Wireless connection not working in Ubuntu 12.10

Jade88

Hi,

I'm new to this forum. I have some Unix background (years ago), but this is the first time I have used the Ubuntu operating system. I just installed Ubuntu 12.10 on a Dell Latitude laptop. I got a ransomeware virus on the laptop and decided I was going to try something other than Windows. During the install I realized that the wireless connection was not working. I am thinking this was caused by the ransomeware. I ran the lspci command in the terminal and it showed that I had the Broadcom BCM4311 Network Controller. I was trying to read online if others had this problem, but I could not find a solution that was easy to understand. Would anyone on this forum know how to get the wireless card to start working again?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Hi, Jade88.

Welcome to SNF! I'm glad you decided to come here for advice. Fingers crossed that someone here will have the right solution for you.

Thanks so much. I still can't get the wireless to work. I went to the page you suggested and followed the directions titles 10.04(Lucid Lynx). I also tried installing b43-fwcutter. When I went to Sysytem Settings>Software Sources> Additional Drivers it says using Broadcom 802.11 Linux STA wireless driver source from bcmwl-kernel-source. This is selected. The other option is Do not use this device. I also noticed that the wireless switch light does not go on anymore after the computer got infected.

Two things I would try.

1 - Check that the device is not disabled in the BIOS. If it is on in the BIOS, try # 2.

2 - Boot from a LiveCD/USB (I usually use PartedMagic) to see if the wireless works.

I went to the page you suggested and followed the directions titles 10.04(Lucid Lynx).

Did you try the instructions for 12.04, since that is what you said you installed in your first post?

11.10 (Oneiric Ocelot) - 12.10 (Quantal Quetzal)

Open a Terminal and if you haven't already done so, update your package list: