MP3 player question(s)

telecomguy9

telecomguy9

I think this is the right forum to put this in. If not, please feel free to move it, forum moderator(s).I am a complete newbie when it comes to MP3 players. I want to get one, however, and need some help figuring out which one to get and how they work.I know I want one with at least 512 MB of space. Other than that I don't know what is good and what is not good. I suppose the smaller the size of the player the better?I've seen that most play not only MP3 formats but some play WMA and/or some other file formats. Some MP3 players (the one's I've noticed, anyway) say that they'll play more WMA files than MP3 files. Are WMA files smaller than MP3 files?Also, there are flash MP3 players and than the new one's that use actual hard drives. Sound right? Is one better than the other?I am working with a limited amount of money. I can't spend more than $150 on this thing. Any thoughts on what you'd get as well answers to my questions? I appreciate your help with this.

There's so much choice, I can appreciate it's hard to know where to start. There are numerous sites with good reviews.In general WMA makes for a smaller file than MP3 at a reasonable sample rate. Then there's Apple's format, Ogg Vorbis and a stack of others. Except for the dedicated geek, I'd suggest that WMA, Apple and MP3 just about cover it. iTunes uses protected MP4 but can be burned to disc and re-used.Flash drives are smaller but more expensive. Not sure what the biggest is but I have a 1Gb iRiver device; takes about 200 songs. iPods and similar go to around 20Gb. Hard drive devices may be more fragile. I run, so I like a small light device that straps on my arm. My daughter has a mini iPod.I think it depends on your intended use. For $150, I'd stay clear of flash drives and Apple. There are loads of clones. Maybe look at Creative's stuff.Have fun, Andy