Mouse help

LSPaul

I'm a linux newbie who installed Red Hat 8 a week or two ago. I've been having some fun with it, and after installing MozillaFirebird, decided it would be nice to change to a wheel mouse from the installed 2 button mouse. I plugged in a Microsoft optical wheel mouse, rebooted, changed the mouse config using the Gnome mouse menu, logged out and back in, and chaos set in. I have lost control of my curser in Gnome, and don't know how to undo the damage. I put the Dell 2 button mouse back in, rebooted, but still chaos. I can't get to the Gnome menu section to reconfigure. I am able to get to a terminal window command line. Any suggestions, or am I looking at a re-install? If I do have to re-install the OS, is there an easy way to have KDE as the graphical interface?

Did you install KDE with your Red Hat? If so when you boot up you should have an option that says Session which lets you then select KDE. I understand though that KDE is not an option that is automatically installed. You must install it as an add in to what is automatically selected.

LSPaul,Welcome...Julia is quite correct - in RedHat 8 or 9, during the installation, you must choose to install KDE. When you decide what route you will take, or if you want to try the "terminal", go here: (either print it out or write it down - valuable info).Configuring WheelmiceHave fun, because it is... :D

Thanks Quint for the input. All I can do is check the books because I have yet to get around to loading one of my copies of Red Hat. Guess I need to get busy. :D

Julia,I honestly believe that if he uses the "jetblackz tip", in the terminal, it is possible! But it is his choice - at this juncture, re-install may be better. :D