C:\System Volume Info. "Access Denied".

JoeP

Any attempt to select The System Volume Info..folder in Win_Explorer gets error message "C:\System Volume Info.. is not accessable. Access is denied." This while I am loged on as "Administrator". This appears to be the only system folder so protected. As it is one way of keeping track of my "System Restore Points", I would like to eliminate this prohibition, and request any suggestions. [NB: XP(Home) so "policy" is not applicable.]

Hi Joe, Hmmm, I have never tried getting into their before. Only been on XP for a few months. I am going to have to do some further research on this one. I even tried booting into safe mode, logging in under Admin, and still could not get into it.

Hmm thats odd, i can go in and out when i want to their is no such restriction for me???check the System Volume Properties Information and under the security tab check if the administrators and system access is allowed or not? give them full accces i thinkthat should let u in.......let me know :D

Guest ThunderRiver
Any attempt to select The System Volume Info..folder in Win_Explorer gets error message "C:\System Volume Info.. is not accessable. Access is denied."  This while I am loged on as "Administrator".  This appears to be the only system folder so protected.  As it is one way of keeping track of my "System Restore Points", I would like to eliminate this prohibition, and request any suggestions.  [NB: XP(Home) so "policy" is not applicable.]
I suppose you could also get in that folder under command prompt.Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.C:\Documents and Settings\Sunny>cd\C:\>cd "System Volume Information"C:\System Volume Information>