Please somebody help

johnnywylde

johnnywylde

Hi! Being a linux newbie, I have faced some problems with Mandrake 9.1, I can't figure out what to do. Please answer even if you don't know the exact solution but you are sure what configuration text files to fiddle with. (I have tried every graphical configuration tool, including webmin, AND searched the net but I had no luck)Here we go...1) When dialing to the net for the first time after a reboot with kppp, the modem hangsup immediately after negotiation, with ppd error code 16. However if I try connecting a second time everything is OK and I get online. Strange, huh?p.s. Recently, and for no reason kppp *always* hangs up with ppd code 19.(from windows I can connect normally)2)Some apps after they crash, do not reload when I relaunch them. They just appear on the taskbar as loading and then dissapear with no explanation. I am using KDE.3) Recently , my linux system doesn't act as expected when I logoff. Instead of logging on again as a different user, as I have specified, it just loads the xserver and greets me with a command prompt in a white box, in front of the graphical background that appears just before KDE initialises. I have to type KDE to make it load. Or sometimes the x-server doesn't load at all and I have my command prompt in console mode4)When I delete files using shift+del in konqueror, the files first get deleted and then I get asked if I am sure. If I answer yes, sure enough the file is not found, and if I answer no, it's too late...5) why can't I run webmin by placing a shortcut on the desktop (which runs the program as root), and I have to type su root -> webmin on a console to launch it?if anyone knows something, I would greatly appreciate his help.P.S. Please don't answer with Mandrake/KDE/Linux/whatever sucks, change it, because I happen to like all of this stuff and I am looking for a solution, not an alternative.