editing /etc/fstab/

georgeg4

Have you stopped to read the tips? This is the mount and unmount tip. Fstab is here. If you can't get it from those then you can let us know and we can walk you through it but will need to know what you have and which partition you are trying to mount. I think you can do it from these two tips! ;)Good luck George!

I guess i am just a dummy teacher . I checked out those two and nada . I did do a mkdir and tried to mount again and got the error message no such file or directorywhat I am trying to do is mount my windows partition which is hda5 on my computer . perhaps the problem is most of bruno's tips are for mandrake and i am running red hat 9 .

George, what file system is on this new drive, NTFS or FAT32? If it's NTFS you won't be able to mount it in Red Hat without installing an NTFS driver. On the otherhand, if it's FAT32, then make a new directory somewhere in your Linux filesystem, then mount it in /etc/fstab with the parameter -t vfat. Just follow the format of the other entries in the fstab file to see where you'd put it.

I did not even think of you having something other than a Linux partition or a FAT32. Peachy is right that Red Hat can't handle the Windows NTFS. So is that what your partition is or do we need to dig a little deeper?

ok I tried < mount t-vfat /dev/hda5 > and I got the message " you must specify the file system type"The partition is fat32By the way just for future reference red hat 9 does support ntfs according to the man files

Compare where you have the minus sign and where Peachy put it. What happens if you switch it around to the way he put it? mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/hda5