Tiling WMs introduction -- LinuxDays FS16

securitybreach

securitybreach

I have been tiling for about 8 years now and I still got something from it too.

Do not think pay attention to the title Linux for Experts. It's not that hard but the tree stuff is a little confusing but it makes sense when you start using it.

TheAlternative.ch - LinuxDays FS16 - Linux for Experts course

Published on Jun 14, 2016

In this course, Aline Abler gives an introduction to Tiling Window Managers. Slides are available here: http://thealternativ...index.php?vi...

Tiling Window Managers allow you to control your graphical interface using your keyboard in a more intuitive way. They are highly configurable, and there are many different implementations out there. We will show you a selection of them, to help you find the Window Manager that best fits your needs.

Once you learn how to use them, Tiling Window Managers can have a great impact on your productivity. Have a look at them, and find a complete new way of controlling your device!

Covered Tiling Window Managers: bspwm, dwm, Xmonad, i3, awesome, herbstluftwm

This course is part of the LinuxDays of the student association TheAlternative.ch, the digital arm of [project21]. In the digital age, we want to draw attention to a sustainable interaction with knowledge and culture. We want to encourage usage and comprehension of Free and Open Source Software (also known as FOSS) as an alternative to proprietary software, as well as promote similar open alternatives in other areas.

Our LinuxDays are a series of events designed to introduce Linux to beginners and help those who already have it enhance their knowledge. They are created mainly for users of other operating systems who want to discover and/or eventually switch to Linux. We start all the way from the bottom and guide you on your way up to a safer and more comfortable digital lifestyle.