Jump to content


Why do I have to wait for a device to appear


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 20 November 2009 - 06:03 PM

Quote

Waiting for device sda1 to appear (timeout 1 minute)
I also get the message for sda5. And yes, it takes a full minute before continuing.sda1 is / and sda5 is /swap. Can we turn this off? And yes, this is on the old, crappy computer...y'know, the one that's always given me all kinds of trouble.LOL
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#2 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 20 November 2009 - 06:25 PM

What's your menu.lst listing look like for Mandriva? Please post it. This sounds like a distro that wants UUID, but is booting with normal disk nomenclature. Hence, the delay while searching for /dev/xxx.

#3 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 07:28 AM

I haven't done anything to grub except remove the whatever I needed to remove the boot splash screen and add Slack.

Quote

[sue@localhost ~]$ cat /boot/grub/menu.lsttimeout 10color black/cyan yellow/cyangfxmenu (hd0,0)/boot/gfxmenudefault 0title linuxkernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=UUID=5706b2fb-061a-4bda-9bbd-6c2776637f5e  resume=UUID=ff5ceae7-aacb-4e71-a77b-1c28a61ac883 vga=788initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle linux-nonfbkernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux-nonfb root=UUID=5706b2fb-061a-4bda-9bbd-6c2776637f5e  resume=UUID=ff5ceae7-aacb-4e71-a77b-1c28a61ac883initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle failsafekernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=failsafe root=UUID=5706b2fb-061a-4bda-9bbd-6c2776637f5e  failsafeinitrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle Slackwareroot (hd0,6)kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 ro vga=791

Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#4 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 04:14 PM

Is this a new Mandriva installation?Anyway, first thing I'd try is remove the UUID feces from menu.lst and use your normal partition IDs... sda1 (/-root) and see what happens.

#5 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 04:28 PM

View PostV.T. Eric Layton, on Nov 21 2009, 03:14 PM, said:

Is this a new Mandriva installation?Anyway, first thing I'd try is remove the UUID feces from menu.lst and use your normal partition IDs... sda1 (/-root) and see what happens.
Before I do that, I need to understand 2 things...1) How will that solve anything? At boot, it's waiting for 2 partitions...sda1 (/) and sda5 (/swap). I don't see swap mentioned in grub at all, unless I'm missing something.2) Ok, there really isn't a #2 but I'm not sure what it is I'm supposed to remove.
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#6 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 05:08 PM

UUID is a pain in the a**. It's not a very human-friendly way of doing things. If your fstab is using UUID, this could also cause this. Again, is this a new installation? If not, did it work before? If so, what changes did you make just before it started acting up?

#7 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 05:40 PM

Nope, it's an upgrade but it worked find before. This began right after the first boot after installation.
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#8 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 05:48 PM

Have a look in fstab, see if swap is used at all. (Or post the fstab here so we can have a glimpse)
Striker
still the same...

#9 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 05:58 PM

Yup, it's there...

Quote

[sue@localhost ~]$ cat /etc/fstab# Entry for /dev/sda1 :UUID=5706b2fb-061a-4bda-9bbd-6c2776637f5e / ext3 defaults 1 1# Entry for /dev/sda6 :UUID=0ce1c6d0-fda4-4c0f-81b3-65dd0d9016f4 /home ext3 defaults 1 2none /proc proc defaults 0 0# Entry for /dev/sda5 :UUID=ff5ceae7-aacb-4e71-a77b-1c28a61ac883 swap swap defaults 0 0/dev/sdb5  /home/sue/Images   vfat   defaults,umask=000   0 0/dev/sdb1  /home/sue/Music    vfat   defaults,umask=000   0 0/dev/sdb6  /home/sue/Other    vfat   defaults,umask=000   0 0

Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#10 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 06:04 PM

yep, and it's being used too.
Striker
still the same...

#11 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 06:23 PM

Ok, here's what I gathered:/dev/sda1 is //dev/sda5 is swap/dev/sda6 is /home/dev/sdb5 /home/sue/Images vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0/dev/sdb1 /home/sue/Music vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0/dev/sdb6 /home/sue/Other vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0Is that correct Sue?If so, what we need to adapt menu.lst are the first three items above (the sda ones).(We leave the sdb ones alone)Backup the old menu.lst and when done edit the menu.lst as below

Quote

timeout 10color black/cyan yellow/cyangfxmenu (hd0,0)/boot/gfxmenudefault 0title linuxkernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=/dev/sda1 resume=/dev/sda5 vga=788initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle linux-nonfbkernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux-nonfb root=/dev/sda1 resume=/dev/sda5initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle failsafekernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=failsafe root=/dev/sda1 failsafeinitrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.imgtitle Slackwareroot (hd0,6)kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 ro vga=791
The only ones I changed are the entries for linux, linux-nonfb and failsafe by replacing the UUID info with the more common sense making, corresponding /dev/sdax entries.(in red)After the edit save menu.lst and reboot. It should at least boot but I hope it boots without delays now. If it fails to boot at all, you should restore the backed up menu.lst in runlevel 3. (in CLI that is...)Are you able to do that when it fails?
Striker
still the same...

#12 OFFLINE   Urmas

Urmas

    GUI Penguin

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,060 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 06:23 PM

Hmm... misery loves company, non?http://forum.mandriv...ic.php?t=119275 :hmm:

Posted Image


#13 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 06:31 PM

Good find Urmas!Sue, better read that one thoroughly before trying the edit of menu.lst mentioned above.
Striker
still the same...

#14 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 07:17 PM

View Poststriker, on Nov 21 2009, 05:23 PM, said:

Ok, here's what I gathered:/dev/sda1 is //dev/sda5 is swap/dev/sda6 is /home/dev/sdb5 /home/sue/Images vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0/dev/sdb1 /home/sue/Music vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0/dev/sdb6 /home/sue/Other vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0Is that correct Sue?If so, what we need to adapt menu.lst are the first three items above (the sda ones).(We leave the sdb ones alone)Backup the old menu.lst and when done edit the menu.lst as belowThe only ones I changed are the entries for linux, linux-nonfb and failsafe by replacing the UUID info with the more common sense making, corresponding /dev/sdax entries.(in red)After the edit save menu.lst and reboot. It should at least boot but I hope it boots without delays now. If it fails to boot at all, you should restore the backed up menu.lst in runlevel 3. (in CLI that is...)Are you able to do that when it fails?
Yup, that's all correct Striker.I edited the menu.lst as you suggested. Boot up was no problem but I'm still getting the message for both partitions.

View Poststriker, on Nov 21 2009, 05:31 PM, said:

Good find Urmas!Sue, better read that one thoroughly before trying the edit of menu.lst mentioned above.
Well I guess I should read the full thread before I start doing and answering, eh?LOLThanks Urmas, off to look at that now. :hmm:
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#15 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 07:42 PM

Might be time to NUKE that baby, too...Posted ImageJust kidding. :hmm:

#16 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 08:38 PM

Oh ... Mandyshima... :hmm:
Striker
still the same...

#17 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 21 November 2009 - 09:04 PM

I'll reinstall tomorrow and see if that helps. If not, should I chose Ext4 instead of Ext3?
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#18 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 12:29 AM

I'd stay away from ext4. Ext3 is a tried and true fs. It will be fine. You say you "upgraded". How? Did it work before upgrading? I'd wait for Bruno on this one. He's the Mandriva guru. :hmm:

#19 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 08:10 AM

ext3Don't always just use the default settings and just click yes blindly...get to the bottom of every screen and every option and see what they offer.Next, when reinstalling, install a minimum of packages. What I mean is there's no need to install gigs of additional packages only to discover after the first reboot the problem is back again, in which case you might just have discovered a bug. (and subsequently lost much time installing all those packages) What I'm trying is helping to bypass frustrations.
Striker
still the same...

#20 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 08:47 AM

View Poststriker, on Nov 22 2009, 07:10 AM, said:

ext3Don't always just use the default settings and just click yes blindly...get to the bottom of every screen and every option and see what they offer.Next, when reinstalling, install a minimum of packages. What I mean is there's no need to install gigs of additional packages only to discover after the first reboot the problem is back again, in which case you might just have discovered a bug. (and subsequently lost much time installing all those packages) What I'm trying is helping to bypass frustrations.
Ok, I did use ext3, I don't always use the default setting and never just click yes blindly. I learned that a long time ago.LOLI'm going to try a reinstall later when I'm a little more awake and see if that doesn't help. And Eric, I use the One CD to upgrade. I did it once via the blue icon...that didn't work too well. But I had to try.LOL
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#21 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 12:50 PM

Quote

upgrade
??Nope Sue, do a clean install, no upgrade. If necessary make backups of files you'll need later. (but you knew that already)
Striker
still the same...

#22 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 01:15 PM

View Poststriker, on Nov 22 2009, 11:50 AM, said:

??Nope Sue, do a clean install, no upgrade. If necessary make backups of files you'll need later. (but you knew that already)
Maybe I'm still confusing the terminology...I used a new 2010 One CD and installed it over my old 2009.1. That's not right?
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#23 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 02:48 PM

The ONLY time I will upgrade a distro is if it's a "rolling-release" type of distro like Arch or Sidux, where there is a built-in package management tool (Arch --> #pacman -Syu or Sidux --> #apt-get dist-upgrade); otherwise, I ALWAYS upgrade via clean install. I tried a few upgrades-in-place before. There were always buggy results for me. Learned that lesson early on in my GNU/Linux adventures. It's kinda' like the mess I used to always get into when installing those big service packs (1 and 2) from Microsoft. :hysterical:

#24 OFFLINE   SueD

SueD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,476 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 03:46 PM

View PostV.T. Eric Layton, on Nov 22 2009, 01:48 PM, said:

The ONLY time I will upgrade a distro is if it's a "rolling-release" type of distro like Arch or Sidux, where there is a built-in package management tool (Arch --> #pacman -Syu or Sidux --> #apt-get dist-upgrade); otherwise, I ALWAYS upgrade via clean install. I tried a few upgrades-in-place before. There were always buggy results for me. Learned that lesson early on in my GNU/Linux adventures. It's kinda' like the mess I used to always get into when installing those big service packs (1 and 2) from Microsoft. :hysterical:
If I'm understanding things right, I don't actually 'upgrade' but rather, do a clean install. My boo-boo.
Sue
Registered Linux User #433538
A life? Cool! Where can I download one of those?

#25 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,503 posts

Posted 22 November 2009 - 04:05 PM

Ah... OK. Well, then... So you reformatted and installed a newer version of Mandriva on this system that ran the older version of Mandriva just fine. Right, so far? How old was that older version of Mandriva? Do you remember?Let's focus on getting Mandriva to run for you on this system. After that, we'll work on Slackware. One problem-child at a time. :hysterical:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users