Jump to content


Upgrading my Computer


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 11 November 2018 - 08:29 PM

Has any of the forum members built a computer using a AMD AM4 Ryzen cpu? Was wondering about compatibility. I do know that some of the motherboards have stability problems with linux and the Ryzen cpu. I am planning on using a Ryzen am4 2000G and a Asus B450 Pro 4 Motherboard with patriot dd4 3000 Mhz memory. Any comments, suggestions welcome and appreciated. My only worrys are compatibility with Linux. I run linux Mint 19 as my primary OS.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#2 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 11 November 2018 - 08:30 PM

I just did a couple of weeks ago:

Ryzen 7 build
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#3 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,714 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 12:21 AM

There have been a few threads at MX and Debian forums. You will need a very recent kernel and possibly some firmware and graphics updates. Mostly people have it working fine.
https://forum.mxlinu...?keywords=Ryzen
registered Linux user number 324659  ||    The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#4 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 06:01 AM

View Postsunrat, on 12 November 2018 - 12:21 AM, said:

There have been a few threads at MX and Debian forums. You will need a very recent kernel and possibly some firmware and graphics updates. Mostly people have it working fine.
https://forum.mxlinu...?keywords=Ryzen

I didn't need to load any firmware and I am using the latest stock kernel. The only thing that I had to do was install the hardware, no software changes were required at all.
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#5 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 08:55 AM

When the Raven Ridge APUs came out some of the older AM4 motherboards needed a BIOS upgrade to run them - but I think by now you should be OK. This issue was as much a problem with Windows as it was with Linux.
I have thought about building something with a 2400G APU but right now my old A8 5600K runs Linux Mint 19 very well (I'm not gaming with it.) The graphics on a Trinity APU are pretty old now so I replaced them with a discrete R7 360 card a while ago.
I'm not sure the increased performance is worth the money just yet. I'll be interested in your observations though.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#6 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 09:15 AM

I am pretty happy with my build although I do not see a huge difference as my old system was an i7 4790 with 32gb ddr3.
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#7 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 12:54 PM

Well the Motherboards that I have under consideration won't need a Uefi Firmware update. as they all support the 3rd generation 2200G Ryzen with the B450 amd chipset. The 2200G cpu has Versa Graphics so no need for a video card. I don't so gaming. Some of the Raven ridge cpu's do not have Vesa graphics and you need a Video Card with them. Still trying to make up my mind before ordering today for the sale. At my age This will be my last computer build. My old computer is 11 to 13 years old. I built it in 2009 or 2010 so it is showing its age and getting cranky. Due for a upgrade or replacement. I don't do Gaming so don't need a lot of power.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#8 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 12 November 2018 - 04:04 PM

As far as I can see all the Raven Ridge chips are APUs so they would have Vega graphics integrated as part of the deal. I thought you had one of the last gen Excavator APUs in your main driver.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#9 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 14 November 2018 - 08:07 PM

View Postraymac46, on 12 November 2018 - 08:55 AM, said:

When the Raven Ridge APUs came out some of the older AM4 motherboards needed a BIOS upgrade to run them - but I think by now you should be OK. This issue was as much a problem with Windows as it was with Linux.
I have thought about building something with a 2400G APU but right now my old A8 5600K runs Linux Mint 19 very well (I'm not gaming with it.) The graphics on a Trinity APU are pretty old now so I replaced them with a discrete R7 360 card a while ago.
I'm not sure the increased performance is worth the money just yet. I'll be interested in your observations though.
This is what I ordered for my New Build. Not using any of my old parts except a couple of the SSD Disks. I will keep the forum posted as I put it together. Most of the parts should be here tomorrow. I have installed the ukuu kernel util app and updated to the 4.18 kernel I will do that with the new setup if problems arise with the Mint 4.15 kernel which is installed by default updated to 4.15.39.
Mel

Proposed new build


ASUS PRIME B450M-A/CSM AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard.

AMD RYZEN 3 2200G Quad-Core 3.5 GHz (3.7 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 65W YD2200C5FBBOX Desktop Processor.

EVGA 500 BR 100-BR-0500-K1 500W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI CrossFire 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Non-Modular Active PFC Power Supply.

Patriot Viper 4 8GB (2 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000) Extreme Performance Memory, Black Sides / Red Top Model PV48G300C6K.

Thermaltake Versa H22 SPCC ATX Mid Tower Computer Chassis CA-1B3-00M1NN-00.


Asus 24x DVD-RW Serial-ATA Internal OEM Optical Drive DRW-24B1ST Black.


Rosewill 120mm Case Fan Long Life Sleeve Bearing Computer Case Fan ROCF-13001, Ultra Quiet Computer Cooling Fan 4 Pack 120 mm Standard Case Fan.



OS’s Linux Mint 19 V2, Siduction 3.0, Win 10. (Mint is my primary OS).
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#10 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 14 November 2018 - 08:53 PM

Very nice :thumbsup:


I would of went for more ram but that is a solid build and should suit you just fine.

What is "ukuu kernel util">>>????
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#11 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 14 November 2018 - 09:54 PM

View Postsecuritybreach, on 14 November 2018 - 08:53 PM, said:

Very nice :thumbsup:


I would of went for more ram but that is a solid build and should suit you just fine.

What is "ukuu kernel util">>>????
I have 4 ram slots so can add more later.  8 GB will do me for now and I will add another 8 GB later.
UkUU
Changing Kernels Using Ukuu (which stands for ‘Ubuntu Kernel Update Utility’) is one way to do it. This straightforward desktop app help you install a new kernel in Ubuntu, Linux Mint, and other Ubuntu-based distributions, using the mainline kernels on the Ubuntu Wiki.
Ukuu

The main “use” for mainline kernels is for testing purposes, i.e. to see if a new kernel fixes a specific hardware or filesystem problem you experience on the repo version.

Ukuu simplifies the process of finding, installing and removing these kernels for use on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS and above.

Ukuu is able to:
  • Display a list of kernels from kernel.ubuntu.com
  • Check for new kernel updates (configurable)
  • Show notifications as new kernels are released
  • Set time for GRUB menu to show during boot
  • I am running 4.18.0 right now with mint and it is working fine. should help with Ryzen 3 2200G and vesa graphics.
  • Mel

Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#12 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 14 November 2018 - 10:15 PM

Yeah, I am not used to that as I just run pacman -Syu and I have the latest kernel from kernel.org.
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#13 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 15 November 2018 - 09:58 AM

According to Phoronix the 2200G is now pretty stable with Linux. The original Vega graphics were sorta buggy but you should be happy now.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#14 OFFLINE   Hedon James

Hedon James

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts

Posted 15 November 2018 - 10:25 AM

My daughter and I built a desktop machine for graphics design/video editing, etc... for her college classes.  While intel CPUs are generally recommended for those applications (Adobe Creative Commons, etc...), the Ryzen is nearly on par and sometimes exceeds the intel CPU today, with the ability for future tweaks/unlocks in the future.  We wanted to put a Ryzen 7 in there, but the incremental price for the incremental performance made the Ryzen 5 a better deal.  The Ryzen 5 performance is very similar to my Intel i7 core.  Plus she can upgrade in the future when/if necessary...I believe the Ryzen 9 is out now?!

Long story short...we put a Ryzen 5 2600 in her build, and she has been very pleased!  Wants to know if we can build a laptop to match it, haha?!  I think you'll be very pleased with the Ryzen cpu mhbell!

#15 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 15 November 2018 - 10:42 AM

I've used AMD chips for Linux for a decade, and in spite of all the slagging that went on with Bulldozer based hardware, I have found the CPU part of them solid and responsive. I have had no overheating and the basic cooling solution has been fine.
GPU support was a big problem early on. AMD never supported their proprietary graphics for long, so you were back to the Open Source drivers. I even had trouble with those, with a graphics solution that was supposedly "new" but was actually a reboot of older technology.
Now with Steam coming into Linux, it is more essential for AMD to get its Linux act together and I believe they are making progress. They are also primarily Open Source when it comes to driver technology - another good thing.
I still don't trust them on the latest and greatest technology for Linux. I would wait a bit (as Mel has) before implementing a Ryzen APU and I think what Josh has done using a Ryzen CPU and an older Nvidia graphics card is another good solution.
Right now my old PIledriver based tech runs fine so I don't want to poke the bear. If I have a hardware breakdown that is another matter.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#16 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 15 November 2018 - 10:55 PM

Success!
I got all of my parts today and put the new computer together. What a surprise. my ssd disk booted right up to Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon without making any changes. I was really surprised. I thought I would have to go through a reinstall and a bunch of changes. So far it is very stable with the firmware default settings. I notice that it is faster than my old machine and graphics are sharper. I will burn it in for a couple of days before I  Change any of the ram setting. The ram is running at 2133 right now and my ram is 3000 so I could probably step the ram up a bit and see how it goes. Will see if my other linux and Os's work without a reinstall. Will have to go through MS rig a ma roll to transfer my win 10 before I try running it. Will keep the forum posted on how it goes and will do some bench marks in a couple of days.
Mel
:clap:
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#17 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 05:44 AM

View Postmhbell, on 15 November 2018 - 10:55 PM, said:

Success!
I got all of my parts today and put the new computer together. What a surprise. my ssd disk booted right up to Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon without making any changes. I was really surprised. I thought I would have to go through a reinstall and a bunch of changes.

That hasn't been the case for a few years now. You can switch from intel to amd without any problems. The kernel is very versatile
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#18 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 08:35 AM

Glad everything worked out.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#19 OFFLINE   Hedon James

Hedon James

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 08:43 AM

View Postmhbell, on 15 November 2018 - 10:55 PM, said:

Success!
I got all of my parts today and put the new computer together. What a surprise. my ssd disk booted right up to Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon without making any changes. I was really surprised. I thought I would have to go through a reinstall and a bunch of changes. So far it is very stable with the firmware default settings. I notice that it is faster than my old machine and graphics are sharper. I will burn it in for a couple of days before I  Change any of the ram setting. The ram is running at 2133 right now and my ram is 3000 so I could probably step the ram up a bit and see how it goes. Will see if my other linux and Os's work without a reinstall. Will have to go through MS rig a ma roll to transfer my win 10 before I try running it. Will keep the forum posted on how it goes and will do some bench marks in a couple of days.
Mel
:clap:

Uh oh...THIS could be a problem.  If your Win10 is an OEM version, you're probably going to run into issues and in all likelihood won't be able to bring Win10 to your new machine.  Win10 somehow catalogs the hardware it's on and you must go through a re-activation process to tell MS which hardware has changed (SDD, RAM, GPU, etc...).  Win10 verifies the change, runs it through their supreme algorithm and approves or denies the re-activation.  Your new motherboard is likely to "fail" the re-activation process.  MS somehow ties their activation to a "fingerprint" on the motherboard hardware...I'm guessing with UEFI.  If your motherboard has changed, MS assumes its a new computer...end of story...and you must purchase an auth code to re-activate.  Unless you bought a RETAIL version of Win10 and installed on your old machine yourself?  In which case, Win10 can be moved to another machine, ad nauseum, with no issues.  I sincerely hope it's the latter and wish you good luck!

#20 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,876 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 09:44 AM

Quote

If your Win10 is an OEM version, you're probably going to run into issues and in all likelihood won't be able to bring Win10 to your new machine.
Another reason why the only machines I built or had custom built were for Linux. I am hoping my old Sandy Bridge i5 keeps running for a while with Windows 10 Pro (upgraded from Win 7 Pro.) If it crashes, I think I'll probably get a new prebuilt gaming rig for Windows.
I was able to migrate Windows 10 from an HDD to an SSD but that is within the permissible activity.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#21 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 09:53 AM

View PostHedon James, on 16 November 2018 - 08:43 AM, said:


Uh oh...THIS could be a problem.  If your Win10 is an OEM version, you're probably going to run into issues and in all likelihood won't be able to bring Win10 to your new machine.  Win10 somehow catalogs the hardware it's on and you must go through a re-activation process to tell MS which hardware has changed (SDD, RAM, GPU, etc...).  Win10 verifies the change, runs it through their supreme algorithm and approves or denies the re-activation.  Your new motherboard is likely to "fail" the re-activation process.  MS somehow ties their activation to a "fingerprint" on the motherboard hardware...I'm guessing with UEFI.  If your motherboard has changed, MS assumes its a new computer...end of story...and you must purchase an auth code to re-activate.  Unless you bought a RETAIL version of Win10 and installed on your old machine yourself?  In which case, Win10 can be moved to another machine, ad nauseum, with no issues.  I sincerely hope it's the latter and wish you good luck!
I got the retail win 10 version for just that reason.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#22 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,238 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 10:20 AM

View Postraymac46, on 16 November 2018 - 09:44 AM, said:

Quote

If your Win10 is an OEM version, you're probably going to run into issues and in all likelihood won't be able to bring Win10 to your new machine.
Another reason why the only machines I built or had custom built were for Linux. I am hoping my old Sandy Bridge i5 keeps running for a while with Windows 10 Pro (upgraded from Win 7 Pro.) If it crashes, I think I'll probably get a new prebuilt gaming rig for Windows.
I was able to migrate Windows 10 from an HDD to an SSD but that is within the permissible activity.
I have the retail version of win 10 so no problem there. The only reason I have win 10 is because I need it to update the maps in my Garmin GPS amd a few other things. I don't do games so that is not a consideration for me. I've been building computers and networks for over 20 years so am aware of Microsofts policies.
Mel
.
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#23 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 24,029 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 11:52 AM

BTW, you can always just download the Developer Preview from microsoft.com and activate Win10 with a Windows 7 key. ;)
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#24 OFFLINE   Hedon James

Hedon James

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 03:08 PM

View Postmhbell, on 16 November 2018 - 09:53 AM, said:

View PostHedon James, on 16 November 2018 - 08:43 AM, said:

Uh oh...THIS could be a problem.  If your Win10 is an OEM version, you're probably going to run into issues and in all likelihood won't be able to bring Win10 to your new machine.  Win10 somehow catalogs the hardware it's on and you must go through a re-activation process to tell MS which hardware has changed (SDD, RAM, GPU, etc...).  Win10 verifies the change, runs it through their supreme algorithm and approves or denies the re-activation.  Your new motherboard is likely to "fail" the re-activation process.  MS somehow ties their activation to a "fingerprint" on the motherboard hardware...I'm guessing with UEFI.  If your motherboard has changed, MS assumes its a new computer...end of story...and you must purchase an auth code to re-activate.  Unless you bought a RETAIL version of Win10 and installed on your old machine yourself?  In which case, Win10 can be moved to another machine, ad nauseum, with no issues.  I sincerely hope it's the latter and wish you good luck!
I got the retail win 10 version for just that reason.
Mel

Good on you Mel!  I love hearing stories about folks who outsmarted the greedy tech company.  MS...Apple...Oracle...doesn't matter...I'm an equal opportunity agitant!

#25 OFFLINE   crp

crp

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,124 posts

Posted 18 November 2018 - 04:23 PM

Moving OEM version of W10 restrictions are not that hard if the original PC develops a problem.
RAM is on the high end of the price curve so waiting to fill it out seems sound to me.
"Non-Modular Active PFC Power Supply" :thumbup:
Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience. ~C. S. Lewis




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users