Knoppix problems

AbeL

I thought it would be a good time give Linux a shot when I read about the "no-install" option provided by Knoppix. The download went well (long), burning the ISO image to CD I had some glitches (but I needed new coasters), but I'm really hung up on the boot. Here's what I get: Error: only one processor found PCI: Device 001f.1 not available because of resource collisions ide-scsi: hdd: unsupported {can't read my own writing} in request queue --- [this line is repeated 6 more times, then;] idm_validated_partition_table(): Disk read failed [now the above ide line repeats an additional 4 times, followed by the idm line once] Then I get: "Welcome...." Cannot find the Knoppix filesystem, sorry. Dropping to a (very limited) shell. Press reset to quit.I tried several Cheatcodes, including noscsci, nosmp, pci=biosirq. They made no difference. The only two that at least showed that that the CD wasn't corrupt were expert, but that's no help to a complete novice; and failsafe. With failsafe it completed the boot (no network ,no usb) but when the gui started the video was completed unsync'd (unsunk?). Then I rebooted with cheatcodes xmodule=nv, and xserver=XFree, but that brought me back to the original error msg.My config is:MB = Gigabyte P4 Titan w/ Intel 845E chipsetP4 2.4GHz 512 MbGeForce 4 MX440SE 64MBHDD0 = 40GB total (approx 15GB free) = C:HDD1 = (30GB + 30GB) = (D: & E:)Any pointers to waking the penguin will be appreciated.Abe

Hi AbeLAlso a big welcome to you !Allow me to ask a few questions: What version of Knoppix are we talking about ?Did you do a checksum on your download ?Have you already a version of Linux on your computer ? Or did you burn the CD with windows ?What burning program did you use ?If you have already Linux on your box:Would you mind to do a checksum on your CD aswell ?I´m posting a how-to tonight in the ¨Starters Tips¨B) Bruno