Jump to content


hard disk free to install


  • Please log in to reply
283 replies to this topic

#226 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 09 October 2004 - 05:14 PM

:P   Hi Martin,That's what I thought when I was posting and saw you perusing the forums, I thought "when Martin sees this, he's gonna react on this" ... and I was right.Next week will come and I'll may be having a look at it.
Striker
still the same...

#227 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 11 October 2004 - 07:49 AM

Posting from Linare Professional 2 (Shrek)  now with Mozilla.All distros are installed now and functioning although there are the usual little glitches here and there.But all are working ok and no weird malbehaviours until now. I managed to get all distros started from a single boot floppy.These are the distros currently installed :-Mandrake 10 Official-SimplyMepis 2004.01-PCLinuxOS-P7-Libranet 2.8.1-Knoppix 3.6-Linare Professional 2-SuSE 9.1 ProThat will be enough to play with the coming time. Now on to the usual tweak/tune and update rounds and see what brings that.BTW : Linare had a unusual installing procedure in that it simply installed without almost any user intervention, it did only ask which partition to be used,format that partition y or n and the root password, which I typed in correctly but then after initial install I couldn' t log in.I believe this may be due to the kickstart file which was also on the cd...So I might in future pull off those files from the cd,edit this kickstart file and then put all the files back on a new cd.So I had to enter my tricks box to get in there but unfortunately mistyped a password,so a reinstall was in order.  <_<  After that I was able to get in there and do the usual tweaks and that sort of things. Starts real fast . Looks very candy-isch, - not everyone likes that including yours truly - and almost acts like a windoze clone if you ask me.Even the konsole is renamed as "command prompt" and kedit as "Notepad"  :thumbsup:  The trashcan icon stays filled whether there is something in the trashcan or not...Will have a deeper look into it tonight. I' m also using this week to prepare the promised review of this install party.
Striker
still the same...

#228 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 11 October 2004 - 01:14 PM

Well it does look like  Linare is easy to install . . . but they shout sort out the problems you have after the install if they want to climb the hilist at Distrowatch ;):rolleyes: Bruno

#229 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 11 October 2004 - 02:46 PM

your right Bruno.To my knowledge - when I looked at which files synaptic was getting to update the distro - it is a Fedora Core 2 clone or something the like, licked with a can of high gloss solid paint and with renamed applications to attrack windows users to make the plounge.As such I think it's fairly complete, but maybe as a poweruser you definitely want something more. But alas, it all fits on one single cd freely downloadable. Of course you can pay the official pack for $40 ...Another weird phenomen I encountered : when you try to choose another style, apply it and decide you don' t like that, there' s no way to get the initial linare style back.You're left with a sort of broken panel styling.That' s a quick way to extort a reinstall.Don' t know if I will have this one installed more than 2 days, digging into synaptic now to have a peek under the hood there.UPDATE :1] the trashcan problem is solved now due to a synaptic upgrade : don' t ask me which package got upgraded.2] much of the upgrades in synaptic won' t get installed (they will get retrieved though) because of specific Linare files conflicting with these packages.Until now I' ve got 83 of these packages un-upgradable although there are upgrades available for them.3] enabling transparency on the panel results in a fatal IO error (kicker)4] after I used Evolution to retrieve some mails,then exiting Evolution after I've read those mails, I wanted to shutdown the computer.Then there were a bunch of error messages on the screen like these :-evolution 3869:camel-WARNING  [5 times]-QClipboard:set data error-ICE default IO error handler doing an exit(),pid 3818-3821 and 3833, resp. errorno 29,0 and 0.Very nice, indeed.

Edited by striker, 11 October 2004 - 06:36 PM.

Striker
still the same...

#230 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 12 October 2004 - 03:52 AM

removed Linare from the system. Actually it was not bad looking at all,all you need is there to get your work done, but there were to many weird things/abnormalities and error messages.Besides that the installer is good for a beginner who likes to dump windows, but forcing a kickstart file upon a user and leaving him or her without any option of what gets installed where is a very bad idea. When I may say once : "it just really sucks." Please be aware though that this is my personal meaning, your mileage may vary. Maybe this one is all you need, install it, point to what you want and off you go.Simple as that. But this one is definitely not for me.
Striker
still the same...

#231 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 12 October 2004 - 04:38 AM

Thanks for the feedback.  That does not sound like something I want to  mess with.  I want to decide almost everything as far as what is installed it seems.
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#232 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 05:56 AM

Playing with Lormalinux 5 since two days now.Looks and acts positively.Might be the replacement for my initial Linare distro. Will see how it goes on with updating the rest of it (until now all went well, was even capable of getting some extra packages for it and all installed beautifully) and will see if all does work like it should.Got the printer functioning (Canon i560) last night. :P  Will report later on in more completeness.
Striker
still the same...

#233 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 04:09 AM

I' m having a heck of a time with it, everything I wanted I could get in working order, except...that darned scanner  B) It just works fine as root but as user... ;)  no way ! I tried everything I could come up with, it just doesn' t want to let me use it. :D I updated the distro to everything I could get, that functions ok.But as user it just keeps telling me " no devices availlable"  :)  while in fact the scanner IS availlable. I know, got something to do with authorizations, but until now I can' t get that squared piece of glass to work. :D  I will tame that beast however,even if it takes me 6 weeks to  do so, that' s in fact one of the only glitches in this distro I encountered thus far. So I will not give this one up for that one little minor stupidity.
Striker
still the same...

#234 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 12:20 PM

:harhar:  :D  PROBLEM SOLVED ! Today I sqeezed the heck out of the config files in LormaLinux 5; My problem was to be able to use the Epson scanner as root, but not as user.So I did install usbview and opened it up.Much to my surprise the usb printer was recognized in there and working ok, but the scanner was in there too but marked red.So I did
# /sbin/lsusbBus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000Bus 002 Device 002: ID 04a9:1086 Canon, Inc.Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000Bus 001 Device 003: ID 08e6:0430 Gemplus GemPC430 SmartCard ReaderBus 001 Device 002: ID 04b8:010c Seiko Epson Corp. Perfection 640Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
and had a peek at the output (see above) : so the scanner was there and even got recognized.So it was clear to me it had something to do with permissions.I then did a lot of searching on the net, but the lormalinux forums did not get me any further in the right direction. I then perused the fedora forums (lormalinux is a fedora core 2 clone) and after a 2 hours lurkin' around there I digged up some postings which described more problems with usb connections, like digital cameras and printers.Then there was a post from a guy (if I remember well his name was Dennis?) which described a way how he managed to get his Agfa Snapscan scanner working in fedora as user, without first unplugging it and then replug it.That was what I was after, so I copied the posting and printed it out.I then did exactly what he described, mainly editing the /etc/security/console.perms file. In there is a line "<scanner>=/dev/scanner /dev/usb/scanner*" (without the quotes) to which I added "/proc/bus/usb/00*/00*" (without the quotes), so it now looks like
<scanner>=/dev/scanner /dev/usb/scanner* /proc/bus/usb/00*/00*
Then in the section #permission definitions there's this line :
<console> 0600 <scanner> 0600 root
which I changed to
<console> 0666 <scanner> 0600 root
Then I restarted the computer,logged in as user and ... wam ! , there it was : Sane, opening up and fully functional.Made a testscan and all was functioning like it should have done from the beginning.So a happy ending after all, and it actually took me less than six weeks... :sweatingbullets:
Striker
still the same...

#235 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 01:26 PM

Great JOB Striker !!! Proud of you !!:sweatingbullets: Bruno

#236 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 01:34 PM

StrikerAwesome detective work.....
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#237 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 02:19 PM

Thanks, but the compliments are for "Dennis" ... he was the detective and did the hard work, I just had to follow. BTW : tomorrow my new cd-writer will arrive. (the old one went up in smoke for burning all those distros  :sweatingbullets:  :harhar:  :D  )
Striker
still the same...

#238 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 15 October 2004 - 07:03 PM

Please have a look at this post :http://forums.scotsn...ndpost&p=111408
Striker
still the same...

#239 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 16 October 2004 - 04:23 PM

The new cd writer is in the system now.SuSE detected it immediately and offered to configure it.Next week I hope to get my hands on the new knoppix 3.7 and I' m planning to upgrade SimplyMepis to the latest version availlable.
Striker
still the same...

#240 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 16 October 2004 - 04:43 PM

StrikerSounds like you have it all worked out.  Great! :P
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#241 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 07:45 AM

Teacher

Quote

Sounds like you have it all worked out. Great!
Thanks, Julia.I decided to replace the old cd player too, it might arrive tomorrow or so.The new SimplyMepis has been downloaded and burned succesfully now with the new cd writer.I hope I'll get a chance to replace the old version during the evening with the new one. Now on to the knoppix 3.7 hunt.
Striker
still the same...

#242 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 09:26 AM

You just are on a roll.  I think "Distro Fever" has invaded the forum once again.  What can I say.  I am innocent. :happyroll:  Simply Mepis has always been a nice one.The new CD writer will be a bonus.  Once you have one starting to bite the dust strange things happen when installing and burning.
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#243 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 02:21 PM

Quote

You just are on a roll. I think "Distro Fever" has invaded the forum once again. What can I say. I am innocent. w00t.gif Simply Mepis has always been a nice one.
:harhar: me, " distro fever" ... :happyroll:  :w00tx100:  :w00tx100: Well, I don' t say there is not a tiny little bit of me liking linux more and more, but distro fever ? :harhar:

Quote

The new CD writer will be a bonus. Once you have one starting to bite the dust strange things happen when installing and burning.
There are a cd writer and a cd player in it;The cd writer went to the smokey mountains last week, I replaced that one. Now the cd player is the one I didn' t like from the beginning, so I decided to replace that one either. Both drives were 3 years old, not bad.The old cd player will stay availlable as reserve.SimplyMepis 2004.03 installed : doing just fine, posting from it now.Regarding Knoppix 3.7 : It was some special version coming with the pcwelt magazine.I was not able to get it anymore, sold out here in the country they said at the store. Aw heck, I just wait until it will be availlable online.I' ve got 3.6 running smooth.
Striker
still the same...

#244 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 02:26 PM

striker, on Oct 18 2004, 08:19 PM, said:

There are a cd writer and a cd player in it;The cd writer went to the smokey mountains last week, I replaced that one. Now the cd player is the one I didn' t like from the beginning, so I decided to replace that one either. Both drives were 3 years old, not bad.The old cd player will stay availlable as reserve.
So you are upgrading the hardware after 3 years ?  . . . Why not plug in a DVD-ROM where the CD-ROM is now ? That way you have a CD-RW and a DVD-Reader . . . . you can simply plug it in the same way as the CD-Rom and it will work without configuring :happyroll: ( A simple DVD-Rom costs about 39 Euro :w00tx100: ):w00tx100: Bruno

#245 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 02:30 PM

yep Bruno that's what shortly crossed my mind too, but to be honest : I don' t want dvd stuff in here, I'm not interested in it.But thanks for the suggestion.I will shut up for the evening now, I' m going to study Vi ... and see what' s nano all about.
Striker
still the same...

#246 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 06:34 PM

StrikerI don't  use mine for anything but installs and backups.  It sure is a lot easier to install a distro from 1 DVD rather than 5 CDs.  They are not just for movies you know. :devil:
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#247 OFFLINE   Ozidave

Ozidave

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 18 October 2004 - 07:39 PM

teacher, on Oct 19 2004, 08:02 AM, said:

StrikerI don't  use mine for anything but installs and backups.  It sure is a lot easier to install a distro from 1 DVD rather than 5 CDs.  They are not just for movies you know. ;)
Hi Julia,You have to consider those with Linux-Fever inasmuch that they need to be treated with Slow and Painful installs. B) A quick install with a DVD may be too much of a shock to the nervous system, unsatisfying and resulting in goodness-knows-what. :w00tx100:Besides, We addicts are more serious about how we do things, :( If you don't believe me... Just check out the seriousness of MY Avatar. :hmm: ;)

Edited by Ozidave, 18 October 2004 - 07:45 PM.


#248 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 19 October 2004 - 05:21 AM

I am sorry Ozi.  I would not want to be one to add to your addiction.  I was not thinking of that.  Slow and painful it is!1 :(  A very serious avatar. Glad you like it!
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#249 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 26 October 2004 - 08:12 AM

The new cd player which I ordered to replace the old one (no, not the cd writer, that's a brand new one) still hasn' t arrived yet. Then this morning I did a libranet update : tried to upgrade the distro to the latest availlable packages which were offered through synaptic. It went wrong, and not just a little bit...it went wrong to the totality of totalnes,if you understand what I' m trying to say. That means there's a reinstall of libranet underway.  B)  I don' t like this at all.Then PcLinuxOS-P7 : updated to the latest availlable packages...running lke a charm.To be short, all other distros on the rig are fully up-to-date. Except that lousy l ......well,I' m off taking a nap now.And after that a fresh pot of coffee.
Striker
still the same...

#250 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 26 October 2004 - 12:57 PM

The updates blew up Libranet ?? . . . . . . I think this happens often with Debian related distros because they use the Debian mirrors for updating . . but they are not really 100% Debian . . . . :P  . . . happened to me with Knoppix a while ago . . B) Bruno




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users