Mandriva 2007 HP PSC-210 Scanner problem

jimtheplanner

jimtheplanner

Festive Greetings,It's a long while since I last posted. And a good few things have changed in Linux land. I was a soild suse dude, however since the M$ deal I've been a bit concerned. Not being an expert I had always suppoted suse purchasing the retail version from 9.3 through to 10.1. My concern was mainly my reliance on this distro & where would I turn if it all hit the fan. So I dabbled with Ubuntu/Kubuntu & Fedora Core 6. However, the more I considered distro long term futures the more I thought about the which offered the best long term stability. What if Mark Shuttleworth ran out of cash? What if Oracle pushed Red Hat out of the market place, where would fedora be. Indeed what if M$ purchased Novell. The best option I considered was Mandriva 2007 Powerpack. So here I am in Mandriva land & I'm happy; I have a nice warm feeling with the way the community supports the future direction & financial long term of the distro.... Time shall tellAnyway my problem (one for Bruno) how do I configure my HP PSC-1210 so that Kooka can detect it. Thanks in advance for assistance (sorry about the long pe-amble) I had to get this off my chest B) Jimthe-almost happy-planner.......

What if I get hit when crossing the street ? What if my computer explodes ? What if I run out of coffee ? Questions, questions, questions. Don't make your life hard Jim, try to enjoy it if possible. :D Now let's see what we have here.Got hplip on board ? If not install it.Then reboot. (yes)When you login, a window will pop up and ask if you want to auto configure the printer/scanner. Say yes. It'll take about 1-2 minutes, and then use kooka (Startmenu -> Multimedia -> Graphics -> Scan and OCR program) to do the scanning. I'm assuming here that your printer/scanner isconnected via USB.In theory that should be all. B)

jimtheplanner