Windows XP SP3-Disk Boot Failure

rpiz

I attempted to boot up windows this afternoon and got the following: "Disk Boot Failure, insert sytem disk

and Press Enter". Given I have no experience with this part of the windows operating system I will need

the capable assistance of those here on the forum. Please help me get back up and running with my

Windows XP. Thanks.

First make sure there is no floppy disk in the drive if you have one and be sure no USB stick or USB external hard drives are plugged in.

Here are reasons why, if neither the above is true, you would get that message:

(1) Incorrect BIOS settings

(2) Corrupted operating system (Windows)

(3) Electrical or Mechanical failure of hard disk drive

For reason 1, press the proper key to get into the BIOS (you will see what key this is because at bootup, it says press <key> to enter setup). Make sure that your hard drive is the first boot device and check to be sure that the BIOS sees the hard drive.

Post back if you still have the problem after you have done this.

zlim,

Hi! The floppy drive is empty, and no USB sticks are inserted, nor USB external hard drives attached.

The BIOS is setup properly, and has worked fine for months without an issue. At this juncture I am

at whits end in trying to figure what to try next? I have my fingers crossed hoping that something can

be done and that the worst isn't close at hand.

Next there are two things to try: replace the ribbon cable between the hard drive and the motherboard and boot up and if you have another computer to test, attach the hard drive through the USB port to see if it is working.

If neither of these work, you may have to use a CD to repair the MBR.

Hopefully, someone can recommend how to do this. I've never done it. When my computers act up, I restore an image made with Acronis True Image.

Edited by zlim

If neither of these work, you may have to use a CD to repair the MBR.