Jump to content
V.T. Eric Layton

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to...

Recommended Posts

V.T. Eric Layton

... booting my MS Win 7 Enterprise installation on my main machine last night.

 

Once it booted, the dreaded "Windows is installing Updates - Please do not turn off your computer" came up on the screen.

 

Well, that's just not possible on this installation of Windows. It has no Networking; completely crippled. It's been this way the entire time I've had this Win 7 on this machine... since 2016.

 

So, what did I do? Well, I hit the Reset button on the machine. This rebooted and gave me the same baloney warning. Interesting.

 

I tried to remember when the last time I had booted Windows. It was probably about 6 weeks or so ago. I booted it and did some maintenance (CCleaner scan, MalwareBytes scan, defrag'd the Win partitions, etc.). After the maintenance, I used CloneZilla to mirror over to my back up drive. All went fine.... I thought.

 

I'm still not sure what happened, but I could not get the Win 7 to boot. I used CloneZilla to restore the mirrored Win 7. That went fine, but when I booted the restored Win 7, it did the same baloney "updates installing" warning. This time, though, I left it alone and let it do its thing. After about 10 minutes, my login came up. I logged in. All seems fine. Weird.

 

I checked the updates history in Windows... nothing there. I guess the CCleaner or MalwareBytes or the defrag did something to trigger this event. I don't know how/why, though. I've never seen this happen before on this system after this same routine maintenance.

 

It's working OK, now, though. I guess I'll just leave that be for now. I'm still curious, though, to know how this happened. However, since I don't want to be a dead cat, I'll forego anymore tinkering and digging to satisfy my curiosity.

 

The Mysteries of MS Windows.

  • +1 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
abarbarian
16 hours ago, V.T. Eric Layton said:

I used CloneZilla to restore the mirrored Win 7

 

What's one of them mate ?

 

Oh I remember now.

 

That is the route I forgot to take.

 

:rolleyes:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ebrke

Only time I had that happen on win 7 was when I used Microsoft's own utility to delete unneeded files. Rebooted and had this happen. Something that MS's own tool deleted must have caused this. Never could resolve it and wound up restoring from a backup. Luckily, I had made one a few days prior.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
V.T. Eric Layton

Interesting. I was thinking the same thing, Elizabeth. However, since I didn't use anything... er... wait... actually, I did use the MS disk clean-up thingie just before I defrag'd. My. My. I believe you may have solved the mystery. I must make a note of this and NOT do it again. I'm not even sure why I did it that time. Ccleaner usually gets most of the detritus out of MS Windows.

 

Thanks. Making a note of this in my notebook now. :)

 

~E.

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
abarbarian
11 hours ago, ebrke said:

Luckily, I had made one a few days prior.

 

Yeah yeah poke me in the ribs why don't you. 😝

 

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

 

😭

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ebrke

This was my mother's laptop, and I was pretty good about backups because otherwise I had to explain why I messed up her computer!

  • Like 1
  • +1 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
sunrat
18 hours ago, abarbarian said:

 

Yeah yeah poke me in the ribs why don't you. 😝

 

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

I will remember to make backups

 

😭

 

This is my sig at http://forums.debian.net

Quote

“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

  • Like 1
  • Agree 1
  • +1 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...