Jump to content


Grub in Mandriva 2009


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 07:15 PM

I decided to reformat my linux box and I installed Mandriva 2009 first - as I usually do. I then installed PcLOS, my second favourite distro. However, when I went to put PcLOS in my Mandriva grub menu everything went pear-shaped. Firstly, I'm not allowed to access the grub menu in root. I get"kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/klauncherklauncher(8943) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!"I type in " su, then password. Then "kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst"It's been a while since I did all this so I'm hoping I got it right.Any ideas where I'm going wrong, anyone?
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#2 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 08:07 PM

View Postozgeek, on Jan 24 2009, 05:15 PM, said:

I decided to reformat my linux box and I installed Mandriva 2009 first - as I usually do. I then installed PcLOS, my second favourite distro. However, when I went to put PcLOS in my Mandriva grub menu everything went pear-shaped. Firstly, I'm not allowed to access the grub menu in root. I get"kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/klauncherklauncher(8943) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!"I type in " su, then password. Then "kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst"It's been a while since I did all this so I'm hoping I got it right.Any ideas where I'm going wrong, anyone?
Try "su root"

#3 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 08:28 PM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 25 2009, 10:37 AM, said:

Try "su root"
No luck, Lewmur. Got same error message.
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#4 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 17,137 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 08:37 PM

Launching graphic applications as Root can be a bit dangerous, as you probably know, Jan. Are you familiar with VIM, the command line editor? If not, does Mandriva use "sudo". I don't remember. Try Kedit and see if it will load as Root.
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#5 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 09:58 PM

View Postozgeek, on Jan 24 2009, 06:28 PM, said:

No luck, Lewmur. Got same error message.
You installed Mandy first and it installed grub.  OK, so far?  Then you installed PCLos.  What bootloader did it install and where did it install it?Apparently you can still boot Mandy and type "su root" and then "kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst"  That should open the menu.lst file in kwrite to allow you to edit the file, but without knowing what bootloader you used for PCLos, I have no way of knowing how you need to modify that file in order to get PCLos to boot.

Edited by lewmur, 24 January 2009 - 10:03 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 01:14 AM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 25 2009, 12:28 PM, said:

You installed Mandy first and it installed grub.  OK, so far?  Then you installed PCLos.  What bootloader did it install and where did it install it?Apparently you can still boot Mandy and type "su root" and then "kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst"  That should open the menu.lst file in kwrite to allow you to edit the file, but without knowing what bootloader you used for PCLos, I have no way of knowing how you need to modify that file in order to get PCLos to boot.
Lewmur, I installed PcLOS on hd0,5. The boot entry would have been "root (hd0,4)" I can't access the menu in kwrite because I get the error message"kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/klauncherklauncher(8943) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!"I've gone through this process many times and it's the first time I've had a problem. I'm also getting some other weird messages in Mandy and am suspecting that one of my recent upgrades may be responsible'.
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#7 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 02:37 AM

View Postozgeek, on Jan 24 2009, 11:14 PM, said:

Lewmur, I installed PcLOS on hd0,5. The boot entry would have been "root (hd0,4)" I can't access the menu in kwrite because I get the error message"kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/klauncherklauncher(8943) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!"I've gone through this process many times and it's the first time I've had a problem. I'm also getting some other weird messages in Mandy and am suspecting that one of my recent upgrades may be responsible'.
By that do you mean that you can't launch kwrite at all?  If so something is wrong with the Mandy install.  Have you tried another editor?  You should have several.And you didn't really answer the question about the bootloader for PCLos.  I didn't ask where the distro was installed but rather where, and which, bootloader you had it install.  Some distros give you a choice of either Lilo or Grub while some will only allow one or the other.  And they all give you choice as where to install them.  MRB, or the boot sector of a partition of your choice.

Edited by lewmur, 25 January 2009 - 02:40 AM.


#8 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 03:15 AM

Hi JanCould you please try:
$ su -< password># kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst
So, that is "su space dash" on the first line and the last line may spit out a lot of lines first but kwrite should pop up after that.There is a funny *bug* in MDV 2009 that makes that you can not use "su" or "kdesu" if you want to start a GUI program as root . . . you'll need to use "su -" ( see errata Here )B) Bruno

#9 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 02:39 PM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 25 2009, 05:07 PM, said:

By that do you mean that you can't launch kwrite at all?  If so something is wrong with the Mandy install.  Have you tried another editor?  You should have several.And you didn't really answer the question about the bootloader for PCLos.  I didn't ask where the distro was installed but rather where, and which, bootloader you had it install.  Some distros give you a choice of either Lilo or Grub while some will only allow one or the other.  And they all give you choice as where to install them.  MRB, or the boot sector of a partition of your choice.
Sorry, Lewmur, I thought the title of the topic indicated which bootloader I had used. The grub bootloader was installed in the root partition.
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#10 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 02:43 PM

View PostBruno, on Jan 25 2009, 05:45 PM, said:

Hi JanCould you please try:
$ su -< password># kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst
So, that is "su space dash" on the first line and the last line may spit out a lot of lines first but kwrite should pop up after that.There is a funny *bug* in MDV 2009 that makes that you can not use "su" or "kdesu" if you want to start a GUI program as root . . . you'll need to use "su -" ( see errata Here ):thumbsup: Bruno
As usual, Bruno, you've hit the nail on the head. This bug was the problem. I successfully put PcLOS in my Mandriva grub entry. Yeah !!!! Many thanks.  B)  B)
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#11 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 03:16 PM

View Postozgeek, on Jan 25 2009, 07:43 PM, said:

As usual, Bruno, you've hit the nail on the head. This bug was the problem. I successfully put PcLOS in my Mandriva grub entry. Yeah !!!! Many thanks.  B)  :thumbsup:
You're welcome ! Glad you were able to add PCLos to the MDV grub.  B) :thumbsup: Bruno

#12 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 05:20 PM

View PostBruno, on Jan 25 2009, 01:15 AM, said:

Hi JanCould you please try:
$ su -< password># kwrite /boot/grub/menu.lst
So, that is "su space dash" on the first line and the last line may spit out a lot of lines first but kwrite should pop up after that.There is a funny *bug* in MDV 2009 that makes that you can not use "su" or "kdesu" if you want to start a GUI program as root . . . you'll need to use "su -" ( see errata Here )B) Bruno
I don't have Mandy installed anymore but does this mean "su root" no longer works?

#13 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 05:44 PM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 25 2009, 10:20 PM, said:

I don't have Mandy installed anymore but does this mean "su root" no longer works?
You can do "su",  "su -" and "su - root" the second and last one are basically the same. ( Do any of them and after that do "ls" and you will see that only the first one will give the content of the /home/user directory . . . the other 2 show the content of the  /root directory )B) Bruno

#14 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 6,303 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 08:33 PM

Bruno, I'm always impressed with your expertise! You must spend all your spare time reading the bug reports because you know exactly what the bug is and the workaround! Posted Image
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#15 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 10:59 PM

View PostBruno, on Jan 25 2009, 03:44 PM, said:

You can do "su",  "su -" and "su - root" the second and last one are basically the same. ( Do any of them and after that do "ls" and you will see that only the first one will give the content of the /home/user directory . . . the other 2 show the content of the  /root directory )B) Bruno
So, if he had done as I first suggested and typed "su root" instead of just "su," then kwrite should have worked?

Edited by lewmur, 25 January 2009 - 10:59 PM.


#16 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 26 January 2009 - 03:11 AM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 26 2009, 03:59 AM, said:

So, if he had done as I first suggested and typed "su root" instead of just "su," then kwrite should have worked?
Yep it indeed should have worked. ;)B) Bruno

#17 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 26 January 2009 - 04:55 AM

View Postlewmur, on Jan 26 2009, 01:29 PM, said:

So, if he had done as I first suggested and typed "su root" instead of just "su," then kwrite should have worked?
Lewmur, if the "he" you mention is me then I should point out that I'm a female. Secondly kwrite only worked when I put  su -   I tried your suggestion and it didn't work - as I told you.
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin

#18 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,501 posts

Posted 26 January 2009 - 09:06 AM

:thumbsup: it can happen lew... :thumbsup:
striker

#19 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,162 posts

Posted 26 January 2009 - 10:12 AM

View Postozgeek, on Jan 26 2009, 02:55 AM, said:

Lewmur, if the "he" you mention is me then I should point out that I'm a female. Secondly kwrite only worked when I put  su -   I tried your suggestion and it didn't work - as I told you.
My apologies.  No offense intended and I wasn't doubting you.  I just wanted to clarify things with Bruno to make sure I wasn't handing out bad advice.  As you can see from his reply, "su root" should have solved the problem.

View Poststriker, on Jan 26 2009, 07:06 AM, said:

:thumbsup: it can happen lew... B)
I know.  I made the same mistake in reverse in addressing Peachy.  :thumbsup:

#20 OFFLINE   ozgeek

ozgeek

    The Ancient One

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 1,094 posts

Posted 26 January 2009 - 01:11 PM

No offense taken, Lewmur. I'll be glad when the new Mandy is released. I've found this one to be a bit of a pain in several respects.
Jan
Registered Linux User 214396
An Aussie Penguin




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users