Teacher...This one is for you :)

trevor51590

Ok i am running mandrake linux 10.1 powerpack. I am new at Linux, so i am not good in this area although i have very limited knowledge on the OS. Well i want to get my WMP54g v4 network card to work with linux. The driver for the card is included on the cd (Rt2500.INF) which i want to use. Naturally I think Ndiswrapper. Now i downloaded it from sourceforge, and i got ndiswrapper-1.0.tar.gz. I tried to install it and i got an error about a kernel or something. I dont quite remember the error perfectly, as i would have to reboot into linux bc im on a dual boot. So i figured that wouldnt work. I went to an RPM site and downloaded a version of Ndiswrapper and installed it (i hope the right way) and when i get it installed, i get another, different type of error. I proceeded to do

ndiswrapper

and then it worked. I installed the driver, and it worked. Then i tried to modprobe, i got something like FATAL error. could not find module or something. then i tried

ndiswrapper -l

to see the driever and it said the driver was ok but the hardware was not there. Ok well now im stuck. Im hoping you could gimme a little TLC and show me which version of ndiswrapper to get for the 10.1 mandrake, and show me how to use it to get me online! I am sure that you have read many posts like this, but i really do need some step by step help (heck, thats why i came here) I have been trying this for days to no avail. PLEASE HELP ME ;) Oh btw, first post B)

Edited by trevor51590

• Replies 147
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• trevor51590

• teacher

• Bruno

• ross549

Top Posters In This Topic