installing arch

cybormoron

ok, i'm in the deep water, let's see if i can swim. don't throw me any life preservers till i plead for mercy, ok guys? :thumbsup: i made it this far. this is rc.conf in nano. wish me luck. i think i can figure out the correct entries.40a7c168433441.gif

securitybreach

Sounds good Steve. :thumbsup: I work for a few hours this afternoon but other than that I am completely free today and tomorrow if you should require assistance.

thanks sb. i'm in no hurry or anything i'm just gonna take it slow and study a little bit at a time. it's definitely time i ventured into some deeper water and this looks plenty deep, lol.i am following the arch wiki but there are a lot of little prerequisites i need to catch up on. for example; i've never used nano before. so when i had the rc.conf file open i sat and looked at it for a half hour before i realized i was supposed to enter some info. duh, it's like that for me but i'll quickly get up to speed.i don't think i got the rc.conf file edited correctly but i think i can fix that later. (dhcp error) right now i'm reading the man page for pacman. then i'll check out nano. then i'll go back and figure out what i did wrong with system configuration. (rc.conf) i skipped some info in that i think.i don't know if the internet works. if the internet doesn't work then pacman won't work, correct? so i guess i need to get the correct network values in rc.conf? i'm doing this in virtualbox. is ping the correct test tool? i tried

[root@Tanagra ~]# ping google.comping: unknown host google.com[root@Tanagra ~]#

after that what are some of the first things one should do? i reckon i need to:1. configure repos2. install a GUI3. create a user4. have funhere's a shot of the system booting.97c1d868576299.gifEDIT...ok, i have networking. woohoo. i added a couple of DNS nameservers into resolv.conf. these are the opendns servers.

nameserver 208.67.222.222nameserver 208.67.220.220