I burned my soundcard

Ljiljan Maksimovic

Ljiljan Maksimovic

I possess an integrated soundcard (main board EPOX EP-8RDA3). I don't need anything better because I'm not a kind of music fan. By profession I'm an electrical engineer and I like to play with data acquisition. So, I tried to use my soundcard as an A/D converter. I applied very low voltage (0.3V) to my soundcard (LINE IN input) and wrote the computer programme to process the raw data obtained by this way. My soundcard proved to be just a little worse than professional a/d converters. Everything worked just fine. However, after a few days of experimenting I accidentally applied much higher voltage to my card. Nothing obvious happened at the first moment. Later, I realized that my LINE IN input didn't work properly - it didn't perform a/d conversion anymore and my left speaker was crackling (the speaker is ok, I checked it on the other computer). My computer is still under warranty but my dealer doesn't want to do anything to fix it. What can be done? The right side works properly, and it's ok. The malfunction of left side doesn't bother me so much, but inability to perform a/d conversion does. What can be done? Can I replace the integrated sound card? Or, I have to buy a new card (non-integrated)?I tried to reinstall my drivers but without any success. I'm not a connoisseur of computer hardware, but I understand the logic of it. Can I do anything to fix it?Any help please!

Welcome to the forum.You can install a new sound card in your system if you have a available PCI slot in the system. That would be a white slot that is empty. Before installing the new card, you must disable the old card thru your BIOS. Your EPOX mobo manual should guide you thru the procedure on how to do this. If for some reason you do not have the manual, a copy may be obtained online.Newegg.com has a large variety of different sound cards and in different price ranges. NEWEGGHope this helps. B)