Help from anyone that works on older computers

zlim

Someone is looking for

Can anyone recommend a Linux distro that can be installed from floppies?Minimum requirements would be browser, email and support for a PCMCIA modem and/or PCMCIA wireless network adapter.
I told him the killer would be to get the PCMCIA modem/wireless working.Is there any way to break a CD down into floppies?My thought was Vector might work, except for the PCMCIA.I wonder if it has a serial port? If so, an external modem might be the way to get connected.I don't know the speed and RAM but I asked.

http://www.delilinux.de/Scroll down to 'Getting DeLi Linux' : there you'll see the installation floppy disks to download.I have no personal experience with DeliLinux, but it just came to mind. (IIRC raymac has or is using it on one of his machines)More info at:http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=deliInstalling using these disks and some info about pcmcia (at the bottom):http://www.delilinux.org/wiki/doku.php?id=devel:installdisks :thumbsup:

Thanks so much striker!Got the specsIBM ThinkPad 560 with 72MB RAM, 800MB HDD, Pentium 100MHz CPUHe got it dumpster diving and is not going to spend anything on it. It doesn't have CD nor USB but it does have serial and parallel ports.

Edited by zlim

Delilinux looks indeed like a good candidate . . . . there is a pretty recent release.The problems with floppy based distros is that most of them are very old and wireless was not really an option at the time those distros were released.:thumbsup: Bruno

Delilinux looks indeed like a good candidate . . . . there is a pretty recent release.The problems with floppy based distros is that most of them are very old and wireless was not really an option at the time those distros were released.:thumbsup: Bruno
I would recommend slackware...look at my specs and see what kind of old equipment I'm running it on.Cheers