Jump to content


looking for new KDE distro...


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 07:30 PM

Hi All just like the top PROMOTION in Scots newsletter--->>>

http://www.lifepixel.com/?gclid=CPDfvMXij68CFWgbQgodbSo61Q

That Has also been the UNUSUAL turn in My Photography SO has or is a NEW KDE Distro destined for the AMD -

For some reason Chakra comes to mind as PCLinuxOS 2012 is giving palpitations - BEST left unexplained

Any ideas before the Downloading frenzy starts  blushing.gif blushing.gif blushing.gif blushing.gif hysterical.gif   WOULD lobve some NEW ideas

Cheers for years
Colin

Edited by kamicota, 30 March 2012 - 07:32 PM.

Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#2 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 17,150 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 07:55 PM

Here's a list of distributions that ship with a native installation of KDE:

http://www.kde.org/download/distributions.php
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#3 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 08:00 PM

OOPS!!! Eric

On a quick LOOK Chakra is NOT an installable LIVE CD  w00t.gif

So will take a better look trying to consider - EASE of installation (Pclos style etc) - and synaptic like updater

AND THANK you SO much thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif    

Cheers for years
Colin

Edited by kamicota, 30 March 2012 - 08:04 PM.

Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#4 OFFLINE   burninbush

burninbush

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,208 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 04:04 AM


@ Kamicota ... I wonder if you have considered Porteus -1.2 rev?  I have been very happy with the 64-bit version here.  It's about a 300mb live cd, normally uses a recent version of kde4, but also has LXDE and (I think) Xfce and a couple more gui's.  Once running, it's essentially slack-64-13.37.  

Installing it is just a matter of copying two subdirs off the cd into a formatted partition, and then editing your grub [or other] boot config file.  Believe the cd includes a menu item to make an install grub bootable if needed.  Adding modules to it is just a matter of downloading them into a subdirectory, and then a reboot will make them permanent -- unless you want to uninstall, in which case you just delete the one module file and it's gone.


#5 OFFLINE   abarbarian

abarbarian

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,043 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:56 AM

Porteus +1  thumbsup.gif






Install ARCH
You'll never need to install it again
"I did and I'm really happy"

Posted Image~~~~~~~~~~~~~Posted Image

#6 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:41 PM

BB & AB

BB
Am so used with PCLinux type of install have never modified grub or anything else and that leaves me a little wary of venturing into Porteus

AB
See you also have front and center "ARCH" and never did get the hang of installing it  blushing.gif blushing.gif blushing.gif  

Cheers for Years
Colin

Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#7 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,195 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 07:19 PM

Mint KDE Edition has KDE 4.7.4. Mepis is also good but ships with the older KDE 4.5. KDE is better since 4.6, but Mepis is very stable and friendly.
Also Siduction may be worth a look.
These all have live installable CD/DVDs.
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image  Posted ImageLinuxBBQ
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#8 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 01 April 2012 - 01:04 PM

Thank you Roger

Looks like we will NEED to give Siduction the once over too

Cheers for years
Colin thumbsup.gif
Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#9 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:01 PM

Well

It looks as if Win 7 solved the problem for me --->>>

Got a virus that would not let me connect to the internet at all and could not remove it.

So it was bybyes Linux & Wn 7

After Win 7 set up - Looked through all the Linux recent Distros that had been download and got a NUDGE ti install - PCLinuxOS LXDE and right now am so happy with it .

So for now we can get back to Color IR Photgraphy , Painting Abstracts and see where they lead

Just as a sideline found that Linux RAW programs worked better than Photoshop raw (it made all my raw images purple.)

So reverted to jpeg on the Canon G6 but will obviously explore raw again
Cheers for Years
Colin


Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   crp

crp

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,389 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:38 PM

So you are using LXDE instead of KDE ?

Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience. ~C. S. Lewis

#11 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:09 PM

blushing.gif blushing.gif blushing.gif   yep CRP

Cheers for Years
Colin
Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image

#12 OFFLINE   abarbarian

abarbarian

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,043 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 09:40 AM

QUOTE (kamicota @ Mar 31 2012, 06:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
AB
See you also have front and center "ARCH" and never did get the hang of installing it


Bit puzzle here.

Arch installed ok both times I tried and dual booted with Windows 7 on the first try.I am not dual booting from grub this time as Windows 7 is in a RAID 0 array and I have not got around to trying dual boot with this configuration yet.
Had some problems with E17 and add on audio card but mostly smooth running.

cool.gif
Install ARCH
You'll never need to install it again
"I did and I'm really happy"

Posted Image~~~~~~~~~~~~~Posted Image

#13 OFFLINE   kamicota

kamicota

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 8,358 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 10:18 AM

OOOPPPSSS!!  blushing.gif AB

Guess I was not too clear eh??? -

Just meant I never did get Arch installed - the twice I tried.

Cheers for years
Colin
Registered Linux User: # 440412
Kamicotas Homepage
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users