Mail Order Heaven or Hell?

nlinecomputers

nlinecomputers

The topic says it all. Post your great places that you would recommend buying from and the places you think you should avoid.My pick for a great vendor if your in Texas is Directron.com.I get many parts from them and I let them custom build most of my PCs for me. Great links and reviews all over the site.

For those in Toronto or the Greater Toronto Area, I recommend GreyTech. They have everything that the power user wants in terms of quality hardware and they are very helpful.

Locally I buy from MicroX-Press.com, but I pick up all my orders from them myself. So I have no knowledge of their shipping policies. They see my face so much I can usually get 5-10 percent knocked off my price on a lot of items, especially when I have a big order. Locally they are one of the few choices....that are not a total rip off.I also like newegg.com. Have never had an issue with them. You can get good deals at buy.com sometimes, never had any issues with them either. I also keep my eye on pricewatch.com Most of the vendors there seem to be reputable, but if I have never dealt with them before I always call and talk business for a while first. If you come across as a consumer when talking to vendors, you will get no deals. They know a consumer is more than likely a one time sale. You need to approach it as a business to business situation. Then they want to deal with you. Another business could mean long term revenue to them. So they treat you different, but if I get a funny feeling at all I just walk away....it is actually pretty easy to get shady people to expose themselves. That is why I always call and talk to them first.

I've had great luck with crucial.com for memory (of course) & circuitcity.com (great rebates, fast shipping & free shipping some of the time). B)