Fonts & Routine maintenance

markrob

I am still glad that I purchased a Mac mini a couple of weeks ago to become my primary computer at home. I work in IT and deal with Windows and Unix at work all week. It's nice to come home to a Unix based OS with a great UI.I have a couple more questions for you veteran Mac users.1. The one thing that I disappointed with so far is how bad fonts look on OS X. I'm use an LG L1930B 19" LCD in Digital mode using the DVI port on the mini. I have tried all the different settings for font smoothing, but they still look aweful. Any suggestions?2. As much as I would like to believe that the Mac is maintenance free and will keep on just working, I know that there must be some routine maintenance that needs to happen?Thanks,Mark

A lot of the routine maintenance happens in the wee hours of the morning, assuming you leave the system on 24/7. If you don't, check out MacJanitor. I use this on my wife's iBook. On my iMac, which is on 24/7, I don't have any routine maintenance scheduled. I let the OS take care of that for me. I will run the repair disk permissions function every month or two. You can find this under Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility.