Getting rid of XP

Frank Golden

Frank Golden

Hi Folks, a little background here.I've been using Win 7 since the beta in a multiboot setup.The other MS OS was my old XP install.It was located at the start of my drive.To install Win 7 I simply created an appropriately sized partition at the end of my drive to install Win 7 on.When each new version or Win 7 was released I simply installed to the partition at the end of the drive.I also have 4 Linux distros in the space in between the MS OS's.I've been using the final release of Win 7 for about 9 months now.I recently began experiencing minor but annoying issues with Win 7 so I figured it was time for a re-install.Since I haven't used XP much since starting my adventure with Win 7 I decided to jettison XP and recover the disk space.My plan was to ultimately install Win 7 at the start of the drive in place of XP.I didn't want to mess up my original setup while re-installing Win 7, at least not until I had completely setup and customized my new install.Here is what I did.I had a spare drive laying around so I partitioned it with 2 NTFS partitions.The first partition created was the same size as the original XP\Win 7 partitions (23069 MB).I did this so I could clone the new install to my drive later.The other partition, the rest of the space, was NTFS too.This was to contain most of my programs and all my user documents folders.This keeps the Win 7 footprint fairly small.I installed the spare drive into my laptop and installed Win 7 to that first partition.After updating and setting up to my tastes I installed all my programs and apps., being sure to have the installersinstall to the second partition.I had a similar setup on my original drive but it was a bit haphazard having evolved over time.When everything was setup like I wanted I did some disk clean up and defragged.Next, using Clonezilla I created an image of my new Win 7 install saving it to a USB Flash drive.I plugged my old drive into a hard drive dock and manua