Testing PHP

lewmur

This is my first attempt at using Apache, PHP and MySQL to create a Web page to access a database. I've installed MySQL and successfully used Navicat to import my database. I install Apache2 for Windows and can use my browser to access the index.html @ http://localhost. I d/l PHP ver 4.3 and followed the instructions to install it as an Apache2 module. It finds the php_apache2.dll and doesn't show any errors when starting Apache. So far everything looks OK.However, when I try to use Dreamweaver to create a PHP file to connect to the Database, I get an error saying there is no Testing Server running. How can I create a test html to check if PHP is connecting to MySQL? I know I can create an file and name it index.html and put it in the Apache directory, but what commands to I use in the file to test the connection?

Dreamweaver will have to be configured. Somewhere in the settings, you should have options to configure the locations and paths for the PHP server files.Also, you'll need to save your files that you want to run as PHP in the web root directory configured in Apache.I'd suggest using plain code to figure out whether PHP and/or MySQL is indeed even working yet...Try this:

<?phpif (@mysql_connect("ServerName", "Username", "Password"))	echo "Successfully Connected to Database";else	echo "ERROR Connecting to Database";?>

Replace the placeholders with the appropriate text and save this as <yourfilename>.php in your Apache web root directory.If this outputs one of the messages above as coded ("Success..." or "ERROR conn..."), PHP is working. MySQL can be determined to be working or not working by which message is displayed, of course ;)If you see this exact code output to your browser window OR if your browser prompts you to download the file, PHP is not working.

Edited by epp_b

I'd suggest using plain code to figure out whether PHP and/or MySQL is indeed even working yet...Try this: