Looking for simple Linux install

Nick Precision

Nick Precision

I have a laptop (Toshiba 2545XCDT) that isn't the newest thing around, it is somwhere around an AMD 333mhz with 64mb ram. I currently run Win98 on it only because it has Microsoft Streets & Trips and I plug my GPS into it while on the road. I would like to dual boot Linux so I can compile programs using G++, and basically get to know linux/unix commands better, I am still new to all this. I don't *need* a GUI, I am learning BASH at school and have to compile my programs in the same environment. Cygwin seems like a big joke... so close but still not usefull.So, is there a linux distro out there that would be right for me? I currently run Mandrake 9.1 on a 1GHz desktop at home, but its install is too massive for my little laptop. I am trying a slimmed down install of Mandrake on my laptop right now (normally I just do the full "stupid guy" install) but it appears to just be killing my laptop instead of installing. I was just wondering if someone out there made a flavor of linux that was just right for my application (less resources required). The only thing I really require is G++ & FTP, so I would be using a Xircom 10/100 PCMCIA card for ethernet hookup.

Welcome to All Things Linux!If you want a really small distro - bare bones then go for D*** Small Linux. You can pick it up off of Distrowatch or here. It has had a series of recent updates and is a nice program. It is designed to fit on a miniCd or under 50 MB I believe. Next up the chain would be Knoppix. I believe the latest of that can also be picked up from Distrowatch or here. Those should give you a good idea. Both can be run from CD as a Live Distro or installed.