Jump to content


Debian Install


  • Please log in to reply
223 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:18 PM

Quote

1). Geee . . I do not really remember how I selected "desktop" . . . but in most cases you can move the focus with the arrow-keys and select with the spacebar . . . then hit enter.
Well this was the info I was missing so I installed again and used the spacebar to select desktop and things went a whole lot different.  I installed kdm and the kernel image and header for 2.6.8-2-386 Debian tried to go to gnome and ran into a problem with XFree86

Quote

Xf86OpenSerial cannot open device /dev/input/mice no such device no core pointer
I left a bit of it out.  I gather there is a problem with the mouse and possibly the monitor setup I let debian choose and just ok'd whatever it chose.
Registered Linux User #554733

#27 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:28 PM

My guess is that the monitor section will be okay but not the mouse section of XF86Config-4 . . . so what you can do is boot another distro, mount the Debian partition and post what you see if you do:
# mount /dev/hda8 /mnt/hda8# cat /mnt/hda8/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
Then we can make changes if needed and your boot should be okay after that.My guess is that you will have to change: ( In the "Configured Mouse" section )

Quote

     Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
to  

Quote

     Option          "Device"                "/dev/psaux"
In the "And Vi should do the trick working from Mandrake to the Debian partitionB) Bruno

#28 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:31 PM

root@localhost rolana]# cat /mnt/hda8/etc/X11/XF86Config-4cat: /mnt/hda8/etc/X11/XF86Config-4: No such file or directory[root@localhost rolana]#Well I tried it a different way

Quote

[root@localhost X11]# cat /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4# XF86Config-4 (XFree86 X Window System server configuration file)## This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using# values from the debconf database.## Edit this file with caution, and see the XF86Config-4 manual page.# (Type "man XF86Config-4" at the shell prompt.)## This file is automatically updated on xserver-xfree86 package upgrades *only*# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xfree86# package.## If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated# again, run the following commands as root:##   cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.custom#   md5sum /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 >/var/lib/xfree86/XF86Config-4.md5sum#   dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86Section "Files"        FontPath        "unix/:7100"                    # local font server        # if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"        FontPath        "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"EndSectionSection "Module"        Load    "GLcore"        Load    "bitmap"        Load    "dbe"        Load    "ddc"        Load    "dri"        Load    "extmod"        Load    "freetype"        Load    "glx"        Load    "int10"        Load    "record"        Load    "speedo"        Load    "type1"        Load    "vbe"EndSectionSection "InputDevice"        Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"        Driver          "keyboard"        Option          "CoreKeyboard"        Option          "XkbRules"      "xfree86"        Option          "XkbModel"      "pc104"        Option          "XkbLayout"     "us"EndSectionSection "InputDevice"        Identifier      "Configured Mouse"        Driver          "mouse"        Option          "CorePointer"        Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"        Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"       "true"        Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"EndSectionSection "Device"        Identifier      "Generic Video Card"        Driver          "vesa"EndSectionSection "Monitor"        Identifier      "Generic Monitor"        HorizSync       28-50        VertRefresh     43-75        Option          "DPMS"EndSectionSection "Screen"        Identifier      "Default Screen"        Device          "Generic Video Card"        Monitor         "Generic Monitor"        DefaultDepth    24        SubSection "Display"                Depth           1                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSection        SubSection "Display"                Depth           4                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSection        SubSection "Display"                Depth           8                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSection        SubSection "Display"                Depth           15                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSection        SubSection "Display"                Depth           16                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSection        SubSection "Display"                Depth           24                Modes           "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSectionendSectionSection "ServerLayout"        Identifier      "Default Layout"        Screen          "Default Screen"        InputDevice     "Generic Keyboard"        InputDevice     "Configured Mouse"EndSectionSection "DRI"        Mode    0666EndSection[root@localhost X11]#         

Edited by rolanaj, 29 June 2005 - 05:40 PM.

Registered Linux User #554733

#29 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:33 PM

Did you mount it first ?
# mount /dev/hda8 /mnt/hda8# cat /mnt/hda8/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
:lol: Bruno

#30 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:43 PM

LOL . . crosspost !!Okay I found it . . . . look here:

Quote

Section "InputDevice"        Identifier      "Configured Mouse"        Driver          "mouse"        Option          "CorePointer"        Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"        Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"      "true"        Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"EndSection
Change that to

Quote

Section "InputDevice"        Identifier      "Configured Mouse"        Driver          "mouse"        Option          "CorePointer"        Option          "Device"                "/dev/psaux"        Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"      "true"        Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"EndSection
The simplest way is "vi /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4" ( if you can handle the Vi editor :lol: else do "kedit /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4" ):icon8: Bruno

#31 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:44 PM

Bruno what I did was

Quote

[root@localhost rolana]# mount /dev/hda8 /mnt/debian

Registered Linux User #554733

#32 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:46 PM

rolanaj, on Jun 29 2005, 11:44 PM, said:

Bruno what I did was

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

LOL . . . yep I did not know you named it "/mnt/debian" ( is okay though ) . . . . . . anyway, my answer crossed your post so is above your last one :PB) BrunoPS: If after you have a GUI you want to increase your screen-resolution . . . add the one you want here:

Quote

        SubSection "Display"                Depth          24                Modes         "HERE" "800x600" "640x480"        EndSubSectionendSection


#33 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:48 PM

Ok I made the change, time to go check the results be right back
Registered Linux User #554733

#34 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:50 PM

Crossing fingers and knees . . . . ;):lol: Bruno

#35 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:01 PM

Still no luck, but it said that it was log /var/log/XFree86.0.log so I thought looking at the log would help so here it is
    NumberOfPlanes: 1        BitsPerPixel: 4        NumberOfBanks: 1        MemoryModel: 0        BankSize: 0        NumberOfImages: 0        RedMaskSize: 0        RedFieldPosition: 0        GreenMaskSize: 0        GreenFieldPosition: 0        BlueMaskSize: 0        BlueFieldPosition: 0        RsvdMaskSize: 0        RsvdFieldPosition: 0        DirectColorModeInfo: 0        PhysBasePtr: 0xd8000000        LinBytesPerScanLine: 264        BnkNumberOfImagePages: 0        LinNumberOfImagePages: 0        LinRedMaskSize: 0        LinRedFieldPosition: 0        LinGreenMaskSize: 0        LinGreenFieldPosition: 0        LinBlueMaskSize: 0        LinBlueFieldPosition: 0        LinRsvdMaskSize: 0        LinRsvdFieldPosition: 0        MaxPixelClock: 108500000>> made shorter by Bruno <<<<<<<        LinGreenMaskSize: 6        LinGreenFieldPosition: 5        LinBlueMaskSize: 5        LinBlueFieldPosition: 0        LinRsvdMaskSize: 0        LinRsvdFieldPosition: 0        MaxPixelClock: 229500000(II) VESA(0): Total Memory: 512 64KB banks (32768kB)(WW) VESA(0): config file hsync range 28-50kHz not within DDC hsync range 30-70kHz(WW) VESA(0): config file vrefresh range 43-75Hz not within DDC vrefresh range 50-160Hz(II) VESA(0): Generic Monitor: Using hsync range of 28.00-50.00 kHz(II) VESA(0): Generic Monitor: Using vrefresh range of 43.00-75.00 Hz(II) VESA(0): Not using built-in mode "1024x768" (width too large for virtual size)(--) VESA(0): Virtual size is 800x600 (pitch 800)(**) VESA(0): *Built-in mode "800x600"(**) VESA(0): *Built-in mode "640x480"(++) VESA(0): DPI set to (100, 100)(II) VESA(0): Attempting to use 72Hz refresh for mode "800x600" (115)(II) VESA(0): Attempting to use 73Hz refresh for mode "640x480" (112)(**) VESA(0): Using "Shadow Framebuffer"(II) Loading sub module "shadow"(II) LoadModule: "shadow"(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libshadow.a(II) Module shadow: vendor="The XFree86 Project"        compiled for 4.3.0.1, module version = 1.0.0        ABI class: XFree86 ANSI C Emulation, version 0.2(II) Loading sub module "fb"(II) LoadModule: "fb"(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libfb.a(II) Module fb: vendor="The XFree86 Project"        compiled for 4.3.0.1, module version = 1.0.0        ABI class: XFree86 ANSI C Emulation, version 0.2(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp(II) do I need RAC?  No, I don't.(II) resource ranges after preInit:        [0] -1  0       0xffe00000 - 0xffffffff (0x200000) MX[B](B)        [1] -1  0       0x00100000 - 0x3fffffff (0x3ff00000) MX[B]E(B)        [2] -1  0       0x000f0000 - 0x000fffff (0x10000) MX[B]        [3] -1  0       0x000c0000 - 0x000effff (0x30000) MX[B]        [4] -1  0       0x00000000 - 0x0009ffff (0xa0000) MX[B]        [5] -1  0       0xe2011000 - 0xe20110ff (0x100) MX[B]        [6] -1  0       0xe2010000 - 0xe20100ff (0x100) MX[B]        [7] -1  0       0xe2000000 - 0xe200ffff (0x10000) MX[B]        [8] -1  0       0xd0000000 - 0xcfffffff (0x0) MX[B]O        [9] -1  0       0xd8000000 - 0xdfffffff (0x8000000) MX[B](B)        [10] -1 0       0xe0000000 - 0xe0ffffff (0x1000000) MX[B](B)        [11] 0  0       0x000a0000 - 0x000affff (0x10000) MS[B]        [12] 0  0       0x000b0000 - 0x000b7fff (0x8000) MS[B]        [13] 0  0       0x000b8000 - 0x000bffff (0x8000) MS[B]        [14] -1 0       0x0000ffff - 0x0000ffff (0x1) IX[B]        [15] -1 0       0x00000000 - 0x000000ff (0x100) IX[B]        [16] -1 0       0x0000e800 - 0x0000e8ff (0x100) IX[B]        [17] -1 0       0x0000e400 - 0x0000e4ff (0x100) IX[B]        [18] -1 0       0x0000e000 - 0x0000e00f (0x10) IX[B]        [19] -1 0       0x0000dc00 - 0x0000dc1f (0x20) IX[B]        [20] -1 0       0x0000d800 - 0x0000d81f (0x20) IX[B]        [21] -1 0       0x0000d400 - 0x0000d41f (0x20) IX[B]        [22] -1 0       0x0000d000 - 0x0000d007 (0x8) IX[B]        [23] 0  0       0x000003b0 - 0x000003bb (0xc) IS[B]        [24] 0  0       0x000003c0 - 0x000003df (0x20) IS[B](II) Loading sub module "int10"(II) LoadModule: "int10"(II) Reloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libint10.a(II) VESA(0): initializing int10(II) VESA(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000(II) VESA(0): VESA BIOS detected(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Version 3.0(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Total Mem: 32768 kB(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM: NVidia(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Software Rev: 3.17(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: NVidia Corporation(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Product: NV10 Reference Board(II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Product Rev: Chip Rev A1(II) VESA(0): virtual address = 0x4028a000,        physical address = 0xd8000000, size = 33554432(==) VESA(0): Default visual is TrueColor(==) VESA(0): Backing store disabled(**) Option "dpms"(**) VESA(0): DPMS enabled(==) RandR enabled(II) Setting vga for screen 0.(II) Initializing built-in extension MIT-SHM(II) Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension(II) Initializing built-in extension XTEST(II) Initializing built-in extension XKEYBOARD(II) Initializing built-in extension LBX(II) Initializing built-in extension XC-APPGROUP(II) Initializing built-in extension SECURITY(II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA(II) Initializing built-in extension XFree86-Bigfont(II) Initializing built-in extension RENDER(II) Initializing built-in extension RANDR(II) Keyboard "Generic Keyboard" handled by legacy driver(**) Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"(**) Configured Mouse: Protocol: "ImPS/2"
(**) Option "CorePointer"(**) Configured Mouse: Core Pointer(**) Option "Device" "dev/psaux"(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device dev/psaux        No such file or directory.(EE) Configured Mouse: cannot open input device(EE) PreInit failed for input device "Configured Mouse"(II) UnloadModule: "mouse"(WW) No core pointer registeredNo core pointerFatal server error:failed to initialize core devicesWhen reporting a problem related to a server crash, please sendthe full server output, not just the last messages.This can be found in the log file "/var/log/XFree86.0.log".Please report problems to submit@bugs.debian.org.[root@localhost log]#
Registered Linux User #554733

#36 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:03 PM

Wow sorry hadn't realized how big that was, don't know if it will be helpful or not either
Registered Linux User #554733

#37 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:07 PM

RolanaCan you check   again . . . I think you forgot a slash at "/dev/psaux" . . . see your output:

Quote

(**) Configured Mouse: Core Pointer(**) Option "Device" "dev/psaux"(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device dev/psaux No such file or directory.
So
# cat /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
and please check . . :lol: Bruno

#38 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:10 PM

That would be it ok I will try again
Registered Linux User #554733

#39 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:12 PM

Section "InputDevice"        Identifier      "Configured Mouse"        Driver          "mouse"        Option          "CorePointer"        Option          "Device"                "/dev/psaux"        Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"       "true"        Option          "ZAxisMapping"          "4 5"EndSection
This looks better ok I will try again
Registered Linux User #554733

#40 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:13 PM

Looks like the rest of the log was okay . . . so I bet it will work okay now ;):lol: Bruno

#41 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:33 PM

Rolana .. I have to close down for the night . . . . now imagine you still do not get a GUI . . try this:First back up that file
# cp  /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4  /mnt/debian/etc/X11/XF86Config-4-Backup
Then have a look in the Mandriva /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and compare the "Monitor" section to the Debian XF86Config file . . the stuff to concentrate on are the parts in REDThis is from your Debian XF86Config-4 file:

Quote

Section "Monitor" <<== do not touch !!        Identifier      "Generic Monitor" <<== do not touch !!        HorizSync      28-50        VertRefresh    43-75        Option          "DPMS"EndSection
:lol: Bruno

#42 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:52 PM

Well I actually got the Gui and managed to switch it to Kde with the tips finotti had posted.  So far so good.  I can not get kppp to open though
Registered Linux User #554733

#43 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:54 PM

I checked out of curiousity to see what was in my Mandrake XF86Config-4 file and it had HorizSync 30-70 and VertRefresh 50-160 so should I change that in debian or leave well enough alone?
Registered Linux User #554733

#44 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 03:30 AM

Hi RolanaIs that a version of Mandrake that still uses the XF86Config-4 and not yet the xorg.conf ? If so you can rely on those HorizSync 30-70 and VertRefresh 50-160 and adapt the Debian one ( but make a backup of the old file first just to be on the safe side ):thumbsup: Bruno

#45 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:45 AM

Bruno i is Mandrake 10.1 and it has xorg.conf so I will leave Debian alone. Thank you and everyone else for all your help. Another question, when I select kppp from the menu it just doesn't open and when I type it in a command centre I get an error
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by serverXlib: No protocol specifiedkppp: cannot connect to X server :0.0debian:/home/rolana#
any ideas anyone
Registered Linux User #554733

#46 OFFLINE   BarryB

BarryB

    Prince Distro

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,928 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:47 AM

Try (in terminal) kdesu Kppp
Barry

Right when you think you know the answers..somebody goes and changes the questions
Registered Linux user #303103

#47 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 11:23 AM

Thanks BarryB that got me a little farther it opened kppp with an error
 /etc/resolv.conf is missing or can't be read ask your system administrator to create this file (can be empty) with appropriate read and write permissions
What would be appropriate read and write permissions?
Registered Linux User #554733

#48 OFFLINE   BarryB

BarryB

    Prince Distro

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,928 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 11:39 AM

you should be able to create it in root(su)as in " mkdir /etc/resolv.conf " in a terminal  minus the " "
Barry

Right when you think you know the answers..somebody goes and changes the questions
Registered Linux user #303103

#49 OFFLINE   finotti

finotti

    Message Adept

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 12:02 PM

BarryB, on Jun 30 2005, 12:39 PM, said:

you should be able to create it in root(su)as in " mkdir /etc/resolv.conf " in a terminal  minus the " "

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hmm... Isn't resolv.conf a *file*?  If you use mkdir it will create a directory...  On the other hand,
touch /etc/resolv.conf
creates an empty file.  (I don't know if it will solve the problem.  This file usually contains DNS info, right?)Best,LuisEDIT: I think that the proper permissions are given with
chmod 644 /etc/resolv.conf

Edited by finotti, 30 June 2005 - 12:04 PM.


#50 OFFLINE   BarryB

BarryB

    Prince Distro

  • Forum Moderators
  • 2,928 posts

Posted 30 June 2005 - 12:07 PM

Ahhh....good point Luis...thanks for jumping in.... :D..but shouldn't the dns info be popluated when she connects?
Barry

Right when you think you know the answers..somebody goes and changes the questions
Registered Linux user #303103




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users