A better Clonezilla

Frank Golden

Frank Golden

As some of you may know I've been using Clonezilla for a few months as my primary backup (imaging program).Clonezilla replaced the Partimage I had been using for years.It is much more flexible.The version I originally began using was Clonezilla-live1.2.3-27.Because most live programs work much quicker when installed and run from a USB flash drive thatis what I've been using.The old version worked great and I never thought to check for updates.Recently while offering my 2 cents on a question posted at another forum about what imager to use Ichecked the Clonezilla website.I was surprised to see that there had been several updates since I installed that older version.They developer folks have been busy indeed.The latest stable release's areClonezilla-live-1.2-5-17-i686.isoClonezilla-live 1.2.5-17-i486.isoClonezilla-live 1.2.5-17-amd64.iso.zip versions of the above are available as well as Ubuntu based versions.The version that got my attention was the i686 version, optimized for multi-core processors.The standard versions are based on Debian Sid and utilize the 2.6.32-12 kernel.I quickly D\L the i686 .iso and installed it on my 2 GB Micro flash drive.I used the Windows version of Unetbootin 442 (unetbootin is another very useful tool that appears to be under furious development) to install the .iso on my Flash drive.http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/ (now at version 471).Another tool (for Windows only) from sourceforge to create live USB's of a whole bunch of Linx distros is "Universal-USB-installer" now at v1.6.5. http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb...-easy-as-1-2-3/Since the latest version of clonezilla in the Unetbootin distribution is a very old one I just ignored the dropdown entirely and selected the diskimage radio button and browsed to my D\L'd .iso and clicked OK.A couple of minutes the Flash drive was ready.Booting to the drive and to the GUI was very quick, much quicker than the earlier version.There is