Travels with Sid

raymac46

A question or two for the Sid/Siduction gurus out there.

I have been running Debian Sid without problems for a few months now on my Thinkpad. I have it set up the way I like and although there are lots of daily updates it works very well.

Now I want to take the Thinkpad on a two week ocean voyage where the Internet is slow and often unreliable. The last thing I want to do is bork an update.

So if I update at the hotel before I leave and when I get home will that be OK assuming the machine works fine when I embark on the ship? I figure I can deal with any issues at home if there are massive updates at that point.

Bottom line will I be OK to travel with Sid or should I bite the bullet and install a more stable distro before leaving on my voyage? I figure all will be well if I don't update a working install.

securitybreach

You will be fine. Same with Arch, as long as you update within a month, you should be fine.

Even if you didn't, you would still be fine as long as you didn't do a partial update.

I often don't upgrade siduction for weeks. A backup is made with Clonezilla if there are a lot of upgrades flagged. Be wary if apt says there are lots of packages to remove and check siduction forums Upgrade Warnings section.

Usually it's fine. ;)

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

I had another major crash with Sid today on my Thinkpad. The update/dist-upgrade didn't go well and at the end of it when I rebooted gdm3 would not start and the graphical desktop was completely broken. The only solution would be a complete reinstall. There were no indications of lots of packages being removed so I don't know how I would have avoided this one.

I think there was something wrong with the package installer as one of the messages I got was:

E: sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (100)