Jump to content


Windows 10 in a Virtual Machine

windows 10 virtual machine

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts

Posted 07 February 2017 - 02:51 PM

Is anyone running Windows 10 in a Virtual Machine? If so have you had any problems doing it. At the present time I dual boot with Linux using UEFI and GPT Partitioning. I have a 3.1 Ghz CPU, and 16 GB of ram. which should be enough to run windows 10 in a virtual machine with Linux as the primary OS. anyone done this?
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#2 OFFLINE   goretsky

goretsky

    Forum Fiend

  • Forum Moderators
  • 1,880 posts

Posted 08 February 2017 - 05:36 AM

Hello,

I have run various versions of Windows 10 in virtual machines using both older versions of Windows as the host OS, as well as Windows 10 itself for both the host and guest operating systems.  I used VMware Workstation 12, and it allowed me to create VMs that support UEFI and GPT.  No problems noted.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Dexter is a good dog.

Aryeh Goretsky
Microsoft MVP (Windows - IT Pro)

Facebook Google+ personal blog personal website Twitter

#3 OFFLINE   glenn4uk

glenn4uk

    New Kid

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 February 2017 - 07:57 AM

I have Windows 10 installed in a virtualbox vm on a Debian host.  But it's a stretch to say I'm "running" it since I very rarely ever use Windows.  It seems to function very well, though.

#4 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts

Posted 09 February 2017 - 11:20 AM

For those of you running windows 10 in a VM did you have any problems with Microsoft registration. My version of windows 10 is the commercial windows 10 home version. it is not a update nor a OEM version. Just wondering if I will encounter problems trying to run it in a VM with Linux as the Host.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#5 OFFLINE   goretsky

goretsky

    Forum Fiend

  • Forum Moderators
  • 1,880 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 04:49 AM

Hello,

I think VMware either prompted me to enter the Product ID key before creating the VM, or I just entered it when Windows 10 finally booted to the desktop.  No problems getting the key entered, though.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Dexter is a good dog.

Aryeh Goretsky
Microsoft MVP (Windows - IT Pro)

Facebook Google+ personal blog personal website Twitter

#6 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 12:56 PM

View Postgoretsky, on 10 February 2017 - 04:49 AM, said:

Hello,

I think VMware either prompted me to enter the Product ID key before creating the VM, or I just entered it when Windows 10 finally booted to the desktop.  No problems getting the key entered, though.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Did you have any problems with drivers and installing windows programs Like turbo tax and Garmin Express which require Windows to run?
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#7 OFFLINE   goretsky

goretsky

    Forum Fiend

  • Forum Moderators
  • 1,880 posts

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:43 AM

Hello,

The software I installed were programs like Microsoft Office, web browsers like Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, security software from my employer, and some internally-developed tools (basically, glorified XML readers).  Didn't try with any tax preparation or mapping software.

Oh, a couple of things I did during setting up the VM were to disable hibernation by issuing a "powercfg -h off" command from an elevated Command Prompt (filename: CMD.EXE) and setting the Power Plan to "High Performance" as I did not want the operating system shutting down or going into some kind of low-power state.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Dexter is a good dog.

Aryeh Goretsky
Microsoft MVP (Windows - IT Pro)

Facebook Google+ personal blog personal website Twitter

#8 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts

Posted 11 February 2017 - 11:48 AM

View Postgoretsky, on 11 February 2017 - 05:43 AM, said:

Hello,

The software I installed were programs like Microsoft Office, web browsers like Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, security software from my employer, and some internally-developed tools (basically, glorified XML readers).  Didn't try with any tax preparation or mapping software.

Oh, a couple of things I did during setting up the VM were to disable hibernation by issuing a "powercfg -h off" command from an elevated Command Prompt (filename: CMD.EXE) and setting the Power Plan to "High Performance" as I did not want the operating system shutting down or going into some kind of low-power state.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Thank You for the Info.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#9 OFFLINE   abarbarian

abarbarian

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum MVP
  • 5,096 posts

Posted 15 February 2017 - 07:17 AM

Quote

Did you have any problems with drivers and installing windows programs Like turbo tax and Garmin Express which require Windows to run?
Mel

You can get the Garmin Express to run under linux.

https://blog.firedra...with_Linux.html

:fish:
Install ARCH
You'll never need to install it again
"I did and I'm really happy"

Posted Image~~~~~~~~~~~~~Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,121 posts

Posted 15 February 2017 - 01:04 PM

View Postabarbarian, on 15 February 2017 - 07:17 AM, said:

Quote

Did you have any problems with drivers and installing windows programs Like turbo tax and Garmin Express which require Windows to run?
Mel

You can get the Garmin Express to run under linux.

https://blog.firedra...with_Linux.html

:fish:
I am still dual booting and running the programs that I need under win 10 in a dual boot. I probably won't use a VM as it is to much trouble and to many problems. I have used it before and it was a pain. I ordered another ssd drive and will keep win 10 on one and all of my Linux distro's on the other. Linux Mint 18.1 is still my primary Distro. Win 10 is secondary only because of the programs that have to have it to run.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows 10, virtual machine

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users