Jump to content


Debian Install


  • Please log in to reply
223 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 02:48 PM

Hi RolanaThere are 2 ways you can prevent cups from starting at boot . . . 1). Use the "Menu" --> "System" --> " sysV-Init Editor"2). Take off the executable bit from "/etc/init.d/cupsys"  . . . . the current premissions are 750 . . . make them 640 and you are set:
# chmod 640 /etc/init.d/cupsys
Sure you need to reboot after the change. ;)B) Bruno

#202 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 02:53 PM

Thanks Bruno, I am thinking we maybe need some Debian specific tips  B)
Registered Linux User #554733

#203 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 02:55 PM

Another question do I need all of these listening?  Also what is portmap it seems to hold up the booting process?

Quote

debian:/home/rolana# netstat -tap | grep LISTENtcp        0      0 *:19150                 *:*                     LISTEN     3949/gkrellmdtcp        0      0 *:sunrpc                *:*                     LISTEN     3378/portmaptcp        0      0 *:auth                  *:*                     LISTEN     3955/inetdtcp        0      0 *:ipp                   *:*                     LISTEN     4842/cupsdtcp        0      0 localhost:smtp          *:*                     LISTEN     3942/exim4tcp6       0      0 *:19150                 *:*                     LISTEN     3949/gkrellmdtcp6       0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN     3976/sshd

Registered Linux User #554733

#204 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 03:13 PM

LOL . . . I am working on Debian tips B)   . . . . . but that "chmod 640 /etc/init.d/xxxxxx" can be done in any distro . . . . also there I am  working on a tip on the init scripts :)Anyway . . your second question:First you want to do:
# mv  /etc/inetd.conf  /etc/inetd.conf.OLD# touch /etc/inetd.conf
( if it gives problems at the reboot simply restore the backup and we will have to "hand-edit" the file )Then you can do that "# netstat -tap | grep LISTEN" again and see what is still there . . . . if the sshd is still there after that ( don't think so ) you can
# chmod 640 /etc/init.d/ssh
I know I need portmap for my network . . . it might be different for you . . . in any case if you do chmod 640 you can always change it back with chmod 750 ;)Rebooting is needed after the edits :thumbsup: !!:thumbsup: Bruno

Edited by Bruno, 26 July 2005 - 03:16 PM.


#205 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 05:22 PM

Wow this doesn't make me feel like I am in over my head or anything  :thumbsup:

Quote

    Please select the type of printer you want to install:    1)  PostScript printer (generic)    2)  PostScript printer (with ghostscript drivers)    3)  printer driver natively supported by ghostscript    4)  gimp-print (stp driver [DEPRECATED - use ijs]; version 4.2.x)    5)  gimp-print (ijs driver; version 4.2.1 and later)    6)  hpdj    7)  pcl3 (successor to hpdj)    8)  IBM Omni    9)  various HP Deskjet drivers    10) PPA printer    11) official HP DeskJet drivers (hpijs 0.97)    12) official HP DeskJet drivers (hpijs 1.1 and later)    13) Epson printer (official drivers)    14) Lexmark inkjet printer    15) miscellaneous other drivers    16) non-printer devices (caution! -- read the handbook)    0)  return to main menu
So I chose 13 because I have an epson stylus C42UX, which by the way works no problem with Mandriva and cups. This brings me to this screen:

Quote

1 - Epson AcuLaser C2000 [alc2000]2 - Epson AcuLaser C8500 [alc8500]3 - Epson Laser EPL-N2050 [epl2050]4 - Epson Laser EPL-N2050+ [epl2050p]5 - Epson Laser EPL-N5800 [epl5800]6 - Epson Stylus Color 20 series {png+pips} [pips/sc20s]7 - Epson Stylus Color 40 series {png+pips} [pips/sc40s]8 - Epson Stylus Color 60 series {png+pips} [pips/sc60s]9 - Epson Stylus Color 70 series {png+pips} [pips/sc70s]10 - Epson Stylus Color 80 series {png+pips} [pips/sc80s]11 - Epson Stylus Color 480 {png+pips} [pips/sc480]12 - Epson Stylus Color 580 {png+pips} [pips/sc580]13 - Epson Stylus Color 680 {png+pips} [pips/sc680_777]14 - Epson Stylus Color 777 {png+pips} [pips/sc680_777]15 - Epson Stylus Color 880 {png+pips} [pips/sc880]16 - Epson Stylus Color 980 {png+pips} [pips/sc980]17 - Epson Stylus Photo 810 {png+pips} [pips/sp810_820]18 - Epson Stylus Photo 820 {png+pips} [pips/sp810_820](END)                                           
I guess now it is just a matter of trial and error   B)
Registered Linux User #554733

#206 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 05:31 PM

LOL . . . I would gamble on the

Quote

7 - Epson Stylus Color 40 series {png+pips} [pips/sc40s]
:w00t::thumbsup: BrunoPS: Doesn't that make you appreciate Mandrakes HW wizards ?? . . . B)

#207 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 26 July 2005 - 06:00 PM

Tried that one and it didnt work but maybe I set something else up wrong

Quote

Choose printer driver from the following list; remember the number.Hint: Navigation in more:        ==================================================================        ----------------------------------------------------------------        A P S F I L T E R   S E T U P                    -- Test Page --        ----------------------------------------------------------------        In most cases it's relatively easy to choose a suitable        ghostscript driver from the list of supported printers.        If you're printer is not in the list of supported printers:            - guess a suitable driver by "trial and error"            - consult your printers handbook to what ghostscript printer              driver your printer "claims" to be compatible        If this test produces unacceptable results, then please choose        another driver or try another (perhaps lower) print quality,        because it might be a memory problem. Only use print resolutions        that are supported by your printer, consult the printers manual!        Creating the test output might take some time, please be patient.        T)  Print a test page        *)  Back to main menuYour choice? tERROR: additional filter 'pips-sc40s' was not found;       can't create test page[ press RETURN to continue ]                                                                   
This is the other page maybe I set something else up wrong here

Quote

(D)     Available Device Drivers in your gs binary        ®     Read Ghostscript driver documentation        (devices.txt)        (1)     Printer Driver Selection                [pips/sc40s]        (2)     Interface Setup                         [parallel]        (3)     Paper Format                            [letter]        (4)     Printing Quality                        [medium]        (5)     Color Mode                              [full]        (6)     Print Resolution in "dots per inch"     [300x300]        (7)     Default Printing Method                 [auto]        (T)     Print Test Page        (V)     View performance log (times of print attempts)        (A)     Abort installation (don't do anything)        (I)     ==> Install printer with values shown above - repeat this                    step for installing multiple printers        (Q)     ==> Finish installation (without installing above printer)        Your choice?

Registered Linux User #554733

#208 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 03:58 AM

???

Quote

ERROR: additional filter 'pips-sc40s' was not found;
Can you do a "locate" on that 'pips-sc40s' ??:D Bruno

#209 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 01:52 PM

Well maybe I am doing this wrong

Quote

debian:/home/rolana# updatedbdebian:/home/rolana# locate pips-sc40sdebian:/home/rolana#           

Registered Linux User #554733

#210 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:00 PM

Well . . . that is strange . . . . apsfilter proposes you that driver . . . but there is no such driver . .  I will see what google/linux says . . . . . UPDATE: according to google it should be in "/usr/share/apsfilter/driver/pips/sc40s":whistling: Bruno

#211 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:12 PM

Well it certainly looks like it is there

Quote

debian:/home/rolana# cd /usr/share/apsfilter/driver/pipsdebian:/usr/share/apsfilter/driver/pips# lssc20s  sc480  sc60s      sc70s  sc880  sp810_820sc40s  sc580  sc680_777  sc80s  sc980debian:/usr/share/apsfilter/driver/pips#         
EDITED for spelling or typing one or the other possibly both :whistling:

Edited by rolanaj, 27 July 2005 - 02:20 PM.

Registered Linux User #554733

#212 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:17 PM

Well . . . looks like your Deb has the pips allright . .  :whistling:  . . . . . but now the question is why apsfilter can not find them ( where they are clearly in the /apsfilter/driver directory )Maybe run apsfilter again . . . . . ( ?? ):D Bruno

#213 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:26 PM

I'm still getting the same error when I try to print a test page
Registered Linux User #554733

#214 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:36 PM

What if you do not print a test page . . finish the config . . . and try to print a regular textfile ?:whistling: Burno

#215 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:42 PM

just clicking on the print icon brings up the print dialog I tell it to print it acts like it going to and nothing happens no errors no anything
Registered Linux User #554733

#216 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 02:48 PM

What if you try another driver . . . the sc480 for example ?? ( or the sc60s  . . or any other ? ):whistling: Bruno

#217 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 03:03 PM

I tried several and was not able to print a test page with any of them I am wondering if maybe I have one of the other settings wrong and that is getting in the way.  I chose a parallel usb printer and default printing method auto.  Maybe what ever kept me from printing in cups is also the problem with apsfilter.  I am not sure why I like Debian because it has been a bit of a nuisance to get set up, but I do like it.  I'll play around a bit more and maybe uninstall and reinstall apsfilter and see if that helps.  Maybe if I try to print from the command line I'll get an error message that might help.
Registered Linux User #554733

#218 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 03:06 PM

Quote

Maybe what ever kept me from printing in cups is also the problem with apsfilter.
That is what I was thinking too . . . because ( as you said ) cups does support your printer in other distros . . . :whistling: Bruno

#219 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 03:15 PM

I copied all my files from windows and Mandrake over to Mandriva, it is working really well.  I can't get rid of Windows as the kids like it for whatever reasons, but I can now get rid of Mandrake, which means I will have to fill that empty space with something else  :whistling: just thougtht I would give you a little warning.  I have lots of cds here to pick form too.  PCLos seemed to have some kind of issue when I tried to run it live which might be a good learning experience - Ubuntu is ok but it has that Gnome desktop going on which would mean having to install a different window manager  :D See I haven't even got debian sorted out and all ready .....Seriously thanks for all the help everyone I would never try all these distros without all the great help here.
Registered Linux User #554733

#220 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 27 July 2005 - 05:21 PM

found this and thought I might give it a try. cupsomatic-ppd

Quote

linuxprinting.org printer support - transition packageFoomatic is a printer database designed to make it easier to set upcommon printers for use with Debian (and other operating systems).It provides the "glue" between a print spooler (like CUPS or lpr) andyour actual printer, by telling your computer how to process filessent to the printer.This package depends on the foomatic-filters-ppds package, whichreplaces the functionality of this package.  This package can besafely removed once you have installed foomatic-filters-ppds.Home Page: http://www.linuxprinting.org/
Cant hurt to try it any way
Registered Linux User #554733

#221 OFFLINE   rolanaj

rolanaj

    Board Bigwig

  • Forum MVP
  • 2,649 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 01:59 AM

Well still working on that printer this page tells me it can be done and that I need the gimp-print driver.  I went into synaptic and looked for gimp-print found something similar but not exact added that hoping, when I try to add printer it just sits there like it is loading but nothing happens.  So I am thinking I probably need to go here and download the driver and install it myself.  I am assuming that gimp-print-4.2.7.tar.gz is the one I want as I'm not sure what ppc.dmg file is.I changed the append line for Debian sarge again as every other time I had trouble booting so now I am trying append="acpi=off no apci" can you have two append lines or can you have more than one variable in an append line?Still noticing lock up in Debian, I hesitate to call it a freeze up as it actually comes out of it by itself.  Almost seems like too much is running at once or something even though there might only be the browser and Konsole open.  Trying to add the printer pretty much locks it up as well.
Registered Linux User #554733

#222 OFFLINE   Bruno

Bruno

    Le Professeur Pingouin

  • Admin Emeritus
  • 37,904 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 03:53 AM

rolanaj, on Jul 28 2005, 07:59 AM, said:

I changed the append line for Debian sarge again as every other time I had trouble booting so now I am trying append="acpi=off no apci" can you have two append lines or can you have more than one variable in an append line?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

You can only have one appendline . . but have more variables in that one line without problems :)Sorry to hear that the freezes are not gone yet.Have no idea what a ppc.dmg file is myself either . . . o:):D Bruno

#223 OFFLINE   teacher

teacher

    Acute Mac

  • Honorary Moderators
  • 13,854 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 06:54 AM

Bruno, on Jul 28 2005, 03:53 AM, said:

You can only have one appendline . . but have more variables in that one line without problems :)Sorry to hear that the freezes are not gone yet.Have no idea what a ppc.dmg file is myself either . . . :D:thumbsup: Bruno

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It appears that ppc.dmg is a Mac file.  dmg is installer disk image so you will find ppc.dmg as the extension to a number of Mac files.    :thumbsup:
Teacher
Beach Bum Extraordinaire

#224 OFFLINE   burninbush

burninbush

    Multithreader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,278 posts

Posted 28 July 2005 - 01:23 PM

rolanaj, on Jul 27 2005, 01:03 PM, said:

I tried several and was not able to print a test page with any of them I am wondering if maybe I have one of the other settings wrong and that is getting in the way. I chose a parallel usb printer [I]and default printing method auto.  Maybe what ever kept me from printing in cups is also the problem with apsfilter. 

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Ahhh... my input parser has a yellow flag up on that -- what is a parallel usb printer?   I think that would be either / or -- some printers have both types of connector, and I imagine you'd have to tell the printer somehow [and the printer spooler] which you wish to use.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users