Jump to content


Malwarebytes 3.0 Released


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 4,085 posts

Posted 08 December 2016 - 10:38 AM

Malwarebytes Version 3.0, announced as a public beta one month ago, has officially been released.

Malwarebytes Premium subscribers will be pleased to learn that in addition to the anti-malware product, Version 3.0 of Malwarebytes also includes Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit and Malwarebytes Anti-Ransomware.  With that combination, new subscription purchases for Malwarebytes Premium will be $39.99 per computer per year, a savings of $9.91 and about 33% less than the average traditional antivirus license.

Due to the layered defense built into Malwarebytes 3.0, Malwarebytes (MBAM) Premium subscribers have the option of keeping their traditional anti-virus software program or they can uninstall it and just run MBAM.  MBAM 3.0 is compatible with all major antivirus software, including Windows Defender and Microsoft Security Essentials.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware users with a perpetual subscription are grandfathered and users of the free versions need not worry, all three programs remain available as free stand-alone versions.

A Few of the Changes and Improvements:

  • Although the new version retains the protective capabilities of  Malwarebytes Anti-Malware v.2.x along with the efficacy of the web  modules, Version 3.0 is a complete rewrite and re-architecting of the  earlier Malwarebytes Anti-Malware v.2.x.
  • You'll notice a major improvement in scan time.  A threat scan on my  Windows 10 Pro, Version 1607 with MBAM v2.x took 32 minutes, 45 seconds  to scan 358,337 objects. On Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview Build 14971,  it only took 21 minutes, 22 seconds to scan 434,652 objects.  That was  ten minutes less for almost 100,000 more objects with MBAM v3.0!
  • Updates should be applied automatically according to the setting  located on the Settings > Protection tab and should only alert you if  there is an issue.
  • The Scan Schedule can be a changed or additional scans scheduled from Scan Schedule.
  • The Reports section includes all Scan Reports and any Real-time  Detection /  Block events. IP blocks will be in the Reports area  entitled ‘Website Blocked’ report  Malware files blocked will be in the  Reports area entitled 'Malware  Blocked'.  The Protection Logs, which  merely provided a list of the application and event actions for the day  have been removed.  Thus, only Scan and Block reports are included in  the Reports section.

System Requirements:  Malwarebytes Version 3.0 is  supported on all versions from Windows XP to the latest Windows 10.   Note, however, that the  Anti-Ransomware technology is only enabled on  Windows 7 or higher.

Update:

Malwarebytes 3.0 can be installed over the top of your exist  Malwarebytes programs.  If you do not want to wait for the upgrade to be  offered, you can download and run the installer from https://www.malwarebytes.com/ (direct download link here)   Malwarebytes 3.0  will automatically remove the old Anti-Malware,  Anti-Exploit and  Anti-Ransomware and upgrade them all to Malwarebytes  3.0.  

References:

Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#2 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 4,085 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 03:49 PM

Here's a list of the Malwarebytes 3.0 - Known Issues.
Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#3 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 09:03 PM

Thanks for the post, Corrine. I  think I'm going to wait a while before trying this on mother's win7 laptop. Version 2.whatever seems to be working well for her at this point.
Registered Linux User 344759

#4 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 19 January 2017 - 04:20 PM

Anyone else noticed that MB 3.0.5 Premium is a tad unstable?
I have had multiple instances where after starting the computer I get warnings that the Malware Protection or Exploit Protection wasn't on. Then it was difficult to switch them on. Also updates weren't coming through properly. These issues may have been fixed in the last few days, but they seem to come and go.
It can't be an interaction with my other security software. I'm using ESET now , not Bitdefender,
I am glad I got the lifetime licence through SNF though. Now a one year deal is around $50 for the premium edition and you can only use it on one machine.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#5 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 19 January 2017 - 05:07 PM

Thanks for the info. Glad I held off updating mom's laptop.
Registered Linux User 344759

#6 OFFLINE   mac

mac

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 754 posts

Posted 20 January 2017 - 02:21 PM

I'm still on 2.2.1.1043. I figured I'd wait until the problems with the new version got worked out.
Mac
"Long ago, when men cursed and beat the ground with sticks,
it was called witchcraft. Today it's called golf." -- Will Rogers (1879-1935)

#7 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 27 March 2017 - 05:06 PM

Anyone have any new info on how MBAM 3 is performing? My mother is getting nags about 3 times an hour to upgrade. When I check the known issues list as of Feb (no more recent entries), there are still quite a few unresolved.
Registered Linux User 344759

#8 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 27 March 2017 - 08:05 PM

I still am not totally satisfied they have fixed the issues. I still get notices that one or more of the real time protection layers is not running. When I try to start the layer I just get a hangup. Usually restarting the computer will fix things until the next notice.
I don't think MBAM version 3 is all that stable, sad to say. Mind you I haven't had any problems with scanning or malware.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#9 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,021 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 10:18 AM

For the time being, I am sticking with version 2. I have had too many hardware problems in the past 2 weeks and I don't need one computer acting up because of a software issue!

Turn off the nags. (I had to do this on one of the 4 computers) Here are directions:
1. Open setting, then Update Settings and uncheckCheck for Program updateswhen checking for database updates.
2. Verify under Advanced Settins that Enable Self Protection is unchecked (it was this way on all four computers so I think that must be the default).
3. Open Windows Explorer and go to C:\Program Data\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
delete mbam-setup.exe if the date is from 2017.

If you can't find C:\Program Data, it is a hidden folder you must briefly change to show hidden folders. (I had to do this on my husband's laptop). This is done from Windows Explorer
https://www.sevenfor...-show-hide.html

Step 3 actually removes the setup for version 3 which has been downloaded. If you are concerned that your mother now has no MBAM exe file, I have v 2.2.1.1043 archived. As I said I had to remove the exe from only 1 computer that was getting lagged. I did this at least a week ago and there have been no nags and MBAM is updating normally and protecting that computer.

Edited by zlim, 28 March 2017 - 10:19 AM.

Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   mac

mac

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 754 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 11:52 AM

I allowed the upgrade a month or two ago. MB premium Ver 3.0.6.1469. No problems that I have experienced.
Mac
"Long ago, when men cursed and beat the ground with sticks,
it was called witchcraft. Today it's called golf." -- Will Rogers (1879-1935)

#11 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 04:44 PM

Thanks, Liz, I did realize I could turn off the nags but wasn't aware of your steps 2 and 3. I guess I'll have to do it though and remember to check her computer every couple of days to see if the definition updates are still happening. I'm a little uneasy about how long they may support v2.x and will take the chance and install v3 if necessary. Mother's had several problems (while on Facebook of course) with popups saying various bogus dire things. One was persistent enough that I had to close the browser from Task Mgr, but her ESET and MBAM scans don't show anything actually infecting the machine and I do have her on a limited user account. Makes me nervous though.
Registered Linux User 344759

#12 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 7,021 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 09:14 PM

They are supporting v 2 through sometime in June. I wasn't able to do searches earlier today because I had a business meeting/luncheon but I'll have a look and post what I can find.

Screenshots of the above 3 steps
https://forums.malwa...upgrade-to-mb3/

First post mention June and v 2 but I'll keep looking to see if I can find the date in June.
https://forums.malwa...-mbam-20-again/

If you follow the link in the 2nd post, it leads you to the download for 2.2.1.1043 (I clicked on it to see what info it gave).

Found it: June 8th
https://forums.malwa...ytes-version-2/

Edited by zlim, 28 March 2017 - 11:04 PM.

Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#13 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 09:49 PM

Quote

Mother's had several problems (while on Facebook of course) with popups saying various bogus dire things. One was persistent enough that I had to close the browser from Task Mgr,
Yes my wife's friends have had that too. It is just a rogue webpage and doesn't infect anything so MBAM will never find a problem. If you kill the browser with Task Manager and remember to delete the history everything gets back to normal.
Just don't click on those links that say Julia Roberts is dead - or whatever.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#14 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 08:26 AM

Just a quick update. I am running Malware Bytes Premium 3.X and I was still getting the annoying popups about Web Protection not enabled. Then you couldn't start the service from the Dashboard.
I have now updated to the latest 3.1.2 Malware Bytes engine and the problem is gone for now. This must be done manually as although the malware signatures update regularly, the engine does not.

Edited by raymac46, 19 May 2017 - 08:52 AM.

Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#15 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 4,085 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 08:56 AM

Although definition updates are automatic, major changes are released slowly -- metered.  However, in this case, as reported in Why can't MBAM 3.0.6 update to version 3.1.2, there is a potential issue with the 3.1.2 installer, thus a manual update is needed at this point.
Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#16 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 09:15 AM

The manual download and install goes smoothly enough. You don't have to uninstall the previous version or do anything drastic other than restart your computer.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#17 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 20 May 2017 - 05:29 PM

Any problem with retaining your premium info when updating manually? Mother's machine still at ver 2.x and I'm thinking I'll have to update pretty soon.
Registered Linux User 344759

#18 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 20 May 2017 - 05:57 PM

View Postebrke, on 20 May 2017 - 05:29 PM, said:

Any problem with retaining your premium info when updating manually? Mother's machine still at ver 2.x and I'm thinking I'll have to update pretty soon.
No all relevant info is retained. I have had no trouble just installing over the old version - even from 2.X up to 3.X.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#19 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 4,085 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 12:53 PM

As a safeguard, I wrote down the License ID & License Key before upgrading.  I didn't need it but was still glad I had the backup, 'cause ya never know.  :)
Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#20 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 08:28 AM

Yes I have that key info saved as well.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#21 OFFLINE   ebrke

ebrke

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,714 posts

Posted 30 May 2017 - 12:31 PM

Well I updated mother's laptop to Malwarebytes 3.0.6. It installed with the web, ransomware and malware protections turned off, but I was able to turn them on without the problems Ray had (guess there were some bugs worked out from 3.0.5). MB still won't update to 3.1 from within the program--if that persists I'll have to upgrade manually to 3.1 I guess.
Registered Linux User 344759

#22 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 30 May 2017 - 06:47 PM

So far I've had no problems at all with MBAM 3.1
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#23 OFFLINE   mac

mac

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 754 posts

Posted 31 May 2017 - 01:01 PM

I just tried to update from within 3.0.6, but it said I was up-to-date. Went to the MBAM site and downloaded 3.1.2. I'll install just before I shut down for the day.
Mac
"Long ago, when men cursed and beat the ground with sticks,
it was called witchcraft. Today it's called golf." -- Will Rogers (1879-1935)

#24 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,365 posts

Posted 31 May 2017 - 02:43 PM

Malware Bytes meters (throttles) the updates to conserve server bandwidth, so when you try to do it from within the program it might not let you. The best bet is to update manually. Just make sure you have your licence and ID info handy in case you need it. I didn't when I did the manual update but you never know.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users