Jump to content


Comments, Feedback on the new Upgrades

feedback comments upgrades forum IPB

  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:09 AM

Please feel free to post any comments and feedback on the new upgrades in this topic once the forums are back online.

Thanks!
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#2 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:21 PM

Unless a major change happens when the posts are all rebuilt, it looks like quotes from the existing posts are not showing properly.

Not sure what we can do about that, but I will start looking into it. There may be a sql query that can be done to correct that, but not sure.

Here's what the quotes look like on new posts:

Quote

Sophos Anti-Virus for Mac Home Edition
Free antivirus that works simply and beautifully

Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#3 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:23 PM

View PostLilBambi, on 13 April 2012 - 12:21 PM, said:

Unless a major change happens when the posts are all rebuilt, it looks like quotes from the existing posts are not showing properly.

Not sure what we can do about that, but I will start looking into it. There may be a sql query that can be done to correct that, but not sure.

Here's what the quotes look like on new posts:

And that's a quote from someone's posting. We even have multiquote separately.

BTW: If you paste some text from an article and it's all humungous or whatever, you can remove the formatting by clicking on the pink/white eraser (second icon from the left on the top formatting row in the editor) to remove the formatting. It tells you that when you hover over it.
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#4 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:03 PM

In case you haven't found it yet, the advanced search is the little gear/flower thingey to the right of the search box at the top right of the forums.
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#5 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:54 PM

See the first posting in the Forum Upgrade announcment regarding Avatars!

Yea! Avatar issue is fixed.

You can now connect with your Avatars again by uploading them!

AVATARS ARE NOW WORKING!

TECHNICAL SETTINGS YOU NEED TO ADHERE TO FOR AVATARS:

Max File Size: MAX 50KB
Max Image size: 100w x 100h

Edited by LilBambi, 14 April 2012 - 11:33 AM.
changed the image size requirement back to forum rules specs.

Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#6 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 20,700 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:16 PM

Wow! We're allowing some big avatars these days, eh?

#7 OFFLINE   Neil P

Neil P

    Resident Pyromaniac

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,254 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 12:39 AM

Clearing my cache really helped knock out some of the weirder bugs I was seeing with the new skin. It looks a lot better now.

#8 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:08 AM

That's great Neil!

Eric, we don't have to allow avatars that big, it's just what they can do in the new software. Personally I think 100x100 is way big enough.

What do you all think?
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#9 OFFLINE   ross549

ross549

    I live here.

  • Forum MVP
  • 9,185 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:40 AM

If the software is dynamically resizing them, it should not matter if I upload a 500x500 image. The image put out on display for posts will automatically be 100x100.

Or is this resizing via HTML? I would hope the forum software would be smart enough to create the appropriate sized image for the need at the time. For example, to the right of the post box is a smaller avatar image.

Adam
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 10:46 AM

It is dynamically resizing them based on the upload requirements and min/max requirements for avatars.
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#11 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 10:59 AM

BTW: If you, like me, were really missing being able to see Recently Added Posts or replies, not just Recent Topics (which is just recently added Topics) like in the sidebar, we now have a way to see some of them!

Note I have it set to the last 35 posts/replies currently, if you would like to see more I could increase it to 50. Let me know.

Just click on Portal in the upper navigation bar to see several areas at once at a glance!
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#12 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:22 AM

Thank you to our own frapper for calling our attention to this so I could go lookin' for an answer! (BTW: lookin' shows a red line under it now to show it's not a word in the English dictionary!!!!)

So, the skinny on it is that for some reason, even though it works everywhere else, you need to do the following:

Thank you JMichael, Evernote Mac user!


How to Fix Firefox Spellcheck


Here's the quote:

Quote

orum Users:

Ever since AVSIM (*and many other sites who use IPBoard) switched to this new version of the forum software, I had lost the squiggly red-underline spellchecking feature which Firefox has so faithfully provided. Other browsers seemingly had no issues, but something went bad for Firefox users after IPBoard got updated.

Here's a fix which worked for me, and might work for you if you have the same issue.
  • Start by opening any forum, and either "Start A New Topic" or "Reply to an Existing Topic" as if you wished to actually post.
  • Type any word in the body of your message... preferably a misspelled word. Posted Image
  • RIGHT CLICK on that word, and from the popup menu select the "Languages >" flyout at the bottom.
  • Select the language you wish to use - probably English.
Confirm your selection by right clicking on a word again, going to the Language menu, and verify that there is now a bullet/dot next to the language you selected. A bullet/dot means that dictionary language is selected.

Voila!

If all went according to plan, you should now have browser-based spell checking back in service for these text boxes.

NOTE: This seems to be a site-by-site adjustment. I made this adjustment here on AVSIM and it has survived browser shutdowns and reloads, as well as new post, edits, and replies, but it does NOT apply itself to other websites using IPBoard. It would appear that you will have to make this quick adjustment at all IPBoard sites you may frequent, as it is not persistent across sites.


Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#13 OFFLINE   V.T. Eric Layton

V.T. Eric Layton

    Nocturnal Slacker

  • Forum Admins
  • 20,700 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 11:31 AM

View PostLilBambi, on 14 April 2012 - 08:08 AM, said:

That's great Neil!

Eric, we don't have to allow avatars that big, it's just what they can do in the new software. Personally I think 100x100 is way big enough.

What do you all think?

Yup. 100X100 is the optimum size, I think.

#14 OFFLINE   Pete!

Pete!

    Post Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 01:34 PM

Near the top of every page:

Quote

Javascript Disabled Detected

You currently have javascript disabled. Several functions may not work. Please re-enable javascript to access full functionality.

Javascript is enabled, but since I'm running an old computer, it's not the latest version.
Does the upgraded forum have new "system requirements"?

#15 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 01:43 PM

Well, it could be that your browser has an older javascript engine than is needed now. I would suggest trying with a newer browser and see if it goes away Pete.

I have not had that problem with any browsers I have, but they are all the latest browsers available for my OSes.
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#16 OFFLINE   frapper

frapper

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 02:19 PM

Is there any way to disable the "Conversation" feature in "Messenger" so that it's just a normal inbox? It's as if IPB is trying to imitate Gmail with its conversations (which I have turned off). It seems nobody wants plain and simple anymore.
Posted Image
Norm
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x3
USAF - '67-'71
Posted Image

#17 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 3,987 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 02:42 PM

This is the new & improved, according to IPB, Inbox.  Conversations are PM's.
Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#18 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

Thanks Corrine! Saves me from going and looking LOL!
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#19 OFFLINE   Corrine

Corrine

    The Mystical Rose

  • Forum Admins
  • 3,987 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 02:59 PM

Its the least I can do after all the work you've put into the update.
Posted Image

Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

#20 OFFLINE   LilBambi

LilBambi

    Australisches Googler

  • Forum Admins
  • 22,509 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 03:02 PM

Ah, shucks :hug:
Bambi
AKA Fran

Posted Image
My Public Key for Email :: BambisMusings Blog :: Fran's Computer Services Blog :: MyPassionIsBooks Blog :: 5BuckReview :: CNIRadio
"The Net interprets censorship as damage and routes around it." ~John Gilmore (Time Magazine, Dec 6, 1993)

#21 OFFLINE   frapper

frapper

    Topic Cop

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 03:07 PM

View PostCorrine, on 14 April 2012 - 02:42 PM, said:

This is the new & improved, according to IPB, Inbox.  Conversations are PM's.

So they say... Change is not always for the better. Some change is simply for the sake of change. Some things are better left as-is.
Posted Image
Norm
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x3
USAF - '67-'71
Posted Image

#22 OFFLINE   Neil P

Neil P

    Resident Pyromaniac

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,254 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 04:34 PM

You can go to http://forums.scotsn...odule=messaging and see the "inbox". Or if you click on the Messenger link you can hit "View all messages" (which is where I got that link anyway).

The notification thing is pretty cool though.

#23 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 6,927 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:55 PM

The problem with conversations is that all PMs with the same topic are lumped together. As far as I can tell you have to kill the entire conversation when you might just want to delete some of the PMs and save some.
If anyone can figure out how to selectively delete something in a conversation thread, I'm all ears and eyes.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image

#24 OFFLINE   Neil P

Neil P

    Resident Pyromaniac

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,254 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:59 PM

I only have one "conversation thread" and I don't really want to delete any of it right now, so I don't know if pressing "Delete" here would actually work, but hovering over a PM from me shows this:

Posted Image

e: But not someone else's. Hmm.

#25 OFFLINE   zlim

zlim

    It's me, plodr

  • Forum MVP
  • 6,927 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:39 PM

frapper and I are testing the waters. After we have a few items in the thread, we shall see how that delete key works. Thanks for pointing it out to me.
Liz
Registered Linux User # 401459
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: feedback, comments, upgrades, forum, IPB

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users