Jump to content


I'm Giving Up Firefox


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 05:18 PM

Yes, you read right.  I'm calling it quits on Firefox for a while.  I do believe they rushed a bit on this one.  Here are the things I have noticed that are causing me to switch:*Memory leak?  I don't know quite whether it is a memory leak or what.  Here's the situation.  I am working on an on-line test for my students.  I enter 30 questions in and get ready to go to the next one and Firefox  crashes.  Everything is gone.*I'm working on test questions again - dictating with DragonDictate.  The two together crash my browser.*I'm working on questions again - again dictating with DragonDictate but using IE7.  IE7 cruises along and I successfully add my 48 questions for this test without error.*I go to look at my options and cookies and no longer have any option to tell it to be for the originating site only (am I only dreaming that I had this feature?).  I have tons of cookies now for 207. and other horrible sites that I must clean up by hand.*I read an article telling how to fix this but when I go to about:.... I find I have it set correctly and still have the cookie problem.*I no longer have the option to load images from the originating site only.  Am I alone here?  Any other Firefox fans a bit disappointed?  I'm using IE7 now at work and Safari at home.  I can only take so many times of entering a lot of test questions and then losing it all before I get really frustrated.  Sometimes it takes me hours to load questions because I don't have much time actually in front of my computer but input them between helping students or during class changes or lunch.  That small amount of free time adds up but then when it is lost it is twice as frustrating.  Please no flaming here, just facts as you have observed them. :thumbsup:  What is working for you?  What is not working for you?  What pleases you?  What disappoints you? Has your opinion changed?  Why?
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#2 OFFLINE   Neil P

Neil P

    Resident Pyromaniac

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,254 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 05:30 PM

I don't know what's going on with cookies. Supposedly the third party blocking was removed from the UI because it doesn't work in all cases and people were getting a false sense of security. I guess the only way to handle them is to either block all cookies and then whitelist sites that you want them from, or find an extension that helps manage cookies (there are quite a few). Supposedly the only way to fix it "the right way" would break legitimate uses of cookies, so they didn't. The setting (network.cookie.cookieBehavior) should have persisted from earlier Firefox installs, that's why yours was already set to 1, which is supposed to accept cookies from the originating site only.With your crashes, when are they happening? You're entering test questions to some online software? Maybe there is a conflict there. A crash is much more serious than a memory leak.Personally I haven't noticed any problems with this version.

#3 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 05:45 PM

I think we read the same thing about cookies.  I do not want to go through and whitelist cookies nor do I want to have to click each time.  I want it to simply go with the originating site only.The online software worked fine before I updated.  It is simple tables in reality using a little javascript.  Each question is a glorified table with a 1x2 box for the question and then two columns underneath for the answer box and the answer sample.  Examples of some of my tests are at http://www.quia.com/...hscompaps1.html   It locks everything up to where it either closes or it will no longer recognize any command.  I consider that a crash.  It may happen while I am in the middle of a question or when I go back to enter additional questions.  You would have to register at quia.com and create a quiz under a trial account to see the entry software.I must say I have also had problems with other sites just browsing but those are not as serious as losing a lot of work in a site like this.
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#4 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 05:51 PM

The closes thing I have come to (in terms of browser problems) was that I had to leave the browser alone for about 3 minutes (on dial up) while it sucked all my bandwidth. Since then, it  has been running smooth as butter. I don't know what it was doing, but it only did it once. I presume it had something to do with updates.Adam
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#5 OFFLINE   Gary

Gary

    Forum Fiend

  • No Longer a Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:03 PM

I have never had a problem/crash with Fx 2.0If you are actually going to give it up, try Opera. It is faster than than Firefox.

Edited by Gary, 06 November 2006 - 06:04 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:12 PM

Thanks for the reminder Gary. I was going to mention that I planned to go back and look at that.  It would be nice to be able to use the same program at work and home (XP and Mac).  I need to dig into IE7 more at work when I have some free time.
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#7 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,553 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:28 PM

I use Firefox, Opera and very occasionally IE in Win2K.I use Firefox, Opera and occasionally Konq in Linux.There are just some things that one browser does better or easier than others, or more securely... I just go with what does the best job at a given task or what I feel like playing with today.I am all over the radar with browsers :hysterical:I love Firefox and I love Opera for different reasons. But I even use and like IE for certain things, although very little these days.
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#8 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:46 PM

I have been all over the map over the years.  It was very easy in Opera to set it to allow cookies for the first pagre only.  I am finding some easy ad blocking as well.  Then again, I really liked the option in Firefox to have a site do the blocking for me on most of them.
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#9 OFFLINE   Gary

Gary

    Forum Fiend

  • No Longer a Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 06:57 PM

View Postteacher, on Nov 6 2006, 05:46 PM, said:

I have been all over the map over the years.  It was very easy in Opera to set it to allow cookies for the first pagre only.  I am finding some easy ad blocking as well.  Then again, I really liked the option in Firefox to have a site do the blocking for me on most of them.
Have you ever tried Flock?

#10 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 07:00 PM

Flock was a nightmare......
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#11 OFFLINE   Gary

Gary

    Forum Fiend

  • No Longer a Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 07:08 PM

View Postteacher, on Nov 6 2006, 06:00 PM, said:

Flock was a nightmare......
That is about the way I see it. A poor ripoff of Firefox. I have been using Firefox since it was called Phoenix, and I would find it hard adjusting to another Browser. I have Opera but you can't really make it the way you want as in Firefox? Opera 9.10 will officially be out soon. It is already on Majorgeeks.

#12 OFFLINE   Temmu

Temmu

    The Assimilator

  • Forum MVP
  • 12,546 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 08:04 PM

i'm still in ff 1.5.0.7 and opera 9.02 in xp & pc linux os.and ie 6 in xp.am sure i'll upg all 3 in the near future.
Posted Image

#13 OFFLINE   Grasshopper

Grasshopper

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 08:31 PM

This discussion makes me glad to wait a bit on 2.0.
A man may smile and bid you hail
Yet wish you to the devil;
But when a good dog wags his tail,
You know he's on the level.
--author unknown

#14 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,788 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:01 PM

View Posttbird, on Nov 6 2006, 07:31 PM, said:

This discussion makes me glad to wait a bit on 2.0.
I couldn' agree more. 1.5x is working just fine for me. :thumbsup:

#15 OFFLINE   Gary

Gary

    Forum Fiend

  • No Longer a Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:09 PM

View PostV.T. Eric Layton, on Nov 6 2006, 08:01 PM, said:

I couldn' agree more. 1.5x is working just fine for me. :thumbsup:
ONE member has had a problem with Fx 2 and your all now hesitate to upgrade to Fx 2. How can anyone be sure that the problems that Julia had were not with an extension or some other factor. Someone mentioned memory leaks? Fx 1.5 X X was full of them. As is an ext called IE tab.Fx 2 is more secure than 1.5 and is all around better. There will be an upgrade from 1.5.0.7 to 1.5.0.8 but that will be it.

#16 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:11 PM

The price of early adoption is possibility of bugs. Some people don't want that. *shrug*
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#17 OFFLINE   Grasshopper

Grasshopper

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,063 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:13 PM

Gary, just because you MUST be on the freakin' bleeding edge of software does not mean that you must continually hound us "slower" users about upgrades. While you are a good source of knowledge about OS's and browsers, please realize that your continual insistence that "I don't have any problems" doesn't automatically make everyone want to dive in.
A man may smile and bid you hail
Yet wish you to the devil;
But when a good dog wags his tail,
You know he's on the level.
--author unknown

#18 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,788 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:21 PM

I don't need to be right up-to-the-minute with software. It's a tool to me. If the tool works well, there's no reason to exchange it for one that might not work as well. Besides, I'm running 1.5x in Linux. I'm not too worried about the security issues that Windows users might be concerned about.

#19 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:28 PM

I only upgraded to 2.0 because I was trying to break Ubuntu. :PAdam
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#20 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,788 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:29 PM

View Postross549, on Nov 6 2006, 08:28 PM, said:

I only upgraded to 2.0 because I was trying to break Ubuntu. :PAdam
Did you succeed?  :thumbsup:

#21 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:30 PM

Nope still working. It seems I am getting better at fixing linux. I did perform open heart surgery on GNOME yesterday......Adam
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#22 OFFLINE   Gary

Gary

    Forum Fiend

  • No Longer a Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,831 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:41 PM

View Posttbird, on Nov 6 2006, 08:13 PM, said:

Gary, just because you MUST be on the freakin' bleeding edge of software does not mean that you must continually hound us "slower" users about upgrades. While you are a good source of knowledge about OS's and browsers, please realize that your continual insistence that "I don't have any problems" doesn't automatically make everyone want to dive in.
I am not hounding anyone. I even recommended Opera to Julia. I just can't see why everyone is ready to give up on Fx just because of one user here having a problem. I am just stating facts. I never have had a crash with Fx 2. Fx 1.5 does have a known memory leak problem.I don't personally care what browser you use. Look at all of the problems associated with IE and yes there are still those that use it.There are no Known memory leaks in Fx 2. There are in Fx 1.5 as I have stated. I believe that Mozilla went to Fx 2 for a reason and part of that reason is security.  I personally use Fx, Opera IE 6 and IE 7. I can tell you without hesitation that I have had crashes with IE 6.0 which not only crashed the browser but my machine as well. So I am the bad guy here due to the fact that I did not have a problem with Fx 2.  FWIW , I am not on the "Freaken" Bleeding edge of Software. Yes I use Vista as it is free and I am testing it. When it becomes unusable in June, I will NOT upgrade to it. I do not own stock in Mozilla, I have no vested interest in recommending it. :teehee:

#23 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 09:54 PM

2.0 has fixed a number of leaks that result in increased memory usage. However as I type this, I have 3 tabs open, and firefox is using 270MB of memory. I'd say the developers have a way to go before they can say the memory issue is fully resolved.I have read various stories claiming that there is not just one giant leak, but many small ones, resulting in a large problem that has many small causes.

Mozilla Knowledge Base said:

Memory leaks can cause Firefox not to release memory that it is no longer using, especially with older versions. There has been a lot of effort to reduce the leaks in recent versions, and Mozilla developers have have created tools to detect them. [4] [5] To minimize leaks, you should upgrade to the most recent version. The most common memory leaks appear to be fixed in Firefox 2.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Memory_LeakThere are still others.... BugsAdam
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#24 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,788 posts

Posted 07 November 2006 - 12:00 AM

I have 18 tabs open and FF 1.5x in Linux is using 47M. :teehee:

#25 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,237 posts

Posted 07 November 2006 - 12:05 AM

So far I only have FF 2 on one computer. I want to kick the tires and get used to it before I install it on the others. As far as cookies, I have always used the extension Cookie Culler. http://cookieculler.mozdev.org/I can see the cookies, delete the ones I don't want and protect the ones I do want. I have checked the option to delete the unwanted cookies on startup - so I don't have to clear any cookies off during a session - if I don't want to.But I'm with you; if something continually crashes then it is not the browser I'm going to use.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users