Home Network

volunteer

I'm a complete newbie to networks. I need HELP and a new brain! :D I'm trying to set up a simple three, Win98, computer local network with TCP/IP protocol. One of the computers will, later, be setup to run proxy software to share my two-way Starband satellite ISP connection. My problem is I can't get the three computers to talk to each other.All three have an ethernet NIC bound to TCP/IP, file and printer sharing, and Client for Microsoft Networks. The NICs are connected to an 8 port Hawking Hub with straight-through cables.Each has it's own IP address; 192.168.0.1, 192.168.0.3,and 192.168.0.7. all with a submask of 255.255.255.0 . They all are on the same Workgroup, "home", too.Each NIC can ping as localhost and by it's own IP address. Additionally, the Dell PIII can ping the Laptop but that is the extent of it. The Dell PII has all three computers Icons in Network Neighborhood, the Dell PIII only shows it's own Icon, and the Toshiba doesn't show any Icons. DNS is disabled, WINS resolution is disabled, and Share-level access control is selected.I've swapped cables and ports on the Hub. I've read so many network guides and I just can't see the forest for the trees. I need to let it go for a day and start again from scratch.Computers:1. Dell PIII: Win98SE, 450 Mhz, 256 Mb Ram, NIC #2 Netgear FA311 10/100, 192.168.0.1 .2. Dell PII: Win98, 200 Mhz, 128 Mb Ram, NIC #2 Netgear FA311 10/100, 192.168.0.3 .3. Toshiba Satellite Laptop: Win98SE, 400 Mhz, 128 Mb Ram, Xircon CC Ethernet Adapter 10/100, 192.168.0.7 .Note: Both Dells have their NIC #1 set to the Satellite modem but don't have proxy software installed yet.Note: Win98SE ICS doesn't work with the Satellite modem, it causes the modem to disconnect.If anyone can look this over and tell me where I went wrong or can tell me a better way, I'll be very grateful. This has been a very humbling experience. :ph34r: Thanks, Ken