly with about 12 pages maximum.Julia B)

So whats wrong with that paper looks like our neighboring towns paper .I live in a village with a population of 42 and we always just ask my nextdoor neighbor for the latest news . She is better than any paper .And cheaper too B) P.S. here is a clip from our local paper DID YOU KNOW A Sabbath keeping group meets weekly at 000 West Main st. XXXXXXX,Pa at 10A.M. on Saturday? You are invited .For more information call (814)555-55545or (814)666-6666 .Naturally I changed the relevant info so it would remain anonymous .

Reminds me of times way gone by, lived a very ruarl life, total student body was about 25 or 30, started in the proverbial one room school house. Did not have a newspaper, had to go into the "big" town/city for the paper (Placerville Times), Way in the gold rush days it was known as "Hangtown". Total population back then 1500. One store carried everything except clothing items. Bread regular size loaf .19, large size .21.. milk .55 a gallon. Quiet, peaceful, and it was way out in the sticks as the saying goes. 25 miles to Placerville.