Jump to content


Almost ready to go!!


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 07:25 PM

OK Bruno,Penguin fever is running rapid.  I have a window of opportunity starting tonight to mentally prepare (study some more), then tomorrow (Munchen Time, someone changed my german keyboard!!) I can cleanup/backup my computer in the afternoon (during daughters nap), then start with install in the evening, after said daughters bed time.  I have to configure (myself) for 12 hour mid shifts the 17th, so staying up late will be a good idea!! :D I've pretty much decided on Mandrake, I'll use the link you provided for Curly to download and burn it tonight.  More questions to follow.I have no Idea about dual boot, partitioning, etc, but if I understand correctly, the Mandrake installation takes care of the dual boot configuration??  I don't even know if I have the proper vocabulary!! :rolleyes:  :blink:OK!! lots to study,  Maybe I need a new avatar for the next few days!!  OH!! one important question, could be a show stopper.  Do you know if FRITZ! ISDN cards are supported in Linux??  I guess I can check the AVM site. :D

#2 OFFLINE   SonicDragon

SonicDragon

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 4,188 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 07:34 PM

Quote

Do you know if FRITZ! ISDN cards are supported in Linux??
Check the Mandrake Supported Hardware Database at http://www.mandrakel...n/hardware.php3Also, check out Bruno's Linux Tips at the top of the linux forum!As for partitioning and dual booting, i can't help you there :lol:

#3 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 07:42 PM

beeTee

Quote

I have no Idea about dual boot, partitioning, etc, but if I understand correctly, the Mandrake installation takes care of the dual boot configuration??
Yes ! No problems there, only see to it that Mandrake does not take ALL free space ( you will need some for windows too ), for the dual-boot just let Mandrake install Lilo in the MBR ! ( default )

Quote

I don't even know if I have the proper vocabulary!!
That should be your LAST problem !

Quote

Do you know if FRITZ! ISDN cards are supported in Linux?? I guess I can check the AVM site
Do not know, my guess is it will, you can check their site or Google for ¨Linux Fritz ISDN¨ !TjüzzB) Bruno

#4 OFFLINE   greengeek

greengeek

    Forum Fiend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,864 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 07:53 PM

:lol: More penguins in the making, Microsoft had better watch out!Joy

#5 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 07:58 PM

Yep Greengeek !We´re doing just fine at this rate.:lol: Bruno

#6 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:02 PM

Bruno -- Yes ! No problems there, only see to it that Mandrake does not take ALL free space ( you will need some for windows too ), for the dual-boot just let Mandrake install Lilo in the MBR ! (default )I'm heavily thinking about doing format, repartition, and a clean install of my win2000.  When I initially set up my system, I gave myself like 14 GB for my operating system.  ( I have 40 gig to play with) I've come to learn that's TOO much.  Thinking of about 5gig for that.  I don't keep any data on my C: drive, so it should be enough.ALSO, if I understand correctly, Mandrake can "share" folders with windows?  like:c: =win2kd: =datae:= mandrake?then both win2k and mandrake can access file on the D: drive??  plz confirm

#7 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:09 PM

Quote

ALSO, if I understand correctly, Mandrake can "share" folders with windows? like:c: =win2kd: =datae:= mandrake?then both win2k and mandrake can access file on the D: drive?? plz confirm
Yes the names will be different from what you list there, but all will be accesable from Mandrake ( NOT from Windows --> Mandrake but YES from Mandrake---> Windows , once in mandrake you can read and write on your windows partitions ! )Since you will do a full re-format choose Fat32 for your windows and data, that makes it easier for Mandrake to write to.:lol: Bruno

#8 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:10 PM

My suggestion is that you make the primary Win2k partition NTFS (much better filesystem than Fat32), and then the data drive in Fat32 :lol:  That's what I've done with mine and it works quite well :)EDIT - You won't be able to write to your C: drive from Mandrake, but you will be able to read it... Shouldn't need to write to it anyway :lol:

#9 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:19 PM

GolfProRM, on May 16 2003, 02:10 AM, said:

EDIT - You won't be able to write to your C: drive from Mandrake, but you will be able to read it... Shouldn't need to write to it anyway ;)
That is why I told his to format it Fat32 ! That way he would be able to fix his Windows software if it ever gets seriously messed up ! :lol:  (wierder stuff has happend . . . ):lol: Bruno

#10 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:22 PM

eh.. but the NTFS file structure makes Win2k much faster

#11 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:26 PM

Thanks Bill, errrrr, Ryan,I've had some problems/confusion in the Disk Managment department of win2k before (mostly mis-management on my part) although my mistakes have made me proficent at doing clean installs.  :lol: I'm thinking I should get an eval copy of Partition Magic to complete the reszing of my C: drive before I reinstall.  my current D and E drives were created the same way when my box was new.Bruno, Ryan...... Since I'm starting fresh, I guess I can format FAT32, and convert to NTFS at a later date!!  I didn't know you can fix Windows with Linux.  No wonder Bill would like to see Linux go!!btw, I DO have some limited unix experience, lots of vax/vms experience (albeit no DCL, I just learned how to ad a column in exel!!  :lol:  don't know the first thing about programing.)   So working from a command line is not threatening at all.

#12 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:30 PM

beeTee, on May 15 2003, 07:25 PM, said:

Curly
Curly?  New nickname for me?  Just wait, I am watching.  Hope it goes wll.  If I get my disks tomorrow,  I might mess with Mandrake too  since I have the weekend free.  Good luck!
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#13 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:36 PM

beeTee, on May 15 2003, 07:26 PM, said:

Bruno, Ryan...... Since I'm starting fresh, I guess I can format FAT32, and convert to NTFS at a later date!!  I didn't know you can fix Windows with Linux.  No wonder Bill would like to see Linux go!!
Well... there aren't any specific Linux based, Windows fixing tools that I know of...  It just means you can edit/fix system files becasue they won't be locked up in Windows...You could do that from any other OS...  Example, you could have XP on one partition and 2k on another and do the same thing as Linux :D

#14 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:37 PM

teacher, on May 16 2003, 02:30 AM, said:

beeTee, on May 15 2003, 07:25 PM, said:

Curly
Curly?  New nickname for me? Good luck!
Hi Julia,  Saw you there.  Thanks for the luck. :D  I'll start downloading here in a minute.btw, I'm natural curly myself.  Well, I used to be more curly before my forehead started to grow.  and grow!! :D

#15 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:38 PM

beeTee:Good luck pal ! Halz und Beinbruch ! ( you spotted that right: ¨Bill¨ )Julia:Is he getting to familiar with you calling you curly ? Ican call him some German names if you want me to !Can´t wait to get you set up with Mandrake. Hope the disks come in before the weekend !:D Bruno

#16 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 08:41 PM

A German running Mandrake??  Shouldn't you be running SuSE??? :D :D

#17 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 09:06 PM

GolfProRM, on May 16 2003, 02:41 AM, said:

A German running Mandrake??  Shouldn't you be running SuSE??? :D :D
Well, I'm only Half German, by blood, which has nothing to do with me living here.   :)   I might eventually end up with SuSE, but right now, the amount of time I have means it's not worth paying for something to learn on. :D disk one, 45 minutes to go!!   :)

#18 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 09:16 PM

LOL...  It's just funny to see someone from Germany running software written by the French :D  Nothing against Mandrake...  it's what I'm running on my system, and I love it! :D  Very "newbie" friendly :D

#19 OFFLINE   Peachy

Peachy

    Anarquista De Sartorial

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,448 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 09:55 PM

Yee haw!!! Another Penguinista in the making. I was getting jaded with Windows XP; the thing works and you really can't tweak it much other than shutting down a few services. But Linux makes computing fun again.  :rolleyes:

'freedom...is actually the reason that men live together in political organisations at all. Without it, political life as such would be meaningless. The raison d'Être of politics is freedom, and its field of experience is action'.
My Flickr Photo Blog Posted Image
del.icio.us bookmarks Posted Image


#20 OFFLINE   beeTee

beeTee

    Message Mogul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 10:10 PM

I hope I'm not making a mistake here.  I'm ftp'n the image drives from denmark.  I'm on a system at work without an ftp program, so I just dragged and dropped.  In the readme, it says make sure I do it in binary (which is something i should already know !!).  question is, is this the default of "drag and drop" or is it automatic selection, or am I wasting a huge amount of time and bandwidth??  :rolleyes:  :blink:

#21 OFFLINE   GolfProRM

GolfProRM

    Mr. Incredible

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,910 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 10:14 PM

just run a checksum when you're done (see Bruno's tips for Linux starters) and if it checks out, you'll be okay...

#22 OFFLINE   Peachy

Peachy

    Anarquista De Sartorial

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,448 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 10:15 PM

beeTee, on May 15 2003, 10:10 PM, said:

I hope I'm not making a mistake here.  I'm ftp'n the image drives from denmark.  I'm on a system at work without an ftp program, so I just dragged and dropped.  In the readme, it says make sure I do it in binary (which is something i should already know !!).  question is, is this the default of "drag and drop" or is it automatic selection, or am I wasting a huge amount of time and bandwidth??  :rolleyes:  :blink:
Methinks it should be fine. To be safe if you are using Windows XP then you should have command line ftp. Log in with that and then type binary before you get the file.

'freedom...is actually the reason that men live together in political organisations at all. Without it, political life as such would be meaningless. The raison d'Être of politics is freedom, and its field of experience is action'.
My Flickr Photo Blog Posted Image
del.icio.us bookmarks Posted Image


#23 OFFLINE   Prelude76

Prelude76

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 10:54 PM

GolfProRM, on May 15 2003, 08:16 PM, said:

LOL...  It's just funny to see someone from Germany running software written by the French :D  Nothing against Mandrake...  it's what I'm running on my system, and I love it! :D  Very "newbie" friendly :)
what's even funnier is all the Americans switching from American-made software for French and German-made software.  :blink: I wonder if Russia and China are quickly finishing up some kick-butt Linux distros too, to join this 'Operation Windows Freedom".  :D  :rolleyes:

#24 OFFLINE   Peachy

Peachy

    Anarquista De Sartorial

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,448 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 11:41 PM

Prelude76, on May 15 2003, 10:54 PM, said:

what's even funnier is all the Americans switching from American-made software for French and German-made software.  :rolleyes:
Blame Bruno for that!  :blink: Actually, I used to like Mandrake. I first used Mandrake 6 and then went up to 7.1. But then I had trouble installing Mandrake 8.x and stopped playing with Linux until this winter. It was then at work I had to learn how to install Red Hat 8.0 and get it stable so they could actually teach it in the Linux course. Since then I've played with 7.3 and 9. I hated Red Hat for the longest time because I could never get 4.1 or 5.2 to install. It was only last week that I installed Mandrake 9.1 for the first time. Right now, my preference is Red Hat 8.0 as it is very stable and relatively up to date.

'freedom...is actually the reason that men live together in political organisations at all. Without it, political life as such would be meaningless. The raison d'Être of politics is freedom, and its field of experience is action'.
My Flickr Photo Blog Posted Image
del.icio.us bookmarks Posted Image


#25 OFFLINE   havnblast

havnblast

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,878 posts

Posted 15 May 2003 - 11:55 PM

I agree Peachy 8 is a lot more stable than 9 - heard that the 2.6 kernal is gonna be out end of next month, something to look forward to I hope




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users