New 400G SATA Drive

Grogerf

Hallo Folks :D Back again after doing lots of family stuff with little (almost walking) & not so little people :w00t: :D I've now got new a 400G SATA hard drive physically installed in the machine :clap: I'm new to SATA drives and apart from the connectors being really easy to put on :thumbsup: and being 'limited' to 16 partitions don't know much else about them :( The new drive shows up as sda with 372 G, 48640 cylinders and empty (unformatted) in the MCC 'Manage disk partitions' :thumbsup: . I've downloaded the 64 bit version of mdv 2008.1 and burned the dvd (first checking the md5) :thumbsup: .The plan is to partition the new drive and use it to install mdv 2008.1 as a fresh installation, and then move over personal stuff (addresses, emails, bookmarks etc) from the existing mdv 2008 installation - (I use Kontact). Finally after the new installation is working properly, get stuff like conky working.When that's all done and dusted I plan to move the existing 160G IDE drive to machine #2 and do a similar procedure on machine #2.Now I've got a "clean slate" at last how should I go about partitioning such a huge drive :hmm: :huh: and installing Spring so that I avoid boxing myself into corners?Looking forward to keeping out of trouble this time :thumbsup: :w00t: GrogerfEditOOps that should bee 400G, not 440G in the title!

Edited by Grogerf

Guest LilBambi

Title Fixed to 400 instead of 440. :thumbsup:Is the 160GB drive (that you ultimately plan on removing) your current grub boot drive?

I did the same myself with a 320GB drive. I suggest about 10Gb for / (root partition), 1Gb for swap is plenty, and the rest for /home.edit- actually 320Gb, not 32

Edited by sunrat