Jump to content


UKUU Gui Kernel Upgrad Util For Ubuntu and Mint Distros

kernel gui upgrades

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 03 April 2017 - 09:21 PM

Below is a link for more info. I used it to upgrade my kernel in Mint 18.1 to 4.10

This is a tool for installing the latest mainline Linux kernel on Ubuntu-based distributions.

http://www.teejeetec...de-utility.html or click here

Mel

Edited by mhbell, 03 April 2017 - 09:22 PM.

Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#2 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,373 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:48 PM

Solution for a non-existent problem from my perspective. In Debian you just need a kernel metapackage installed to have it update with your regular upgrades.
Still, if it works for *buntus, go for it.
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImageKXStudio
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.

#3 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 10:12 PM

View Postsunrat, on 04 April 2017 - 08:48 PM, said:

Solution for a non-existent problem from my perspective. In Debian you just need a kernel metapackage installed to have it update with your regular upgrades.
Still, if it works for *buntus, go for it.
The thing I like about it is the fact that it shows both older and never kernels and you can backup a kernel befor installing a new or different one. If something goes wrong or you don't like the kernel that you chose, then you can revert or else choose a different one. Since Debian does not recognize some of my hardware with their kernel it would be nice to have a util to install one that would work. Ukuu works great with mint and Ubuntu and most other distro's based on Ubuntu. Works for me.
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#4 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,408 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 08:04 AM

In my view there's more to the hardware compatibility (mostly video) than simply the kernel. There are new versions of X.Org (or maybe even Wayland), new drivers, a new 3D graphics stack - lots of upgrades to consider.
I just let the distro packager look after that in a new release or rolling upgrade.
The current Debian - Jessie - has some issues with AMD GCN cards but the next release - Stretch - will have that fixed.
A further example:
Linux Mint 18.1 has a relatively trailing edge 4.4 kernel but the video with my AMD R7 360 card is good.
Last fall Manjaro had a more up to date 4.6 kernel but my video didn't work at all because the distro packagers put in the amdgpu driver rather than the radeon one and amdgpu just didn't work with early GCN cards.

Edited by raymac46, 05 April 2017 - 08:15 AM.

Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#5 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 12:52 PM

View Postraymac46, on 05 April 2017 - 08:04 AM, said:

In my view there's more to the hardware compatibility (mostly video) than simply the kernel. There are new versions of X.Org (or maybe even Wayland), new drivers, a new 3D graphics stack - lots of upgrades to consider.
I just let the distro packager look after that in a new release or rolling upgrade.
The current Debian - Jessie - has some issues with AMD GCN cards but the next release - Stretch - will have that fixed.
A further example:
Linux Mint 18.1 has a relatively trailing edge 4.4 kernel but the video with my AMD R7 360 card is good.
Last fall Manjaro had a more up to date 4.6 kernel but my video didn't work at all because the distro packagers put in the amdgpu driver rather than the radeon one and amdgpu just didn't work with early GCN cards.
I'm not so sure about that. I have downloaded Stretch and still had the same video problems, had to do a non-free graphic install to get it to work right.
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#6 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,408 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 03:09 PM

Well yes I usually use the netinstall CD image which has the non-free firmware included to make installation easier. I would also make sure my sources.list contains contrib and non-free repos. That's part of using Debian on the desktop as far as I know.
https://wiki.debian.org/Firmware
https://cdimage.debi...uding-firmware/
There is no live version of Stretch that I can find right now to check if it works OK with my AMD video. I installed it using netinstall in VirtualBox and it works just fine - of course it doesn't use the AMD video for that.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#7 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 04:13 PM

View Postraymac46, on 05 April 2017 - 03:09 PM, said:

Well yes I usually use the netinstall CD image which has the non-free firmware included to make installation easier. I would also make sure my sources.list contains contrib and non-free repos. That's part of using Debian on the desktop as far as I know.
https://wiki.debian.org/Firmware
https://cdimage.debi...uding-firmware/
There is no live version of Stretch that I can find right now to check if it works OK with my AMD video. I installed it using netinstall in VirtualBox and it works just fine - of course it doesn't use the AMD video for that.
Yep often times a distro will work in Virtual Box, but not on a hard drive install. The only real way to check out a distro is to install it on a hard drive or a ssd disk which is what I do using all primary partitions 25 gb for root 1024 gb for swap and 25 gb for home I don't have the 16 partition limitation using GPT partitioning. as far as using the net install I have not tried that lately that might be a good idea. I have a fast Cable connection 30 Mbs. I have not mastered install the firmware  when you have distorted and unreadable graphics. I know it can be done from the command line, but don't know how. Pretty hard to do with out graphics. Maybe text install ??
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#8 OFFLINE   raymac46

raymac46

    Discussion Deity

  • Forum MVP
  • 3,408 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 05:00 PM

Well usually you can get a command line with Alt-Control-F1. If you can login as root:

# nano /etc/apt/sources.list
Make sure you have contrib and non-free added as sources for your regular packages and updates. If not add them and save the file.
Then
# apt update
# apt install firmware-linux-nonfree

Sometimes you can start up your distro using the Vesa or Failsafe option and that will give you limited graphics. Then you can use Synaptic to change your repositiories, reload and install the non-free firmware package.
Posted Image

Registered Linux User 445659

#9 OFFLINE   mhbell

mhbell

    Posting Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,160 posts

Posted 05 April 2017 - 06:34 PM

View Postraymac46, on 05 April 2017 - 05:00 PM, said:

Well usually you can get a command line with Alt-Control-F1. If you can login as root:

# nano /etc/apt/sources.list
Make sure you have contrib and non-free added as sources for your regular packages and updates. If not add them and save the file.
Then
# apt update
# apt install firmware-linux-nonfree

Sometimes you can start up your distro using the Vesa or Failsafe option and that will give you limited graphics. Then you can use Synaptic to change your repositiories, reload and install the non-free firmware package.
Thank You Raymac, Roger showed me this a couple of years ago with siduction. I had forgotten. Thanks again
Mel
Registered Linux User #239772
Mint 18.1 Cinnimon, MX-16, Siduction LXQT, Debian Stretch, and Other Linux Distro's
https://pctechman.wordpress.com/

#10 OFFLINE   sunrat

sunrat

    Thread Kahuna

  • Forum Moderators
  • 5,373 posts

Posted 06 April 2017 - 09:04 PM

And in the spirit of nothing ever stays the same, Debian have split the AMD firmware out to a separate package called firmware-amd-graphics. Not for Jessie default, but in jessie-backports, stretch, and sid. I think the same firmware is still in the firmware-linux-nonfree package for now so you can install either.
registered Linux user number 324659  || The importance of Reading The *Fine* Manual! :D
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImageKXStudio
For the things we have to learn before we can do them, we learn by doing them.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: kernel, gui, upgrades

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users