Jump to content


Bad Magic Nnumber in superblock error


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   amenditman

amenditman

    Posting Prodigy

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,425 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 10:32 PM

SOLVED See post #3 below.

I rebooted my computer tonight after running PartedMagic and using Clonezilla to make an image of my data partition located at sdb5.
It gave me the above errors at the file system check and mount step for sdb8, which is my /tmp partition.

I followed the recommended action on screen with no success.  
CODE
e2fsck -b 8193 /dev/sdb8
Looked up the block size differences in the
CODE
man e2fsck
and tried the size for 4k blocks, also no help.

Any suggestions what to try next?

Edited by amenditman, 13 March 2012 - 11:20 PM.

Tweak it 'til it breaks, then learn how to fix it.  L.I.F.E. (Linux Is For Everyone)

Registered Linux User # 474004 (06/16/2008)


REGLUE

Recycled Electronics and Gnu/Linux Used for Education

Reglue, in a nutshell, gives free Linux computers to under privileged children and their families.


#2 OFFLINE   amenditman

amenditman

    Posting Prodigy

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,425 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:13 PM

I compared the result of
CODE
fdisk -lu
to the /etc/fstab file.

output

fdisk      mount point      fstab
sdb5          /mnt/DATA     sdb6
sdb6         /var              sdb7
sdb7         /tmp             sdb8
sdb8         swap            sdb9


Can it be as easy as editing the /etc/fstab so that it finds the file types it expects when it checks the filesystems?

Tweak it 'til it breaks, then learn how to fix it.  L.I.F.E. (Linux Is For Everyone)

Registered Linux User # 474004 (06/16/2008)


REGLUE

Recycled Electronics and Gnu/Linux Used for Education

Reglue, in a nutshell, gives free Linux computers to under privileged children and their families.


#3 OFFLINE   amenditman

amenditman

    Posting Prodigy

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,425 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 11:19 PM

Apparently it is just that easy.

I edited my /etc/fstab file to reflect the values from the fdisk -lu output, and bam, it boots without errors.

SOLVED

Edited by amenditman, 13 March 2012 - 11:20 PM.

Tweak it 'til it breaks, then learn how to fix it.  L.I.F.E. (Linux Is For Everyone)

Registered Linux User # 474004 (06/16/2008)


REGLUE

Recycled Electronics and Gnu/Linux Used for Education

Reglue, in a nutshell, gives free Linux computers to under privileged children and their families.


#4 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,389 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 02:54 AM

Glad we could help!  wink.gif  laugh.gif
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image MX-14
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#5 OFFLINE   amenditman

amenditman

    Posting Prodigy

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,425 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 07:40 AM

Thanks!!! hysterical.gif

Tweak it 'til it breaks, then learn how to fix it.  L.I.F.E. (Linux Is For Everyone)

Registered Linux User # 474004 (06/16/2008)


REGLUE

Recycled Electronics and Gnu/Linux Used for Education

Reglue, in a nutshell, gives free Linux computers to under privileged children and their families.


#6 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,389 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:41 AM

Actually I don't really understand the problem or solution. Could you please elucidate in case someone else runs into this?
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image MX-14
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#7 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 15,499 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:34 AM

Great job Amenditman thumbsup.gif
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/Archlinux G+/Configs/PGP Key π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#8 OFFLINE   burninbush

burninbush

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,220 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 12:16 PM

QUOTE (amenditman @ Mar 13 2012, 08:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Apparently it is just that easy.

I edited my /etc/fstab file to reflect the values from the fdisk -lu output, and bam, it boots without errors.

SOLVED


Ahhh ... I'm completely lost on the issue in this thread.  As it appears, your mount points in /etc/fstab were wrong?  Or got edited by Clonezilla?  It must have been running OK before???  

And you use separate partitions for /tmp and /var?  Your choice, or done by an install program, or ???

I have seen complaints like that on my own machines, but always due to my own editing errors when I go to add stuff to fstab.  



#9 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum MVP
  • 18,608 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 12:56 PM

Did I miss something here? wink.gif

Posted Image


#10 OFFLINE   amenditman

amenditman

    Posting Prodigy

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,425 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 03:46 PM

QUOTE (sunrat @ Mar 14 2012, 07:41 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Actually I don't really understand the problem or solution. Could you please elucidate in case someone else runs into this?

I had run Parted Magic LiveUSB. I did this to clean up some old unused partitions with GParted and grow the existing /mnt/DATA and /var into the freed up space. These were all logical partitions. Then I removed some /etc/fstab entries for a HDD which was failing and I had decided to remove and not replace (It was just a Windows XP install for school work and a large partition with movie files which I never watch).

Then I decided that I should create images of my new set up. No, I did not reboot at this point, so the problem did not raise it's ugly self.

After running Clonezilla twice, once for an image of my SSD (/, /boot, /home) and once for the HDD (swap, /var, /tmp, /mnt/DATA) I rebooted the machine and had the problem appear.

This error happens after the Grub splash screen when the filesystems are being checked and mounted, before the login screen.

It says, Bad magic number detected in the super-block /dev/sdb8. And a bunch of stuff about is it a swap or ext filesystem. Proposed fix on screen is to run
CODE
e2fsck -b 8130 /dve/sdb8
to fix it. Then it tells you to enter the root password to perform maintanence or CNTL+D to continue (which fails and reboots to same error).

I entered root password, ran the proposed solution and received the same error message as it's output. Read the man page for e2fsck and found that if your filesystem uses different block sizes you need to replace the 8130 (which is for 1k block) with another number which is provided in the man page. I tried that and had the same output. I then ran fdisk -lu to see if there was anything really obvious missing. I had just re-arranged a bunch of partitions on that disk and removed another completely. Nothing jumped out at me right then.

After that I Googled a bit and got a bunch of really complex, technical fixes... none sounded as if they would actually fix the problem and they could cause complete loss of the filesystem. Then I posted here and in the process of typing the post I realized that /dev/sdb8 was listed in my /etc/fstab as /tmp and fdisk as swap. That got me wondering if there was an easy fix. It seemed like removing and resizing some partitions allowed them to be renumbered and fstab entries were no longer accurarte.  the OS uses /etc/fstab to check and mount the filesystems at boot.

I rebooted, entered the root password for maintanence, remounted the root filesystem read/write, and edited my /etc/fstab to reflect the values I found with
CODE
fdisk -lu
.

And viola, the machine booted with no errors.

QUOTE (securitybreach @ Mar 14 2012, 08:34 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Great job Amenditman thumbsup.gif
Thanks!


QUOTE (burninbush @ Mar 14 2012, 11:16 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Ahhh ... I'm completely lost on the issue in this thread.  As it appears, your mount points in /etc/fstab were wrong?  Or got edited by Clonezilla?  It must have been running OK before???  

And you use separate partitions for /tmp and /var?  Your choice, or done by an install program, or ???

I have seen complaints like that on my own machines, but always due to my own editing errors when I go to add stuff to fstab.
It was running fine before I began this weekend project.

I use separate partitions for /var and /tmp by my own choice.


QUOTE (V.T. Eric Layton @ Mar 14 2012, 11:56 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Did I miss something here? wink.gif
Nope, you can go back to sleep. hysterical.gif

Tweak it 'til it breaks, then learn how to fix it.  L.I.F.E. (Linux Is For Everyone)

Registered Linux User # 474004 (06/16/2008)


REGLUE

Recycled Electronics and Gnu/Linux Used for Education

Reglue, in a nutshell, gives free Linux computers to under privileged children and their families.


#11 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,389 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:02 PM

Thanks, that makes sense.
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image MX-14
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#12 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum MVP
  • 18,608 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:21 PM

QUOTE (amenditman @ Mar 14 2012, 03:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Nope, you can go back to sleep. hysterical.gif


Oh, good.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users