(noob) external HD USB enclosure questions

aysdf

I'm a newbie trying to consolidate all my hard drives, and I'm looking into external USB enclosures. Can I get some clarifications?-) Do aluminum cases really not require fans?-) I remember it was extremely dangerous to hot-swap a IDE HD rack, but are USB enclosures really hot-swappable as many sites advertise?-) (legacy question) How painfully slow is transferring over USB 1.1? For instance, from your experience, the time it took to transfer...5 or 10 or X gigs onto an external HD.-) are there any highly recommended or highly un-recommended chipsets/brands/models?-) Does a DC power feed really increase the HD's life?One of the many I looked at: http://www.imagestore.us/product.asp?pf_id=HY%2D3520USB%2DC

I'm a newbie trying to consolidate all my hard drives, and I'm looking into external USB enclosures. Can I get some clarifications?-) Do aluminum cases really not require fans?
Aluminum conducts heat much better than plastic, so fans may not be required.
-) I remember it was extremely dangerous to hot-swap a IDE HD rack, but are USB enclosures really hot-swappable as many sites advertise?
I do not have personal experience with it, but they should be.
-) (legacy question) How painfully slow is transferring over USB 1.1? For instance, from your experience, the time it took to transfer...5 or 10 or X gigs onto an external HD.
Very painful. I highly recommend against[/b[ doing it over USB 1.1.... unless you have a LOT of time on your hands.
-) are there any highly recommended or highly un-recommended chipsets/brands/models?
Not that I am aware of, but the standard buying guidlines apply... make sure it is of decent quality, has a warranty, etc.
-) Does a DC power feed really increase the HD's life?
The power supply in your computer is DC, so no big difference there. The computer's power supply will have better voltage regulation and correction than a wall wart anyway.