Jump to content


memory problems


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 02:35 PM

Explain a bit more by what you mean, "I notice the icons aren't in their usual places..." and then we can figure out what might happen on some reboots.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#27 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 04:11 PM

On my computer, when I reboot the desktop icons are in the same place everytime and do not change locations unless something is wrong.  One of the indicators that something is not working correctly is the tunderbird email program.  When I open it, I'm required to enter my passwords for each email account.  I then have ot reboot many time(the number changes each time) until the icons are realigned correctly and then my programs open as they should.

#28 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 06:17 PM

For backing up your Windows 9x/ME drivers:http://www.shareup.c...wnload-424.htmlThere is such a thing called "OS decay". I suggest you save all your data, wipe the drive clean, reinstall Windows ME and drivers, update system files, apply your system tweaks, install your apps, do a scandisk/defrag, and then clone the system partition (so you can "fresh" restore at any time). Some of the things you can do to lessen system resource depletion: disable system restore and active desktop; don't use fancy wallpapers, icons and cursors; use programs one at a time, avoiding those that use skins; switch to Avast for real-time antivirus protection.

Edited by b2cm, 27 September 2005 - 06:19 PM.


#29 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 06:44 PM

I don't understand this program WinDriversBackup.  After the program is installed the incon it opens and gives me three options, Modify, Repair, and Remove.  Modify is check after I run the program its completed. and the program is closed.  I don't see a list of what drivers or anything, did it copy the drivers and where are they and how do I reinstall them?By the way I don't wallpapers, I do have a couple dozen icons, no fancy cursors and for the most part only have one program open at a time.  But none of this shoulc effect my startup and the system not loading the programs correctly. Am I correct?

#30 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 10:28 PM

WinDriversBackup should look like thishttp://www.shareup.c...wscr.php?id=424Something isn't right on your computer because you should not have to keep rebooting because the icons are out of place and programs aren't loading correctly on a reboot.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#31 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 27 September 2005 - 11:09 PM

There's something wrong with your computer. Check for malware. Better yet wipe your disk and reinstall Windows after backing up your data files.In any case, browse to where you installed the program and double-click on the program executable.I checked the link I gave, and the download is for DGT.EXE. WinDriversBackup was renamed Driver Guide Toolkit, after it was acquired by Driverguide.com. But it still is the same program with the same interface.First you click "Identify All Drivers", and after the scan tick "Select All" and then click the "Backup Drivers" button. By default, the program stores the backup in C:\My Drivers. Copy the whole folder to a CDR/RW.

#32 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 10:23 AM

This second link is entirely different from what was sent the first time.  This one I see a listing of the drivers.  Like I said I only saw those three options when I installed the other link.Are you saying to click on the winme exe and reinstall the windows, to try that first and if it does not clear up the problem then clean and reinstall everything?

#33 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 11:39 AM

Go to Start/Programs/Accessories/System Tools and see if you have any restore points back a few months before these problems started. Don't do anything. Just look and tell us the earliest restore point that you have.Also, do you have a copy of ME or do you have a Restore/recovery CD or possibly no CD at all with your computer? We need to know which of the three situations so we can direct you to the best solution.Are you running any firewall, antivirus, trojan detector, malware/spyware software? If so, what products are on your computer and are they up to date? If you don't have any, we can direct you to good free solutions and we may have you clean possible nasties off your computer to see if the problems clear up.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#34 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 11:46 AM

Somewhere on the Windows directory is an Options folder containing Windows ME Setup files. I'm not sure but I think the executable to run is SETUP.EXE so that you can re-install Windows ME "over the top". First, back up your data, and create a Windows ME startup floppy disk.

#35 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 12:19 PM

My cable company(roadrunner) has an AV and I'm using that I took off their firewall because I think it was causing me problems.  Now I just use my router as a firewall as suggested by them.  I have no other programs in my startup except the recently install memory program that was suggested on this link.  There is no date in the restore file.  I have ran spyware but I don't keep a copy in my startup, since I started having the problems.  Yes I do have my CD of ME.

#36 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 05:54 PM

First we want to be sure that your computer isn't acting strange because it has malware on it.I want you to go to two sites, let the sites scan and clean up anything it finds. After you've done that, use the computer for a few days and see if the problem is gone. If it appears before two or three days, let us know and then we can step you thru reinstalling ME.The scan sites:1) http://housecall.trendmicro.com/it may take awhile for the site to download the scanning mechanism but it is a good site and worth the wait2) http://www.ewido.net/en/ look in the left column and press the start buttonthis is another good siteThere are other scanning sites but unfortunately some scan, tell you that you have problems and want you to pay for software to clean up your computer. Some disreputable sites tell you that you have spyware (false positives) that are not on your computer in order to scare you into buying their product. You do not have to worry about the two sites that I'm sending you to. Why two sites? Because each product finds something a bit different than the others. If your computer comes up clean on both sites, then we are probably looking at corrupted system files in ME and a repair or an reinstallation will be the way to get things back to normal.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#37 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 28 September 2005 - 06:11 PM

Do the scan for malware.As for os decay and files/settings to backup:http://riki-lb1.vet....uildWindows.htm

#38 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 29 September 2005 - 06:05 PM

I was away from my computer yesterday, I will do the scan this evening.

#39 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 30 September 2005 - 12:42 AM

View Postthesarge, on Sep 29 2005, 03:05 PM, said:

I was away from my computer yesterday, I will do the scan this evening.
I ran the first link and this is what came up:No Malware AlertThere are no medium or high risk alerts at this time.The second link did not work because it only works on 2000 or xp.

#40 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 30 September 2005 - 12:20 PM

Before we get real drastic and wipe the computer and reinstall ME (I say drastic because you will lose all your updates to ME and all the programs you have installed), download a program called HijackThis.http://www.majorgeek...wnload3155.html1. Create a new folder on your desktop and move the download into it.2. Run the program from the desktop folder.3. A log will be created. Open edit pad and copy and paste the log into it to see if you wish to remove any personal identifying data (like your name)4. Paste the log here so I can see if there is anything residing on your computer that shouldn't be there.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#41 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 10:59 AM

View Postzlim, on Sep 30 2005, 09:20 AM, said:

Before we get real drastic and wipe the computer and reinstall ME (I say drastic because you will lose all your updates to ME and all the programs you have installed), download a program called HijackThis.http://www.majorgeek...wnload3155.html1. Create a new folder on your desktop and move the download into it.2. Run the program from the desktop folder.3. A log will be created. Open edit pad and copy and paste the log into it to see if you wish to remove any personal identifying data (like your name)4. Paste the log here so I can see if there is anything residing on your computer that shouldn't be there.
Liz, sorry it took me so long to send this info, but I've been busy:  If you are still interested in helping me solve my problem the following is the info from Hyjack:Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1Scan saved at 7:49:05 AM, on 10/4/2005Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)Running processes:C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLLC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tskC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\CA\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\ISAFE.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXEC:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\CA\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\VETMSG.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\CA\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\VETTRAY.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXEC:\UNZIPPED\FRAMXPRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\MOZILLA THUNDERBIRD\THUNDERBIRD.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\MOZILLA FIREFOX\FIREFOX.EXEC:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS-1.EXER1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapp...rch/search.htmlR0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.cnn.com/R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapp...rch/search.htmlR1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorunO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.ExeO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vet Alert] C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~2\VETMSG.EXEO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VetTray] C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~2\VETTRAY.EXEO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] atiptaxx.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ATIPOLAB] ati2evxx.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [VidSvr]  O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CAISafe] C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\isafe.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [KB891711] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXEO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /backgroundO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Spyware Doctor] "C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\swdoctor.exe" /QO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\UNZIPPED\FRAMXPRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE" -winO8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - C:\Program Files\GetRight\GRdownload.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - C:\Program Files\GetRight\GRbrowse.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Advanced Email Extractor - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Scan link with AEE - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/link.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmsearch.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmwordtrans.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmcache.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmsimilar.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmbacklinks.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmtrans.htmlO9 - Extra button: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\PARTYPOKER\IEEXTENSION.DLLO9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\PARTYPOKER\IEEXTENSION.DLLO9 - Extra button: Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Advanced Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)Hope this helps.

#42 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 11:03 AM

I have also notice that in the morning when I start my computer, the memory monitor program I run on my system says that before I open any program I only have 140mb of the 256 avilable.  Is the low or is this average.  Soon after I open any program, even my email(thunderbird) it drops down to half of what I started with.

#43 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 12:43 PM

Quote

By the way I don't wallpapers, I do have a couple dozen icons, no fancy cursors and for the most part only have one program open at a time. But none of this shoulc effect my startup and the system not loading the programs correctly. Am I correct?
Icons momentarily disappearing or getting disarrayed is symptomatic of severe GDI/user resource depletion. The problemmatic loading of programs is probably due to system or program files issues. That clicking of WindriverBackup shortcut and getting the modify/repair/remove prompt is probably due to malware.You said you ran Spybot and Hijack. Can you run Hijack againand post the log here, as Liz suggested?Some other things you can try:(1) Use a registry cleaner utility (like RegCleaner, freeware), and a registry defrag/compacting tool (like WinRescue, trial). (2) Let Windows manage your swap file.(3) Download and run Avast or Antivir.

#44 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 04:02 PM

View Postb2cm, on Oct 4 2005, 09:43 AM, said:

Icons momentarily disappearing or getting disarrayed is symptomatic of severe GDI/user resource depletion. The problemmatic loading of programs is probably due to system or program files issues. That clicking of WindriverBackup shortcut and getting the modify/repair/remove prompt is probably due to malware.You said you ran Spybot and Hijack. Can you run Hijack againand post the log here, as Liz suggested?Some other things you can try:(1) Use a registry cleaner utility (like RegCleaner, freeware), and a registry defrag/compacting tool (like WinRescue, trial). (2) Let Windows manage your swap file.(3) Download and run Avast or Antivir.
I just ran Hyjack as of:Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1Scan saved at 7:49:05 AM, on 10/4/2005Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)This is just hours old.

#45 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 09:16 PM

Sorry about that. I missed page 2 of the topic when I made my recent post.Log looks clean. But your system is loading a lot, if legit stuff, at startup. That may explain the high RAM used at startup. There's a lot of programs (for a win9x/me system) running in the background.I really suggest you switch to Avast, in my opinion the best for win9x/me systems (light, good protection, free).

#46 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 04 October 2005 - 09:30 PM

I never worry about how long it takes. I realize that life interferes with troubleshooting computers.http://www.answersth.../tasklist_v.htmindicates that if you don't use WebTV, you should disable thisO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [VidSvr]so you can mark it to be fixedThese two indicate that something is missing so if your computor is looking for items, that might cause problemsO9 - Extra button: Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Advanced Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)You should have some more items below the last posted.I would click to fix the 3 items I mentioned

Quote

Once you have received advice on what should be removed, reopen HijackThis. Scan again. You have changed nothing and this scan result will be the same as the first. Place a checkmark in the box in front of each item you plan to remove. In this example, there are three items marked for removal.Click the Fix checked button.A confirmation box will appear. Click Yes. HijackThis will now remove the checked items.
If you have any more items to add, they can be posted after you fix the three items above.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#47 OFFLINE   thesarge

thesarge

    Contributor

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 05 October 2005 - 10:12 AM

View Postzlim, on Oct 4 2005, 06:30 PM, said:

I never worry about how long it takes. I realize that life interferes with troubleshooting computers.http://www.answersth.../tasklist_v.htmindicates that if you don't use WebTV, you should disable thisO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [VidSvr]so you can mark it to be fixedThese two indicate that something is missing so if your computor is looking for items, that might cause problemsO9 - Extra button: Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Advanced Email Extractor - {AFA7DB99-3E4D-4396-94F8-B0B135BCB472} - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.html (file missing) (HKCU)You should have some more items below the last posted.I would click to fix the 3 items I mentionedIf you have any more items to add, they can be posted after you fix the three items above.
This is the latest Hyjack:Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1Scan saved at 7:09:37 AM, on 10/5/2005Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)Running processes:C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLLC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tskC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXEC:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\CA\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\VETMSG.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\CA\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\VETTRAY.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXEC:\UNZIPPED\FRAMXPRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXEC:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXEC:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS-1.EXEC:\PROGRAM FILES\MOZILLA FIREFOX\FIREFOX.EXER1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapp...rch/search.htmlR0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.cnn.com/R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapp...rch/search.htmlR1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapp...//www.yahoo.comR0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorunO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.ExeO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vet Alert] C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~2\VETMSG.EXEO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VetTray] C:\PROGRA~1\CA\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~2\VETTRAY.EXEO4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] atiptaxx.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ATIPOLAB] ati2evxx.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CAISafe] C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\isafe.exeO4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [KB891711] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KB891711\KB891711.EXEO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /backgroundO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Spyware Doctor] "C:\Program Files\Spyware Doctor\swdoctor.exe" /QO4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\UNZIPPED\FRAMXPRO\FREERAM XP PRO 1.40.EXE" -winO8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - C:\Program Files\GetRight\GRdownload.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - C:\Program Files\GetRight\GRbrowse.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Advanced Email Extractor - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/page.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Scan link with AEE - res://D:\PROGRAM%20FILES\ADVANCED%20EMAIL%20EXTRACTOR\AEEMSIE.DLL/link.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htmO8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmsearch.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmwordtrans.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmcache.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmsimilar.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmbacklinks.htmlO8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR3.DLL/cmtrans.htmlO9 - Extra button: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\PARTYPOKER\IEEXTENSION.DLLO9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: PartyPoker.com - {B7FE5D70-9AA2-40F1-9C6B-12A255F085E1} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\PARTYPOKER\IEEXTENSION.DLL

#48 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 05 October 2005 - 11:31 AM

ok. It's still hard for me to believe that the log ends there.http://castlecops.com/HijackThis.htmlYou should at least have an entry for 012 IE plugins, I would think.I see nothing suspicious in your HijackThis file but I'm wondering why there isn't more to the log and I don't know enough to be able to figure out why the log stops at 09 items.98 and ME computers aren't the best for using resources. I'll have to check what my computers say after loading.Mine are worse than your computer:98SE: 255MB (I think 1 meg is used for video), 33MB free (I still have 336megs of 384 MB virtual memory remaining which saves meME: 256MB, 78MB free and 240megs of 384MB virtual memory remaining.**** What is the size of your swap file? (This is virtual memory). To locate it, right click on My Computer, select Properties, then the Performance tab and finally the Virtual Memory button. Let us know what the minimum and maximum values are. We know the swap file size   but I'd still like to know the settings for max and min. If your computer has to resize the swap file all the time, that could slow it down.Also left click on my computer and put your mouse on the C:\. Look at the status bar and tell us how much free space you have. Computers also act strange when the free space is limited.Bottom line: I can't see malware causing the problems. Something may be corrupted so a reinstall might be the way to correct the problem.Let me think about this. I'm not real keen on wiping, installing windows and then spending hours reloading all the windows updates and programs again.

Edited by zlim, 06 October 2005 - 10:54 AM.

Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#49 OFFLINE   b2cm

b2cm

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,349 posts

Posted 05 October 2005 - 12:21 PM

Quote

**** What is the size of your swap file? (This is virtual memory).
It is 2 gigabytes. Strange.

#50 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,227 posts

Posted 06 October 2005 - 10:47 AM

View Postb2cm, on Oct 5 2005, 12:21 PM, said:

It is 2 gigabytes. Strange.
:blink:  Thanks b2cm...I should have thought to go back and read page 1.That seems HUGE for a swapfile. Is there a problem if the swapfile is overly large? I guessed it was too small.I just checked my computer with the 120gig hd and the swap is 1538 megs.I wonder how large a hd he has? If ME is installed, I'm guessing it is somewhere in the 20-40 gig range for a 1000MHz computer.

Edited by zlim, 06 October 2005 - 10:51 AM.

Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users