Jump to content


Ubuntu 10.04 LTS


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Peachy

Peachy

    Anarquista De Sartorial

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,443 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 02:07 PM

http://www.ubuntu.comIt's now available at a friendly mirror near you.  :(

'freedom...is actually the reason that men live together in political organisations at all. Without it, political life as such would be meaningless. The raison d'Être of politics is freedom, and its field of experience is action'.
My Flickr Photo Blog Posted Image
del.icio.us bookmarks Posted Image


#2 OFFLINE   onederer

onederer

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,219 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 03:30 PM

View PostPeachy, on Apr 29 2010, 02:07 PM, said:

http://www.ubuntu.comIt's now available at a friendly mirror near you.  :(
They were supposed to have a serious memory leak, just before they were to release the final version.  Do you know if they fixed it? I'd hate to download it, and find out that my machine(s) get clogged up, and need rebooting every few hours.I checked out their web site about "cloud computing".  I didn't find out if they charge for that service.  However, to me it looks like a pretty lengthy and complicated way of setting up things. I suppose if a real live person were to coach me step-by-step, the first time, then any other instance(s) of having to do it again should be no problem. It seems that the way that they do it (mostly everything Mexican style (Manuel)), the operator has to do all the work. There is nothing wrong with that, especially if one really wants to learn how to do it.  But then again, I really believe that it could be more automated than that.  Lets say that the computer asks the operator the necessary questions needed to setup cloud computing, and it then fills in the blanks, and performs in the background, the necessary setup steps. This would be a boon to less savvy Linux users. And more people would have no qualms on adopting "cloud computing". As it stands now, I'm more interested in being a user, than a digital mechanic.  And having an automated setup suits me just fine! This is new technology, for me anyway, and it's kind out of my comfort zone.   :( Cheers!
Le savant n'as pas peure de demander des questions.

#3 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 23,527 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 04:01 PM

Thanks Peachy, downloading now.
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#4 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,322 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:27 PM

YIPPEE! Must go download now. I think I'll plow Mandriva under and plant a field of Ubuntu 10.04. :(

#5 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 21,322 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:33 PM

Heh! Downloading 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64 bit Kubuntu Edition. No, really. I am. :(

#6 OFFLINE   BillD

BillD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,236 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:39 PM

Well, I downloaded it,  burned it and ran it live, but there is no md5sum available yet.  Makes one wonder  :( Probably rushing things a bit to install it.  Bill

Edited by BillD, 29 April 2010 - 05:40 PM.

Register Linux User # 412551

#7 OFFLINE   Frank Golden

Frank Golden

    Migrant Nuclear Worker

  • Forum MVP
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:52 PM

View PostBillD, on Apr 29 2010, 02:39 PM, said:

Well, I downloaded it,  burned it and ran it live, but there is no md5sum available yet.  Makes one wonder  :( Probably rushing things a bit to install it.  Bill
MD5 sums here at bottom of page.http://releases.ubuntu.com/lucid/The Ubuntu D\L page for some reason has never included the MD5 sums unless they are cleverly hidden.If you ran the live then it's probably OK.

View Postonederer, on Apr 29 2010, 12:30 PM, said:

They were supposed to have a serious memory leak, just before they were to release the final version.  Do you know if they fixed it? I'd hate to download it, and find out that my machine(s) get clogged up, and need rebooting every few hours.I checked out their web site about "cloud computing".  I didn't find out if they charge for that service.  However, to me it looks like a pretty lengthy and complicated way of setting up things. I suppose if a real live person were to coach me step-by-step, the first time, then any other instance(s) of having to do it again should be no problem. It seems that the way that they do it (mostly everything Mexican style (Manuel)), the operator has to do all the work. There is nothing wrong with that, especially if one really wants to learn how to do it.  But then again, I really believe that it could be more automated than that.  Lets say that the computer asks the operator the necessary questions needed to setup cloud computing, and it then fills in the blanks, and performs in the background, the necessary setup steps. This would be a boon to less savvy Linux users. And more people would have no qualms on adopting "cloud computing". As it stands now, I'm more interested in being a user, than a digital mechanic.  And having an automated setup suits me just fine! This is new technology, for me anyway, and it's kind out of my comfort zone.   :( Cheers!
The repos have an update for mesa GLX.The final uses the older GLX 1.2I'm installing the new Mesa from the repos now, will see if it updates the GLX to the new 1.4 version.OOPS, the update is only available if "backports" and "proposed" are enabled in Synaptic.These two are not enabled by default but I like having the latest so I always enable backports and proposed.There is a kernel upgrade in proposed as well.Without backports and proposed enabled there are no updates right now.

Edited by Frank Golden, 29 April 2010 - 06:04 PM.

Frank Golden

Acer Aspire as5672WLMi, Core 2 Duo Merom (T7200/2.0 GHz) Centrino, 500 GB Seagate Momentus 7200 rpm (SATA) HDD,   4 GB Corsair DDR2-PC5300 ram, ATi Radeon X1400 (128 MB built-in vram/384 MB system ram),
Win 7 Home Premium | Ubuntu 10.04 LTS  & Ultimate Edition 2.8 | Mandriva 2010.2 Gnome | PCLinuxOS 2010 Gnome & KDE ]
Registered Linux User #423741
Registered Ubuntu User # 6235


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic"-Arthur C. Clarke

#8 OFFLINE   BillD

BillD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,236 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 07:51 PM

Well, my md5sum checks OK.  Alas, Firefox 3.6.3 is as slow here as in PCLinuxOS.   Have not tried to install the bookmarks to see if favicons appeared here (but probably not because I tried 3 times with PCLinuxOS, once in Kde and twice in Gnome) or do anything else with it other than try Firefox 3.6 after installing it; I had hoped there might be something weird about my hardware and PCLinuxOS, but apparently not.Definitely boots a bit faster the 9.1, but I surely am disappointed in Firefox performance.BillEdit:  Well, how about that; the favicons showed up when I imported the bookmarks.  But it is still slow.

Edited by BillD, 29 April 2010 - 08:03 PM.

Register Linux User # 412551

#9 OFFLINE   Frank Golden

Frank Golden

    Migrant Nuclear Worker

  • Forum MVP
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 08:09 PM

View PostBillD, on Apr 29 2010, 04:51 PM, said:

Well, my md5sum checks OK.  Alas, Firefox 3.6.3 is as slow here as in PCLinuxOS.   Have not tried to install the bookmarks to see if favicons appeared here (but probably not because I tried 3 times with PCLinuxOS, once in Kde and twice in Gnome) or do anything else with it other than try Firefox 3.6 after installing it; I had hoped there might be something weird about my hardware and PCLinuxOS, but apparently not.Definitely boots a bit faster the 9.1, but I surely am disappointed in Firefox performance.BillEdit:  Well, how about that; the favicons showed up when I imported the bookmarks.  But it is still slow.
Bill are you evaluating FF performance from a Live CD or a HDD install?If from the Live CD software performance is bound to be slow.
Frank Golden

Acer Aspire as5672WLMi, Core 2 Duo Merom (T7200/2.0 GHz) Centrino, 500 GB Seagate Momentus 7200 rpm (SATA) HDD,   4 GB Corsair DDR2-PC5300 ram, ATi Radeon X1400 (128 MB built-in vram/384 MB system ram),
Win 7 Home Premium | Ubuntu 10.04 LTS  & Ultimate Edition 2.8 | Mandriva 2010.2 Gnome | PCLinuxOS 2010 Gnome & KDE ]
Registered Linux User #423741
Registered Ubuntu User # 6235


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic"-Arthur C. Clarke

#10 OFFLINE   Frank Golden

Frank Golden

    Migrant Nuclear Worker

  • Forum MVP
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 08:14 PM

View Postonederer, on Apr 29 2010, 12:30 PM, said:

They were supposed to have a serious memory leak, just before they were to release the final version.  Do you know if they fixed it? I'd hate to download it, and find out that my machine(s) get clogged up, and need rebooting every few hours.I checked out their web site about "cloud computing".  I didn't find out if they charge for that service.  However, to me it looks like a pretty lengthy and complicated way of setting up things. I suppose if a real live person were to coach me step-by-step, the first time, then any other instance(s) of having to do it again should be no problem. It seems that the way that they do it (mostly everything Mexican style (Manuel)), the operator has to do all the work. There is nothing wrong with that, especially if one really wants to learn how to do it.  But then again, I really believe that it could be more automated than that.  Lets say that the computer asks the operator the necessary questions needed to setup cloud computing, and it then fills in the blanks, and performs in the background, the necessary setup steps. This would be a boon to less savvy Linux users. And more people would have no qualms on adopting "cloud computing". As it stands now, I'm more interested in being a user, than a digital mechanic.  And having an automated setup suits me just fine! This is new technology, for me anyway, and it's kind out of my comfort zone.   :whistling: Cheers!
The GLX used is GLX 1.2 and the repo update doesn't change the version.Like I thought the dev's reverted to the older GLX version until they had a workable fix.It is conceivable that they won't roll out a fix until the next release in October.My guess is they will fix it in the very near future and it will appear in the repos.I just finished installing the final and it works great, just like the RC and beta did.
Frank Golden

Acer Aspire as5672WLMi, Core 2 Duo Merom (T7200/2.0 GHz) Centrino, 500 GB Seagate Momentus 7200 rpm (SATA) HDD,   4 GB Corsair DDR2-PC5300 ram, ATi Radeon X1400 (128 MB built-in vram/384 MB system ram),
Win 7 Home Premium | Ubuntu 10.04 LTS  & Ultimate Edition 2.8 | Mandriva 2010.2 Gnome | PCLinuxOS 2010 Gnome & KDE ]
Registered Linux User #423741
Registered Ubuntu User # 6235


"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic"-Arthur C. Clarke

#11 OFFLINE   BillD

BillD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,236 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 08:36 PM

Quote

If from the Live CD software performance is bound to be slow.
Nope, I installed it, and as I said above, the favicons got imported OK into the bookmarks, but it still runs slow.  May have to hang tough with Opera for awhile if I use it, but I think I'll probably just keep using 9.1 on my "work" computer for awhile.  I installed this in place of PCLinuxOS Gnome on the computer I use primarily for Win XP.Bill
Register Linux User # 412551

#12 OFFLINE   jodef

jodef

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,429 posts

Posted 29 April 2010 - 09:18 PM

Posting from Ubuntu 10.04 in VirtualBox :whistling: Had a minor glitch but guest additions installed and working fine w/out any tinkering or further software installations.

#13 OFFLINE   cybormoron

cybormoron

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 12:03 AM

downloaded in nine minutes flat zoom zoom. don't feel like creating a VM tonight, will do tomorrow. glad to hear it works fine in VB, Jodef.Posted Image
steve
I'm a pc, running GNU/Linux.

#14 OFFLINE   Acadia

Acadia

    Post Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 08:33 AM

Anyone having any problems getting this new Ubuntu to work with dual monitors.  I've been able to get dual monitors to work beautifully in Mint, Karmic Koala, and Mandriva (thanks to SecurityBreach).  But dual monitors in this new Ubuntu is a no go, can't even remember all the error messages that I was getting.Thanks,Acadia
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson

#15 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,604 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 09:54 AM

View PostPeachy, on Apr 29 2010, 01:07 PM, said:

http://www.ubuntu.comIt's now available at a friendly mirror near you.  :whistling:
I just installed the 64bit version.  So far, so good.  This is the first distro if have ever tried that I didn't have to disconnect the monitor on the HDVI port in order to boot the LiveCD.  The servers are obviously very busy 'cause it is taking forever to download stuff.  Took about 20 minutes just to get the nVidia driver.  Also, this is the first release that saves the nVidia settings without having to use "sudo."  It gives an error but then allows you to save the file anyway.  It does ask for your password to do it.  About time they fixed that.Hmm!  Just noticed that it doesn't default to Numlock.  Wonder where I set that.

Edited by lewmur, 30 April 2010 - 09:56 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 23,527 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 09:55 AM

View PostAcadia, on Apr 30 2010, 08:33 AM, said:

Anyone having any problems getting this new Ubuntu to work with dual monitors.  I've been able to get dual monitors to work beautifully in Mint, Karmic Koala, and Mandriva (thanks to SecurityBreach).  But dual monitors in this new Ubuntu is a no go, can't even remember all the error messages that I was getting.Thanks,Acadia
Did you setup nvidia-settings again?
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#17 OFFLINE   Acadia

Acadia

    Post Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 09:57 AM

View Postsecuritybreach, on Apr 30 2010, 09:55 AM, said:

Did you setup nvidia-settings again?
I tried but it would not let me, again, I don't remember the error messages, there were at least a couple.  Will try again this weekend, thanks securitybreach.Acadia
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson

#18 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 23,527 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:00 AM

View PostAcadia, on Apr 30 2010, 09:57 AM, said:

I tried but it would not let me, again, I don't remember the error messages, there were at least a couple.  Will try again this weekend, thanks securitybreach.Acadia
Did you run:

Quote

sudo nvidia-settings

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#19 OFFLINE   Urmas

Urmas

    GUI Penguin

  • Forum Moderators
  • 4,060 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:08 AM

Did you install the proprietary driver ("nvidia")?

Posted Image


#20 OFFLINE   lewmur

lewmur

    Discussion Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,604 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:26 AM

View Postsecuritybreach, on Apr 30 2010, 09:00 AM, said:

Did you run:
Read my post.  You don't have to use "sudo" with 10.04.  But you do have to install the restricted driver.

#21 OFFLINE   securitybreach

securitybreach

    CLI Phreak

  • Forum Admins
  • 23,527 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:28 AM

View Postlewmur, on Apr 30 2010, 10:26 AM, said:

Read my post.  You don't have to use "sudo" with 10.04.  But you do have to install the restricted driver.
Oh ok, sorry missed that. I am still half asleep :whistling:
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image
CNI Radio/G+ Profile/Configs/PGP Key/comhack π

"Do you begin to see, then, what kind of world we are creating? It is the exact opposite of the stupid hedonistic Utopias that the old reformers imagined. A world of fear and treachery and torment, a world of trampling and being trampled upon, a world which will grow not less but more merciless as it refines itself. Progress in our world will be progress toward more pain." -George Orwell, 1984

#22 OFFLINE   Acadia

Acadia

    Post Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:31 AM

Securitybreach:  Yes, I did run that command in the terminal, one of the Ubuntu error messages told me to do that.Urmas: Yes, I did install that driver, or at least I tried.lewmur:  Thanks for that.Acadia
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson

#23 OFFLINE   BillD

BillD

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,236 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 05:01 PM

The browser Opera is no longer listed in the repositories for Lucid . . .  :thumbsup: Bill
Register Linux User # 412551

#24 OFFLINE   striker

striker

    handyman

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 8,509 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 05:19 PM

View PostBillD, on Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM, said:

The browser Opera is no longer listed in the repositories for Lucid . . .  :thumbsup: Bill
Don't be sorry for that, the versions after 10.10 do have a build in server (unite), you wouldn't need that, do you?(To disable Opera Unite, from the menu, select Opera Unite > Configure and select "Disable Opera Unite". Disabling Opera Unite means that your friends will not be able to access your content in any application.)See: http://unite.opera.com/guide/Besides that if you need a problem browser have a look at the problems for the latest versions aka 10.5x versions:http://my.opera.com/...forum.dml?id=26Imo 10.10 was the last good one, I used it myself as a 2nd browser before stepping out of the band wagon.
Striker
still the same...

#25 OFFLINE   Acadia

Acadia

    Post Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 08:02 PM

Got the dual monitors working on 10.04.  From the Nvidia driver screen, Instead of choosing "version current - recommended" as I did last night, this time I chose "version 173".  For some reason it liked 173 much better, in fact, setting up the dual monitors after that was the easiest so far.   :thumbsup: Acadia
The blazing evidence of immortality is our dissatisfaction with any other solution. -- Emerson




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users