What is the main purpose of Winzip?

Sugarpops

I've been using Winzip for about 3 yrs. now to unzip zip files that I downloaded. I only recently got enuf junk on my computer that I decided to try to create my own zip files to save space. I just upgraded to the Winzip Beta 9. It has a new option for different rates of compression. The trade off is the stronger the compression, the slower it is, also some zip utilities don't work with the stronger compression. Back to the point, I have a folder with some drivers in it when I rt click and hit properties, it shows 71.0mb. After using maximum compression and zipping this file it shows 69.7mb. This doesn't seem to me like it compressed much. Isn't the main reason for a zip utility to compress files to make more room, or am I missing something? For this little bit it doesn't seem worth the time.

Well, I'm not a compression expert, but one thing I've noticed is that binary files don't compress anywhere near as much as document files, where there tends to be a lot more "air" in there.But even more than that, i tend to be a little cynical on subjects like this. I love software, but sometimes there's no replacement for the brute force, sheer horsepower, and sexy torque of H-A-R-D-W-A-R-E.What I'm trying to say is, storage is cheap. Get a bigger hard drive!Am I wrong?-- Scot

Most drivers are already stored in a compressed format. In fact, quite often they are already zipped or self-executing zip files with the .exe extension. You will get know benefit from compressing an already compressed file. On the other hand, you can create an archive of multiple driver files stored as one big file. :rolleyes:

Guest LilBambi